About Me

My Photo
Mommy and Wife of two children and one husband. We are a family who love meeting new people, going new places and trying new things as long as its fun!

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Thursday, April 24, 2014

The Fixed Trilogy - Laurelin Paige

The Fixed Trilogy: Fixed on You / Found in You / Forever with You (Fixed, #1-3)The Fixed Trilogy: Fixed on You / Found in You / Forever with You by Laurelin Paige
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

First of all let me express the deal on this trilogy right now, its $1 yes 1 dollar you can not even buy a soda for that price and yet I got 3 full length books, as Alayna would say Amazeballs!

Now I read the reviews for these titles before buying - Another 50 Shades / Crossfire type series was what many had said. As I liked both of these series I thought why not.

Once I got started the journey of Hudson and Alayna I realized it really isn't another retelling of the same poor girl/billionaire male story.. This trilogy has its own merit and unique storyline.

Alayna has an obsessive personality she knows this, and has been to therapy after some very unfortunate episodes. She gets obsessed with the idea of love and being loved. Her parents died while she was a child and it became a fixation to find the love she should of had.

But she's getting better.. She loves her job at the night club she works, and although very intelligent (business degree in hand) she doesn't want to give up the club that has kept her occupied and out of trouble, its her safe Haven.

Hudson is from a wealthy but very dysfunctional family, he is a billionaire in the business world but by his own admission unable to love, feel and is very manipulative he enjoys using his power to see how it affects people. It's no wonder he is the way he is when you get to understand the dynamic of the family. His mother has no maternal instincts and very much a drunk who uses her kids in a battle against the man she married.

Hudson buys the club in order to get to know Alayna and makes her a proposition to be his pretend girlfriend in order to stop his mothers meddling, but when the lines get blurred its hard to figure out what's real and what's fake.

When a women who loves to much comes together with a manipulative billionaire who is used to getting his way... its a very dangerous game they play and hard to know who to trust.

Even though this is a couple with a million faults and reasons that they shouldn't be together you can't help but want them to work out.


Wow - I read all three books in a day and a half they where just that engaging. The characters are so complex once you think you have it figured out the author throws you for a loop again. She went places with these characters I seriously would never of guessed the out come!
I became so invested in this trilogy it really has it all!!!

Hot sex, romance, secrets, manipulation, crazy ex's and lies that will keep you guessing until the very end its jaw dropping. Best way to spend $1 total win.

View all my reviews




Saturday, April 19, 2014

HM WARD!! - The Propsition

The Proposition 3: The Ferro Family (The Proposition, #3)The Proposition 3: The Ferro Family by H.M. Ward
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I don't know how she does it but H.M Ward has a way of sucking you into her books in a way it feels like a drug you can't live without. I fell in love with the Ferro brothers now we are onto Cousin Brian! We have met Brian many times but The Proposition gives us an in depth look and in fine Ferro fashion it seems he's as damaged as the rest.

With his high school love having written a sex filled book of there once steamy relationship he uses it as a source of black mail against her, he will tell everybody she isn't the girl next door she portrays and her book isn't the fiction she makes it out to be.

She has to be willing to have sex with him whenever and where ever he so choses.

Hallie was in love with Brian he brought out the hot, crazy love she never had until she was adopted. For reasons unknown they went there separate ways, but after the death of her adopted father he's back looking to tumble her fragile life like a pack of playing cards.

She looks to her boyfriend to defend her only to find he's more interested in dollar signs (total ass)

Hallie is fighting the demons of her past while trying to keep her best friend safe. Although she shouldn't be drawn to Brian she is in a way she can't explain..

Brian is full of secrets also and although he is black mailing Hallie you can't help but want him to win.. He needs to be with her and she needs him! They are an electric couple, hot sexy totally fierce!

Both of these characters are strong and determined but with a dark side they need each other! Their is also a lot of cross over characters: Jon Trystan Sean and Peter!!

I am obsessed!

View all my reviews




Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Andrea Smith - Diamond Girl

Diamond Girl (G-Man, #1)Diamond Girl by Andrea Smith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I picked up this book and devoured it! From the very first page I knew this book was going to be amazing and it didn't let me down. It was thoroughly entertaining.

Sammie is locked in a loveless marriage she was forced into because of a teen pregnancy. But now her daughter is off to college and for the first time in her life Samantha realizes she has no identity, at 35 she has no focus and with her husband becoming more distance and abusive (he is a rat bastard!) she knows she has to create a new life for herself. Sammie becomes Diamond, a pole dancer at a gentlemen's club. She loves the outlet it gives her and the confidence she has never had.

Slate is a part of the local biker chapter club he's having a few drinks with his buddies when he sees her, Diamond, and their is something about her that calls to him. He wants to protect her she doesn't belong in this world, he can tell. He sets about getting to know this enigma of a woman that he's drawn to like never before.
Slate is torn he knows he should leave her alone he has many secrets, and a bigger picture he needs to protect but Diamond blurs those lines for him.

I don't want to give away the plot to much, this book is full of many twist, turns, secrets and lies. Your going to love it!

I really loved both of the main characters they where so intriguing the chemistry was just dynamite. I enjoyed watching Sammie gain her confidence become a sexual beautiful woman and learn to find back, and I loved Slate for helping her bring that out in herself.

Many of Slate's actions we don't understand until the very end when it all becomes clear but he is definitely book boyfriend material!

HOT HOT HOT

View all my reviews



Thursday, April 10, 2014

Stephanie Summers Blog Tour - Craving (Willows Creek)

Craving (Willow Creek, #1)Craving by Stephanie Summers
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I got this book as an ARC as part of a book tour from the author..

Bastian made a pact with the people of Willows Creek 200 hundred years ago, he would keep the towns people safe from the rogue vampires who come to the town looking for destruction and death. In return for the towns people living safe, one young person has to act as a vampire concubine and Bastian's people are able to walk around freely.

The year has some for the short list of teenagers born on a particular year to wait and see if there name will be called and if their life as they know it be over.

Sabine is the chosen and she is far from happy. She had dreams of being an artist travelling the world and going to college, she did not want to give up her dreams, to be locked in a mansion as somebody's meal for her mortal life.

Remy is the prodigy of Bastian, when is maker calls he comes...But he's far from happy about being chained to a small town let alone a "wife" who is mortal and hundreds of years younger then he is.. I mean they couldn't possibly have anything in common!

I enjoyed this read, I haven't read a paranormal romance in a while but this seemed to hit the spot with a New Adult type feel to the writing. Remy and Sabine where very entertaining with there angst and whit. Remy doesn't want to be tied to Sabine any more then she does.. However when they are forced to spend time together their fondness grows..This book is definitely a new take on the generic vampire love and it was refreshing.

While I did find Sabine immature at times with her actions and childish ways I really did like her..I also found it intriguing that she could hold her own with a 400 year old Vampire. As a couple I love these characters and watching there emotions grow and feelings develop... Remy is HOT he makes himself out to be a jerk, a pig but he's the first to be riding in on his white horse to save this young woman... nobility he tries to hide.

I'm excited to find out more of the secrets of Willow's Creek and to see how this story continues..

View all my reviews




Synopsis
A small idyllic town nestled in the Appalachian Mountains is home to a thriving community. People are happy, crime is practically nonexistent, life is good…unless you’re Sabine Crowley, who has been chosen to be the next blood bag for the vampire lord who has protected the town from otherworldly creatures for 200 years.


Sabine has big dreams for her life, and none of them include becoming a vampire’s concubine. On her 18th birthday, she seeks solitude to process the cruel turn her destiny has taken. As she sits alone in Cleary Park, a sexy stranger approaches her. He’s tall, mysterious, handsome, and a complete jerk. He soon reveals himself to be a vampire and she’s terrified of him and her strange attraction to him. She wants to get as far away from him as possible, yet finds herself wondering if she’ll see him again.

Remy, the cocky newcomer vampire, has been summoned by his maker, Bastian, to take his place beside him in the hierarchy of vampires inhabiting Willow Creek. He’s none too thrilled to be stuck in a boring little town in the middle of nowhere where he’ll have to feed exclusively from the girl he’s been paired with. He’s repulsed by the whole situation.

When Sabine tries to run away from her fate, Remy is forced to follow and bring her back. They’re unwillingly thrust into each other’s lives and reluctantly find an undeniable attraction between themselves. Will they ever look past their contempt for one another and act on their urges? Or are they destined to hate each other forever?
Review




Excerpt


"Why not me? I mean, you’re stuck with me until I die. Why not try to really get to know me, or at least pretend and try to make things enjoyable for me? Maybe you’d actually like me if you gave me half a shot." She smiled brightly at him, hoping to get some sort of pleasant reaction from him. "I don’t think I’m too bad to look at, and it’s not like I’m going to get to experience romance any other way." It was a shot in the dark. She almost wished she hadn’t said anything once it was out in the open.

"I have nothing in common with a twit like you. I’ve seen every nook and cranny of this world, and lived through so much of what you would consider ancient history. You’ve not been any further from Willow Creek than you are right now, and if it didn’t happen in the last 20 years, you probably have no interest in it."

His words were just another reminder of her cruel destiny. Tears began to form, and she fought to keep them from falling as she looked down at the floor. She would not let him see her cry again. "I’ve had no freedom to see the world or experience the things I want to experience. How dare you assume you know anything about me or what interests me?" Walking quickly toward her room, she closed the door behind her. Crawling into bed, still in her clothes, she buried her face in the pillow and wept softly.

Shortly after, he knocked on her door. "Sabine? You didn’t eat your food. Do you still want it? I’m going to throw it out if you don’t. It stinks already. Can’t imagine how putrid it will smell when it goes bad."

Burying her face in her pillow, she ignored him. If he wanted her to be quiet, that’s what he would get. She was embarrassed that she’d put herself out there like that, only for him to shoot her down. He didn’t care about her and never would. She was only a nuisance to him. She was right to dislike him from the start.

"Sabine? Are you alright?"

Silence.

"Sabine, answer me."

More silence.

"I’m going to come in there if you don’t answer me."


Let him come.
He opened the door and marched into her room. His eyes immediately landed on her, expecting to see the familiar glare looking back at him. He never expected to find her in such a broken down state. He looked at her for a few long seconds while he tried to figure out what was wrong with her and if he could fix her somehow. This is pointless. If she wants to ignore me, then let her. Maybe I’ll get a little peace and quiet… Is she crying? An overwhelming feeling of hopelessness enveloped him and invaded his senses. The despair she felt was palpable. He moved to the side of the bed and had an overwhelming urge to reach out and touch her…to comfort her.


Memories of a time when he felt such despair came to him. He had been lost and hopeless, so much so that he gladly accepted Bastian’s offer to turn him so that he could escape his life and detach himself from human emotion. Seeing Sabine this way reminded him of everything he’d once felt, and he began to worry about her for just a moment. He almost cared.

Purchase Links


About The Author






Stephanie Summers is from small town WV, where she lives with her husband and two children. She recently graduated from West Virginia University with a degree in accounting, though writing is her true passion. Stephanie seemed to always have a story or two or ten running around in her mind. At the ripe old age of 30, she finally decided it was time to put aside the thought that she didn't have what it took to write a novel and began writing her first story.
She has since began and finished a paranormal romance, Craving - The First Installment in The Willow Creek Vampires Series. Her short story, Love Forgotten, was chosen to be published in Stardust: A Futuristic Romance Collection, due out in May 2014. Her contemporary rock star romance, Undone, as well as the second installment in the Willow Creek Vampires Series, Haunting, is scheduled to be released summer 2014.




Tuesday, April 8, 2014

I'm I the only person who dislikes this title!




 
The Great Debate!
This book was brought to my attention on Facebook, parents where arguing back and fourth about the title of this book. Many stating "you need a sense of humor" while others disgusted that this author and mommy blogger could call her children A-holes.
 
My opinion:
 
I have not read this book and I will not, I understand their is an audience for that type of humor but not for me. The title alone made me turn away are you really calling your kids A-holes?!? I have plenty of humor I just don't need to butcher my kids self perception in order to do it.
 
I would feel slightly different if it was just for the book per se but this woman is always on FB referring to her kids as such
 
"Awwww shit, this is so F’ing appropriate. On the way to see my book at Barnes & Noble, Holden threw like the giantest tantrum ever and when we were “nicely trying” to put him into his car seat (SIT THE F DOWNNNNN KID BEFORE I REALLY GIVE YO...U SOMETHING TO CRY ABOUT!!!!!), he was crying so hard he threw up alllllll over the place. So if you saw a naked kid standing outside Panera today, that was our little a-hole. And this is me twenty minutes later, but don’t worry if you buy this copy because I used like 9 gallons of hand sanitizer before I touched it."
 
Like NO NO their was a lot of other names you could of picked but A-hole I'm sorry I can't even get past it!

Saturday, April 5, 2014

JR WARD The King - Black Dagger Brotherhood

The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #12)The King by J.R. Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

JR Ward is the type of author you know for a fact when you pick up her book you will devour it. She doesn't just tell a story she creates a world and births characters that are so real you can almost touch them. Even after you close the pages they are with you...

The King is no different then all the previous BDBH books.. simply put amazing! People have asked me, am I not fed up of the same characters.. My answer being HELL NO! Everything about these books are so detailed and thought out.. Your mind is working over time to keep up with all the details, you don't want to miss any that could be important.

The King is focused on Wrath and Beth, With an attempt already made on his life stress at the brotherhood mansion is at an all time high. Wrath is feeling the pressure of those who want is head, caught up with king business he's seeing less and less of his Mate Beth.

Beth is having her own internal dilemma, she wants a baby even though she knows her husband is against it. Having been raised with out a family she really now wants one.. This back and fourth argument with the couple causes strife.. Wrath doesn't want to risk a child to blindness or life threats and he certainly doesn't want to risk the life of his beloved on the birthing bed. The question is... what will he do when Beth goes into needing??

I enjoyed this in depth view of the king with his queen, reading about a love that has gotten stronger even in tough times.

As always there are side stories taking place around the main couple. We see more of Trez and the Chosen Selena and their growing relationship.

Assail is going after a drug lord to save Sola who was kidnapped at the end of the last book. Then their is Layla with her ever growing forbidden attachment to Xcor!

It's all going on in kick ass brother fashion.. We have Sex, Banter, Laughs, Blood, guts, deaths and births!

This is a read that once I started I couldn't stop and I am so sad its over I'm already counting down until I see my Brotherhood book boyfriends again.

View all my reviews




Tuesday, April 1, 2014

Night after Night - Lauren Blakely

Night After Night (Seductive Nights, #1)Night After Night by Lauren Blakely
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received night after night by Lauren Blakely as a Netgalley read in return for an honest review.

Night after night takes place after the events of first night book 0.5 in the seductive nights series.

Clay is an entertainment Lawyer, he works with the rich and famous getting them the contracts they deserve. It's through one of his clients he hears about Julia, a beautiful smart and witty, intelligent bartender at the local club in San Francisco.

Julia is used to getting hit on by every man that graces her bar, she is immune to them until Clay stops for a drink. With his sister recommendations she sees no harm in a flirting game with this sexy male, even some no strings attached sex.

The chemistry is hot and the more they get to know each other the more they intrigue one another. What starts as a fling(and a weekend trip to NY) has the potential to become a lot more.

Both of these characters have past relationship issues. Clay has an issue with women that lie, women that hold secrets. He dealt with enough of that from his ex who was addicted to prescription painkillers.

Meanwhile Julia is hiding a secret not through fault of her own but she is mixed up with San Francisco's dirtiest. Her scumbag ex boyfriend stole a lot of money from mobsters then took off leaving her to pay the price..

This is a couple the has the potential to be a match in heaven, they both connect so well. They just seem so tied up in their past issues!

Clay is wary to trust while Julia isn't given him much reason to with her secrets... Trust him Girl!!

This hot and steamy romance was a fast read! The sex and chemistry was dynamite..I really enjoyed getting to know the characters. I can't wait to see how the last book plays out, how things will conclude for Clay and Julia.. I hold out hope for these two!

Roll on May for the final installment!






View all my reviews