About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Hex hall Rachel Hawkins


Three years ago, Sophie Mercer discovered that she was a witch. It's gotten her into a few scrapes. Her non-gifted mother has been as supportive as possible, consulting Sophie's estranged father--an elusive European warlock--only when necessary. But when Sophie attracts too much human attention for a prom-night spell gone horribly wrong, it's her dad who decides her punishment: exile to Hex Hall, an isoCheck Spellinglated reform school for wayward Prodigium, a.k.a. witches, faeries, and shapeshifters.
By the end of her first day among fellow freak-teens, Sophie has quite a scorecard: three powerful enemies who look like supermodels, a futile crush on a gorgeous warlock, a creepy tagalong ghost, and a new roommate who happens to be the most hated person and only vampire on campus. Worse, Sophie soon learns that a mysterious predator has been attacking students, and her only friend is the number-one suspect.

My Opinion:

From the very start of this story I was totally in love with this story.. Sophia (Sophie) is incredibly funny and witty, and although her heart is always in the right place her magic doesn't always go to plan. My favorite line in the whole book is "bad dog" Even though Sophie has a struggle through out the book she does it in humor, I don't think I read a page without laughing! Rachel Hawkins's play on words is genius. The plot was great there are so many twists and turns that keep you guessing until the end.
Sophie's not sure who to trust, but despite rumors, she becomes fast friends with Jenna while crushing over the hottest boy in school - and gaining his girlfriend as an enemy.
When girls are attacked, everyone wants the truth. Did a coven of witches raise a demon? Are the vampires really responsible for these attacks? Jenna the vamp is automatically accused who is Sophie's only friend.. she starts to work hard to clear her name
I never saw the twist with Archer coming.. I REALLY DO HOLD OUT HOPE FOR ARCHER! I am a romantic :)

I cant wait for the next book!!

Monday, December 6, 2010

Catch up!





I hope everybody had a great thanksgiving I spent mine in MA with my husbands family. I like MA but its very cold it feels so much colder then NJ. Black Friday shopping we got a few bits during the day - nothing crazy like the 3am wake up call from the year before. I did try stop by toys r us for there 12am opening but there where like 600 people in line, some had small babies with them too! I honestly don't know what some people be thinking.

We ate Turkey and Pork it was super Delicious... my extra baby weight isn't going anywhere until after the holidays that's for sure lol. We also switched Christmas gifts with everybody there (sophia got her 1st dollie) since we will be in Florida this year, and not with them.. I am so excited about this years trip!! the 1st Christmas I will be spending with my bro in 6yrs!



Ive already done my tree, I did it the day after thanksgiving.. I was in two minds about it since we go to FL very soon but I honestly think I love my tree more then the kids so I couldn't not put one up! It looks fabulous if i do say so myself.

HOME DEPOT have trees real cheap! (my tip of the day lol)


The kids also wrote letters to Santa we took them to Macy's and posted them in the mail box there, I encourage everybody to do it!! for every letter they get they donate a dollar to make a wish foundation.. a very good cause!


Ive also already done two trips to Santa... I'm on the ball thid year! Its hard getting the perfect picture with one baby and a toddler.










Monday, November 22, 2010

Wicked lovely books - Melissa Marr


Fragile Eternity

This is the books that continues the story of Ash, Seth and Keenan. With summer approaching Ash and Keenan find themselves more drawn to each other because of their bound. Leaving Seth feeling left out and some what jealous of the fact he has to share his gf. Seth goes on a vest trying to find out if he can become Fae, that way he wont be weak and can be with Ash forever.
Seth disappears and Ash doesn't know where he is... deep in depression she turns to Keenan for comfort and love from the court.


My opinion:

I almost feel bad for Keenan in this book, I mean I get it hes in love with the winter queen but is trying to persuade his summer queen to love him for the sake of the court. I GET IT! BUT having said that hes still an ass am sorry but hes not the only one who has feelings and the way he kept picking up and dropping the winter queen in this book was horrible! AND the fact that he knew where Seth was and didn't tell Ash.. when will this boy learn manipulation will not get you anywhere.
Although I did feel bad for him when he realises he messed everything up and the Winter queen wont give him her love. So in this book you do see a side to Keenan we haven't seen before... the fairy king who knows what he has to do for his court, but on the other side.. the Man who if he had no responsibility would be with the woman he loves.

You really feel for Seth in this book. He is very aware of Aislinn's new role as a Fey Queen. He is also very aware of his mortality. Seth struggles to find and keep his place with Aislinn while reassuring himself that she loves only him and not Keenan. In this book he search for a way to maintain that assurance.

Ash does a lot of back and fourth in this book it kind of gets too much at the end, in parts I felt like she wanted her cake and eat it too. She is easy manipulated which is annoying because you would think she would realise the type of people around her by now.

Niall well I was glad to see him again he is my favorite character.. Marr got the balance of darkness he displays just right... a little naughty but just enough so his character doesn't change too drastically. Hes seriously yummy I think I'd give my allegiance to the dark court any day! lol

I love it!! and while number 2 is still my favorite book thus far... this book is still a good addition.

Friday, November 12, 2010

MISSING


HAVE YOU SEEN THIS MISSING SEASON: IT GOES BY THE NAME AUTUMN, AND LOOKS LIKE THIS


Seriously lol this morning I woke up and it was freezing!! It truly felt like a winters day - hoodie was on keeping me warm. Does anybody else feel like mother nature is robbing them blind? I know I do lol... I'm not ready for all the coldness just yet..

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Ink Exchange - Melissa Marr


About:


The new peace between the Summer King and the Winter Queen isn't good for everyone: those of the Dark Court, who feed on faeries’ destructive emotions, are dangerously weakened. Irial, King of the Dark Court, needs a solution, and he finds one in the Summer Queen’s mortal friend Leslie. Tormented by memories of abuse, Leslie wants nothing more than to reclaim her body by getting a tattoo, but the enchanted design she selects provides Irial with a direct link to mortals’ emotions. The tattoo binds Leslie and Irial together even as a third faerie works to prevent their destructive yet seductive connection.

My Opinion:

First of all Ive read many reviews and comments about the book dealing with Rape, drugs and other dark issues, being a young adult book maybe its not suitable?
I don't feel this is the case... This book is dark but its dealing with the dark court of the fey. The issues that arise in this book are well placed and in context, its important to telling the story.
Books are for learning and I feel its important young people learn about such serious issues, and if more people wrote about them then maybe we wouldn't have as many young people committing suicide because of bullying etc.

Anyways on to the story!

Leslie is a strong character even though we see her depending on others through out the book we also see her make tough choices and survive time and again... with an absent mother, a drunk father and a druggie brother the mortals in this book seems as bad as the non humans.

Even the people who were supposed to be looking out for her I feel did it for there own manipulation. Keenan as a character Ive grown to detest!! hes sneaky and shady and not true to the person he portrays... it really made me so sad to see what he did to Niall in this book. At least with those in the dark court you know what they are they don't pretend to be anything else.

Aislinn I didn't feel was much better, yes she had her court try to protect Seth and Leslie but her lies but them in danger... she also knew how bad Leslie's life was, about the rape but at one point in the book practically called her easy! HORRIBLE!

Niall my heart broke for, he was so genuine and fought his own urges to try and keep Leslie safe I feel his love for her was real. He was a fabulous strong male character he didn't pretend he was perfect, he knew he had faults but he did his best to stay on the right track. I couldn't get enough of him in this story! I hope he stays the same..


King Irial, shows us that at least some of these repulsive creatures in his court are capable of great virtue: Irial is a devoted caretaker of his people, capable of true friendship, self-sacrifice, and sensitivity. It is moving when he exhibits these qualities, and then doubly repulsive when he sets them aside. I really don't know what to feel about him, I didn't like the things he did. I feel his selfish dark nature was just to powerful for him to be anything else... but under it all there were glimpses of positive qualities. I do believe he cared for Leslie but in his own way. I have a hard time forming an opinion about him...

When the book ended I felt like there was more to say, I wanted an happy ever after for Leslie and Niall.
But I see see why Marr didn't let it happen..as Irial said: "Sometimes love means letting go when you want to hold on tighter."

Leslie needed to make her own way in life. I just hope we hear about these two again.
I love this book! Melissa Marr has a great way of creating a whole world within a novel.

Monday, November 8, 2010

Veggie Tales Operation Christmas Child story

Operation Christmas child


Its that time of year again!! Christmas is coming fast.... and since where in the season of giving and all I wanted to tell you guys about a charity. Since I was a little girl Ive taken part in operation Christmas child... make a shoe box - fill it with goodies - give it in to a location - it gets sent to children in countries that go with out. SIMPLE but very worth it!
Is so rewarding and cheap to do.. since i have children of my own now I love the feeling of doing something together that will help others, and what a way to teach a child about giving!
For more info!!

http://www.samaritanspurse.org/index.php/occ

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Peace and love




I have decided to rid myself of the negativity that surrounds me, the messed up part is its not ever even my drama. My husband and I live peacefully with our two kids and I like it, I'm not a teenager no more I don't need to be running around. I also don't need to listen to things just to keep peace or because I want to keep others sweet. At the end of the day I'm at the point were I really don't care who sticks around and who goes, I just don't need to be weighed down.


A positive environment is a positive mind a positive mind is a positive life.

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Eternal - Cynthia Smith


About:
At last, Miranda is the life of the party: all she had to do was die. Elevated and adopted by none other than the reigning King of the Mantle of Dracul, Miranda goes from high-school theater wannabe to glamorous royal fiend overnight.

Meanwhile, her reckless and adoring guardian angel, Zachary, demoted to human guise as the princess’s personal assistant, has his work cut out for him trying to save his girl’s soul and plan the Master’s fast-approaching Death Day gala.

In alternating points of view, Miranda and Zachary navigate a cut-throat eternal aristocracy as they play out a dangerous and darkly hilarious love story for the ages.

My Opinion:

Okay so when I started this book I didn't like it, why?

  • Miranda seems wishy washy
  • The whole Father master dialog got me frustrated.
  • The relationship she had with "father" I wanted to know why she just accepted her new life and didn't question anything.
  • The whole Dracula, castle story line seemed over played and out dated.

I was about to just stop reading, but I don't like giving up on a book half read. I am pleased I did stick with it! after the first 50 or so pages the story really does get better. My main issue was I didn't really like "father" but he takes a lesser role, It focuses more on Zachary & Miranda. I love how the story was set from two points of view, Zachary is an awesome kick ass angel. Miranda finally finds her feet and I do like the character she becomes.. Life is all about choices and I'm pleased that she chose the right one.

This book is definetly worth the read and I did enjoy it in the end.. even shed a tear, BUT having said that the start of the book really spoiled it for me I feel it could of been written better.

3 & half stars

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

My kids in melt down mode

My kids are in major melt down mode...this morning Jacob comes into my room:

Jacob: mommy where is daddy, what did you do with him?
Me: Hes still at work
Jacob: oh my gosh mommy my daddy is never coming back all the days! I've lost my daddy

Then he goes to his room, locks the door... and then super woman mom has to get a screw driver to open the door because Jacob gets stuck!

I'm starting to feel a little like chopped liver lol. Roll on Friday! who knew dad's were such hero's =)

Monday, November 1, 2010

multi tasking 2 kids lol.

Give me a cape and call me superwoman! The husband is out of town on business for the week, I am left at home with a 6week old with colic and a 4yr old who is hyped up on Halloween candy. Lord bless me, I don't know how I have survived so far... only 4 more days to go! It feels so strange we have been together so long! and the longest I've gone with out seeing him is when I had to stay in the hospital after giving birth. I feel like I've lost an arm or something lol. Oh well absents makes the heart grow fonder and all that.





Last night I took the kids Trick or Treating, 1 ninja turtle and 1 lady bug...It was fun! He makes me laugh, he came across a grid in the pavemment and said mommy mommy you need to take my picture with this, the turtles live down there LMAO. Bless him!



Its my husbands birthday too on Wednesday and we feel bad hes not going to be here, so I channelled Martha and made him a cake.
Happy birthday babe!!!!!

Friday, October 29, 2010

The Golden Spiral


His eyes. His touch. His kiss. Dante was unlike anyone Abby had ever met. Now he s gone, and Abby will do anything to get him back . . . The hourglass door has closed behind Dante, sending him back in time to hunt down Zo, Tony, and V. Abby knows that Dante, as a Master of Time, is the only one who can stop them from destroying time itself. She also knows that he will need her help. But almost immediately, things start to change, and Abby s worst fears are realized when Zo begins targeting her past specifically. As Abby s world fractures around her, she must face a terrible truth: either Dante did not make it through the door, or he is lost forever. So with Dante s blueprints in hand, she begins construction on a new door, a new time machine that will either save Dante or doom him. With each new change that ripples into her present, Abby s life continues to spiral out of control. Her relationships with Jason, Natalie, and even her family are threatened to the breaking point and beyond. Zo s power is greater than Abby ever imagined, but as she struggles to free Dante, she receives help from an unexpected and unlikely ally. The bank is eroding. The barriers are thinning. And time is running out.

My Opinion:

I was surprised how the book started - as Zo's thoughts, but it was good in a way to try and understand his way of thinking he really is all about manipulation. Right from the start you see even his "friends" are a means to an end. They all serve a purpose and are disposable.

Even though Tony and V do Zo's bidding I feel bad for them, after all its not because they want to, its because they would rather be with the bully then a target of the bully. V I especially feel bad for since I believe his feelings for Val were & are genuine only to have Zo take Val for himself.

Val became like an oracle for Abby. Throughout the novel she is telling tales that almost seem to be nonsense until they actually happen in Abby's life. The intent of Valerie is still not clear, she seems to be on Abby's side at some points in the book and then at other points she flips a switch and Zo becomes her world & the only thing that is important to her, maybe it has to do with the fear she has of him. I enjoyed a lot reading these parts especially while trying to pick up clues to what was going to happen next... I was really impressed with the angle Lisa Mangum used. She has created a truly unique world where time and reality can be controlled.

I love Leo I am not sure why when I think of him I think of Leo from the show charmed. I find him yummy honestly, and the talking in Italian the way he does adds a nice touch. He is a man with 500 years worth of wisdom in a young mans body..

Still my favorite part of the story is the relationship between Abby and Dante, there love seems very strong and so much more then a teenage love affair.. mature.
The only issue I sort of had was that it took so long to get him out of the door! Almost too long.. with Abby loosing her friends and family, memories being changed. I was kind of left wondering when he was going to finally show up and save the day lol.

Cant wait for the next book totally enjoyed the second part of the saga - book 3 is out summer 2011.

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Feeling lucky



YAY for me!!! I entered a contest given by heather http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/ (add her! great blog & awesome book reviews)
I was one of the runners up - how exciting, go me go me! Ive never won anything like ever... maybe I got lady luck on my side :)

I think am going to play the lotto test the theory lol.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Black listing an untouchable target




My husband and I have a major dilemma! We love our little sweet treats.. cakes, doughnuts, cookies. BUT the bakery in our town has mean rude staff, not to mention we ordered my sons 2nd birthday cake there and it wasn't at all what I ordered. When I complained she basically give me attitude and as I really needed the cake and was out of time I had to take it.. sigh.
Today my husband came in and said the same thing the lady was so rude to him. We could like to black list them... but the dilemma being WE LOVE OUR TREATS TO MUCH!

What should we do? I'm weak I tell you! A heffa in skinny girls body.

Monday, October 25, 2010

Interesting!! Bree Despains personal tale

I loved The Dark Divine! so when I read this I just had to share it with you guys... I think I love the novel even more knowing where the story came from :)

Author Bree Despain shares the personal tale about the “what if” that inspired her series starter, The Dark Divine.

When I was little, one of my best friends was a boy who lived down the street from me. We spent hours together climbing in apricot trees, playing soccer, and letting our imaginations run wild. He was mischievous, always looking for ways to tease me—or trying to trick me into kissing him. However, in the second grade, his family moved across the country and we parted ways.

Several years later, I’d all but forgotten about my old friend when I walked into my ninth-grade history class, and was shocked to find a new guy sitting in the seat behind mine. In my quiet suburban neighborhood, this guy looked like Breetrouble with his long hair and torn clothes. I couldn’t see his face, and the idea of sitting near him made me nervous. I took my seat, reassuring myself that if I didn’t bother him, he wouldn’t bother me.

Except, the second I sat down, he started hassling me with obnoxious questions about my life. After I’d had enough, I turned around and snapped, “Who the hell do you think you are?”

He looked up at me and said, “So you don’t recognize me, then?”

I looked at his eyes—the only thing still recognizable about him—and gasped. This frightening boy was my old best friend. I was so shocked; all I could say to him was his name before our teacher started class.

And that’s all I ever I got to say to him . . . because he got kicked out of class before it was over, and ultimately was expelled from school by the end of the day.

I never saw him again.

For years, this memory haunted me. I wondered what had happened to my old friend to change him so much. I wondered what might have happened to him, to me, to us, if he hadn’t disappeared again. Could I have helped him somehow?

But eventually, the memory faded away.

Several years passed again. I was out of college and pursuing my dream to become an author, when one dark January night, I was driving down the street and suddenly remembered that encounter with my old friend. I looked up at a billboard while at a stoplight, and a conversation between a brother and sister started in my head. They were discussing a former friend who had suddenly returned to town. “He’s dangerous,” the brother warned his sister. “He’s not the person he used to be. You have to stay away from him.”

I didn’t know who this brother and sister were, but I couldn’t stop thinking about their conversation. I was extremely curious about their friend who had disappeared and why he’d come back, so I started writing about them that night. The memory of seeing my own old friend again became the first scene in a book, and the conversation between the brother and the sister became the third scene. I’d never felt so much passion for a set of characters before, and I knew that I had to write their story. I kept on writing, and that story became The Dark Divine—the first novel in the Dark Divine trilogy.

The response to The Dark Divine has already been amazing, and now I’m pleased that this special promotion will spread the story to even more readers. I hope you’ll take advantage of it, read TDD, and then share it with your friends.

- Bree Despain

ALERT: From today until November 22nd, you can get the e-book edition of The Dark Divine at the special price of $2.99, in honor of the book’s paperback launch and the upcoming release of Despain’s next novel, The Lost Saint.

Friday, October 22, 2010

Crescendo - Becca Fitzpatrick


Nora should have know her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away and Nora can't figure out if it's for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home.

The farther Nora delves into the mystery of her father's death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn't answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?

My opinion.

I was extremely excited for this second book and it did not fail to impress me. I love this book just as much as the first.. Becca Fitzpatrick is fastly becoming my favorite Author. I enjoy her writing style and the fact that all her characters are thought through.

Patch is a great mix of everything yummy... seriously. I like his relationship with Nora I love that he can be dark and naughty while caring and loving with Nora.
We meet new characters in this book which really do add to the story.. Rixon, Scott & Marcie.

While Scott was seen as the Bad one.. it turns out he is just misunderstood.. always look out for the wolf in sheep's clothing!!!
Vee is one of my most favorite people she and Nora made me laugh so many times with the situations they get themselves into.. but it really makes great reading
I liked that the novel wasn't lovey dovey all the way through that can get a little boring..true to form Fitzpatrick is great with the mystery, the twists and turns and keeping the reader guessing.

kudos 5 star!

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Male Characters!

I have come to the conclusion I am a main character book whore. Seriously I love so many male characters in books I read, Ive have forever branded myself a book whore. Just when I think a character couldn't be any more irresistible i move onto the next and the next and the next... could i be more fickle!! anyways I have now got a list as long as my arm! but Ive put these dreamy Mr perfects on the short list:

  • Edward Cullen - Twilight
  • Eric northmen - Sookie Stakehouse novels
  • Jericho Barrons - Fever books
  • V'lane - Fever books
  • Jace - The mortal Instruments
  • Patch - Hush hush, Crescendo
  • Dante Alexander - Hourglass door
  • Damen - The immortals
  • Lucas - Ever night series
  • Ash - Night world
  • Damen and Stefan Salvator (haven't decided between these two as yet lol)

The list could truly go on and on.... so who made your short list??

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Spirit day

I am writing in purple to honour spirit day! Lately its been on the news a lot about young people who have committed suicide due to bullying..Bullying of any form is wrong whether its due to sexuality or race, gender or a million other reasons.
Its sad these people didn't feel they could speak up!! We are in 2010 differences should be celebrated and not persecuted.
I have two children and I am actually scared for the day they start school in case these horrible things happen to them, that just isn't right in my eyes.

Futhermore Gays should be able to fight for there country without having to hide who they are like its a shameful thing!!

Join in the fight to stop bullies!!

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Halloween fun



Halloween is around the corner and Jacob is already so excited! I actually love the whole trick or treating fun. This year I am even more excited since it will be Sophia's 1st holiday, the costumes are at the ready ones a ninja turtle while the other is a Lady bug!




This weekend we went pumpkin picking.. so much fun. I love love love the foods sold in those little farm stores..home made dough-nuts, apple cider and cookies! yummmmmy. I keep forgetting Melissa your not pregnant any more hence WATCH THE CALORIES LOL. Ah I'll worry about it after the 31st, because I'd be lying if i said i wasn't going to eat a bunch of Halloween candy :)

Monday, October 18, 2010

Kudos for this blog spot!

http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/

This is a great blog!! Heather writes amazing blogs full great reviews & offering a give away right now!.. I recommend her

The hourglass door by Lisa Mangum


I am in love!!! with a boy named Dante Alexander lol. The 1st book Ive read since given birth (time has been limited) but it was recommended to me a long time ago (by heather, thanks) I just came across it.. The hourglass door by Lisa Mangum, I loved the book read it in a matter of days.. it reminded me of hush hush by Becca Fitzpatrick with a mix of Alyson noels immortals series.

It was the first book in a while that Ive read which hasn't followed the trend of vampires, werewolves or Angels... but broke the mold with time travel!!! Kudos. From the cover alone I know i wanted to eat up this book, it has a sexy little caption "his past, her future. Can love bring them together in time?" WHO WOULDN'T LOVE THAT! I couldn't get out of the store fast enough with book in hand.

I truly liked Abby as a main character a lot of novels lately have had sappy girls who don't listen and make stupid choices leaving me frustrated. Didn't feel like that about Abby... Val on the other hand was annoying as can be! but i guess she served a purpose in the story.

Dante was dreamy and I even liked Leo!! yummy Italians LOL :) I loved that we got glimpses of history and past lives, it really give the story depth. Would totally recommend this to any YA book fan.. can not wait to read the next installment.


Sunday, October 10, 2010

Long time no see

I haven't blogged in the longest time!! why? Well because I gave birth! September 15th I gave birth to my fabulous little girl Sophia... recovery from my c section was harder then I thought, especially while juggling two children, Thank god for my prescription for pain medication lol. I finally think I'm getting the hang of it now although its been tough going.. I most definitely forgot how difficult the sleepless nights are lol.

My son adores his new sister :) hes so great with her and this was a surprise since hes been an only child for the past 4yrs. YES my son also turned 4!! he has so much fun at his birthday celebrations... Rainforest's Cafe! loved it, and no clean up. So Ive been busy busy busy. I haven't had much time to read :(

Just before I gave birth I read some really good books though:

Claudia Gray - Ever night series.. I really liked these books!! 4 out of 5 cant wait for the next book to come out.

Bree Despain-The Dark divine - This was for sure a surprise for me I truly enjoyed this book, I wasn't sure at first since it was about a pastors family but the story had me interested from the start. 5 0ut of 5!

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

3 weeks to go!


I haven't blogged in a while and its not because nothing has been going on because it has... lots in fact. Its just I'm coming to the end of my pregnancy and its becoming very blah! I'm as big as a house and feeling every pain. I truly want to hibernate as like a bear lol. My focus isn't great BABY BRAIN in top form. With 30 days to go I am getting very excited...will I remember how to deal with a newborn? Ive asked myself so many times lol. Jacob seems to be taking everything in his stride he has his moments like any 3yr old but I cant wait to see how he reacts to her.


I actually managed to get Dony to a photo studio with me...I amaze myself! go me, yay!


Friday, August 6, 2010

Becca Fitzpatrick Hush, hush.





Description: Partnered in biology with new student Patch, 16-year-old Nora Gray starts seeing things she cannot explain. At first she's both drawn and repelled by her lab partner, but when she sees V-shaped scars on his back, Nora learns Patch is fighting an ancient battle between the fallen and the immortal.

My Opinion: It's been a while since Ive read a book and said WOW. I love this book!! it's extremely well written..the love tension with the element of mystery was the right balance. I have to say I didn't really guess the bad guy... but "Miss Green" did have me wondering about her character from the start.

I really liked Nora I thought she made a wonderful main character, although I wasn't overly fond of her name.. kind of left me saying blah.
Patch is amazing hes the right amount of jack ass you need to get to know. He reminds me a lot of Ash from the L.J smith books but with a little more to him.
If you only read one book this year then this would be it!!! 5 out of 5

I cant wait for Crescendo out October 19th.

Monday, August 2, 2010

Kids thoughts on love LOL



Kids' thoughts on love and the proper age to get married (great for wedding speeches):
•"Eighty-four, because at that age, you don't have to work anymore, and you can spend all your time loving each other in your bedroom." (Judy, 8)
•"Once I'm done with kindergarten, I'm going to find me a wife." (Tom, 5)

What do people do on a first date? This is an especially funny quote about love:

•"On the first date, they just tell each other lies, and that usually gets them interested enough to go for a second date." (Mike, 9)

Kids' thoughts on love and when it's okay to kiss someone (good for anniversary toasts!):
•"You should never kiss a girl unless you have enough bucks to buy her a big ring and her own VCR, cause she'll want to have videos of the wedding." (Jim, 10)
•"Never kiss in front of other people. It's a big embarrassing thing if anybody sees you. But if nobody sees you, I might be willing to try it with a handsome boy, but just for a few hours." (Kally, 9)
•"It's never okay to kiss a boy. They always slobber all over you...that's why I stopped doing it." (Jean, 10)

Is it better to be single or married? This is a funny quote about love:
•"It's better for girls to be single but not for boys. Boys need somebody to clean up after them." (Lynette, 9)
•"It gives me a headache to think about that stuff. I'm just a kid. I don't need that kind of trouble." (Kenny, 7)

Kids' thoughts on love and why it happens between two particular people:
•"No one is sure why it happens, but I heard it has something to do with how you smell. That's why perfume and deodorant are so popular." (Jan, 9)
•"I think you're supposed to get shot with an arrow or something, but the rest of it isn't supposed to be so painful." (Harlen, 8)

The question, "What’s falling in love like?" can reveal funny quotes about love:
•"Like an avalanche where you have to run for your life." (Roger, 9)
•"If falling in love is anything like learning how to spell, I don't want to do it. It takes too long." (Leo, 7)

Kids' thoughts on love and good looks:
•"If you want to be loved by somebody who isn't already in your family, it doesn't hurt to be beautiful." (Jeanne, 8)
•"It isn't always just how you look. Look at me, I'm handsome like anything and I haven't got anybody to marry me yet." (Gary, 7)
•"Beauty is skin deep. But how rich you are can last a long time." (Christine, 9)

Kids' thoughts on love and why lovers hold hands:
•"They want to make sure their rings don't fall off because they paid good money for them." (Dave, 8)

What do you really think of love? Some funny quotes about love for wedding speeches:
•"I'm in favor of love as long as it doesn't happen when “The Simpsons” is on television." (Anita, 6)
•"Love will find you, even if you are trying to hide from it. I have been trying to hide from it since I was five, but the girls keep finding me." (Bobby, 8)
•"I'm not rushing into being in love. I'm finding fourth grade hard enough." (Regina, 10)

Kids' thoughts on the personal qualities necessary to be a good lover:
•"One of you should know how to write a check. Because even if you have tons of love, there is still going to be a lot of bills." (Ava, 8) What a funny quote about love!

Kids' thoughts on love and ways to make someone fall in love with you (great for wedding speeches):
•"Tell them that you own a whole bunch of candy stores." (Del, 6)
•"Don't do things like have smelly, green sneakers. You might get attention, but attention ain't the same thing as love." (Alonzo, 9)
•"One way is to take the girl out to eat. Make sure it's something she likes to eat. French fries usually work for me." (Bart, 9)

How can you tell if two adults eating dinner at a restaurant are in love? Funny quotes on love:
•"Just see if the man picks up the check. That's how you can tell if he's in love." (John, 9)
•"Lovers will just be staring at each other and their food will get cold. Other people care more about the food." (Brad, 8)
•"It's love if they order one of those desserts that are on fire. They like to order those because it's just like how their hearts are on fire." (Christine, 9)

What are most people thinking when they say, “I love you”?

•"The person is thinking, Yeah, I really do love him. But I hope he showers at least once a day." (Michelle, 9)

Funny quotes about love and learning to kiss:
•"You learn it right on the spot when the gooshy feelings get the best of you." (Doug, 7)
•"It might help to watch soap operas all day." (Carin, 9)

Kids' thoughts on the stages of love, particularly good for both anniversary toasts and wedding speeches:

•"Spend most of your time loving instead of going to work." (Tom, 7)
•"Be a good kisser. It might make your wife forget that you never take out the trash." (Randy, 8)

Friday, July 30, 2010

Grave Surprise


Description: While in Memphis, psychic Harper Connelly senses--and finds--two bodies in a grave. One is of a man centuries-dead. The other, a recently deceased girl. Harper's investigation yields another surprise: the next morning, a third body is found--in the very same grave.

My opinion:
This book is the 2ND in the Harper Connelly Series. It was a good book full of interesting and well developed characters, It's a mystery that will keep you guessing until the end. I love it has that other world fantasy aspect which is away from the citch of vampires etc. It was well thought out, every character had a role to play and it wasn't confusing trying to keep up as some mysteries are. Charlaine is always consistent with her writing which I love it has that same charm as her other work in the past.

Harper is an interesting and likable character I like the glimpses we get into her upbringing, the relationship she has with Tolliver will keep you wondering about them for sure. I look forward to reading more of these books 4out of 5

Thursday, July 22, 2010

Tall Dark & Dead.


Tate Hallaway:


Garnet Lacey is a witch with a past shes quit magic cold turkey since summoning the goddess Lilith in a time of much need. Only problem is the Goddess now lives inside of her!
Running from Vatican witch hunters which isn't easy she meets Sebastian who without an aura is so undoubtedly dead but so sexy... I guess it all spells trouble.
My Opinion:
This is the 1st book in a series, its far from a heavy reading book. Its not going to make an impact and it probably wont stay with you.
Its a book that's a light quick read to pass the time on a summers day when you have nothing better to do but to relax.
There wasn't anything I didn't like about the book I did in fact enjoy it... but I wasn't really hooked.
It had some funny moments and the characters are enjoyable..Parrish was my favorite he livened up the story a lot, and innocent dorky William was a fun element.
If you come across it its worth a read. 3 out of 5

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Saying to much!

I'm now 30 weeks pregnant and at 38 weeks I am going to have a C-section. This wasn't by choice but from medical opinion. Ive been to see 2 doctors who told me the same thing,
during my 1st labor which was natural my son got stuck in my pelvis so after 10+ of labor and 2hrs + of pushing they used the vacuum to pull him out. In doing this I suffered a lot of muscle damage and nerve damage. If I was to have a natural birth this time it would put a lot of strain on my baby as well as cause even more damage to me resulting in surgery anyways.

It seems when people hear I'm having a C-section they all have opinions! so far Ive heard
  • Real women don't have C-sections... REALLY Real women take care of there children Real women put the well being and health of there child first. This is what I'm doing!
  • Why would opt for a C-section its lazy... Nothing about child birth is "easy" which ever way you do it. I didn't opt for anything it wasn't a choice i had. I cant really say I'm looking forward to getting my gut cut open while being awake... but that's a stroll in the park right.

Then there is the people who love to share the horror stories, I was out at a festival last weekend when a woman i didn't know thought it was her responsibility to give me her opinion.

Comments made:

  • Its so much more worse then giving birth naturally
  • Don't take pain meds or they wont leave the baby with you
  • They strap you to the bed
  • you wont be able to stand straight for 3 months

HELLO do i need to know this stuff really all these people are now doctors... more like DR no MD. some people are so ignorant! Really stop talking if it was so easy we would all be doctoring and have masters.

Friday, July 16, 2010

Kissed by an angel



Kissed by an angel: Elizabeth Chandler


When Ivy's boyfriend dies in a car accident they where both in, shes left desolate alone and confused with out him. Until she learns he hasn't left her in fact hes an angel watching over her trying to keep her safe from harm. Tristan has a mission to keep Ivy safe from danger this is his purpose on earth. Somebody is trying to kill Ivy, but once his mission is over does that mean the love they share is also over?



My Opinion: This book is close to 700 pages long and I read it in two days! I loved everything about this book. It contains a little bit of everything you could possibly want in a story, suspenseful and romantic.. it really kept me guessing at times, I doubted so many of the characters at times. What I like about Chandlers writing is she doesn't forget about any of her characters, they all bring something to the table. Philip was my favorite character he was extremely well written for a 9yr old boy, stubborn and wistful. Gregory was a brilliant villain it wasn't know right away but there was something not right and creepy about him through out which made you hate him.... which I think was the point.

With so many things going on through out the book and so many characters I was worried about the ending but she brought everything together beautifully.
The only down side for me was I thought Ivy should of figured out Gregory way before she did, it was frustrating and the way she was feeling for him made me cringe. Second I hoped we would of seen something better happen for Lacy then it did.
On the whole I definitely recommend it, its a 5 out of 5 for me! and I will surely be checking out more Elizabeth Chandler books

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Bree Tanner

This book is about the 2nd life of Bree Tanner, a young vampire made to be a part of Victoria's army in her war against the Cullen's. Stephenie Meyer has a unique style a thorough style of writing which I truly enjoy I am never left feeling anything is missing.

The Bree Tanner story just adds another level to the twilight saga.. in the other books we don't hear about the Newborns side of the story. This book gives us a lot of insight I enjoying reading about the inner struggles of Bree, and the manipulation of the other vampires.

I wished there would of been more Bree and Diego's relationship they had an element of Bella & Edward. If Bree and Diego would of lived I believe they would of been a good edition to the Cullen clan.

We always knew The Voltori had there own plan but we actually see how under handed they are, my favorite part of the story was hearing that Bree was able to tell Edward everything she needed to before her final death.

I originally thought this book was going to be over kill after all Bree was such a small character in the saga. I was wrong this book told the story from another point of view and definitely worth the read for any twilight fan 4* out of 5

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Alison Noel Dark flame


ABOUT: In Noel's most darkly seductive Immortals novel yet, Ever fights for control of her body, her soul--and the timeless true love she's been chasing for centuries.

In shadow land we see Ever dabble with magic she doesn't understand and how it back fires big time. Dark Flame is about her finding a way to fix the mess she has created, while trying to teach Haven all about being an immortal. Dark Flame is a story of somebody loosing control and letting there dark side take control.

IN MY OPINION: After the way shadow land ended I was highly frustrated! I felt like nothing changed nothing was new and it really annoyed me.
Dark flame is definitely worth the read we see different sides to characters which make us understand them better. I no long hate roman with a passion lol!

Ever continues her slightly misguided ways, determined to finish things already set in motion in earlier books. She has the same determination and generally positive her way is the right one. The latter has been one thing that has bothered me through the books though it does strike true to her character. In Dark Flame, however, Ever goes through tremendous personal growth, finally showing strong development that her character has resisted in previous books.

This 4th book I personally feel did make the story better and stronger, I certainly don't feel the same as when I finished the 3rd book, this series isn't a fast paced fast answer type so if you read it your in for the long haul..I am still not convinced about the story honestly, we will see. NIGHT STAR OUT WINTER 2010
over all 3 out of 5

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Eclipse!!




ABOUT:

In ECLIPSE, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger as Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob -- knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella is confronted with the most important decision of her life.


MY OPINION:


I loved the movie!! It was awesome I think best of the 3 so far, it contained a lot of the book which was great. It also had a lot of its funny quirky one liners that make the twilight movies! You got to see some of the Cullen's past human lives, the special effects were GREAT! I love love love how they look as if there running like 100mph lol.

The fight scene was awesome very graphic, lots of back flips and kick ass movies..

And for all us romantics there was lots more touchy feely between Edward and Bella.. oh and Jacob is shirtless for 90% of the movie lol.

Total AAAAAA, a must see for any fan

Sunday, June 27, 2010

The return: shadows Souls


So I finally finishes Vampire Diaries THE RETURN: SHADOWS SOULS


Description: On the run . . .Elena Gilbert's love, the vampire Stefan Salvatore, has been captured and imprisoned by demonic spirits who are wreaking havoc in Fell's Church. While her friends Bonnie and Meredith explore the evil that has taken over their town, Elena goes in search of Stefan.In order to find him, she entrusts her life to Stefan's brother, Damon Salvatore, the handsome but deadly vampire who wants Elena, body and soul. Along with her childhood friend Matt, they set out for the slums of the Dark Dimension, where Stefan is being held captive. It is rumored to be a world where vampires and demons roam free, but humans must live enslaved to their supernatural masters. . . .Elena will stop at nothing to free Stefan. Yet with each passing day the tension between Elena and Damon grows, and she is faced with a terrible decision: Which brother does she really want?Back in Fell's Church, Bonnie and Meredith have made some dire discoveries. They hastily try to follow Elena and warn her-only to be caught up in Elena's most dangerous adventure yet.


My Opinion:


This book took me a long time to read, I am usually a very fast reader. I wasn't overly excited about starting the book because the last book actually left me in two minds.. I don't hate it, but I'm not in love with it. I find the books very strange indeed, L.J's writing throws me.


I love that the story is more about Damon, the other books were always Elena and Stefan, Elena and Stefan it was getting tiresome. I wanted to know more about Damon other than the fact hes the "bad" brother. Which in this book I did! He fights for Elena, keeps his word, and has his own inner struggles. He is loyal although not perfect he does show he cares about a lot of things, I was left feeling like he got a raw deal I actually felt bad for him.


Elena I can not stand, through out the book she's referred to as "pure" "white" "innocent" shes none of those things!! at every stage she was playing Damon's feelings but because she was Elena nobody questions it. Everybody assumes its Damon's doing but it wasn't.

At one point Damon says "be careful of who you let drink your blood, its addictive as though you can't get enough".... she doesn't say anything... he continues "don't worry I'm sure Stefan will be fine" She replies "how do you know I was thinking about Stefan" then lets him drink from her!!

UGH!! shes a tease!!
We meet new characters such as Sage I thought this added to the story I happened to like the new characters.


The story goes back and fourth between the other dark world where everybody is trying to break Stefan free and Fells Church were the foxes are still up to no good and sending the town crazy.


This was supposed to be L.J smiths last VD book but I don't possibly see how with how it was left, so I assume there is going to be another one on the way.

If you've read the other books then this is worth the read... its strange and very much like her other books but still worth the read. The book has its good and bad points but I give it a 3 out of 5.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Evil treatment to pregnant women lol


Today I had to go to have my pregnancy glucose test, I have to say this isn't pleasant. First of all you have to fast you can't eat or drink anything for 12hours! Now who ever told anybody it was a good idea to take food away from a pregnant woman for 12 hours is CRAZY! lol. I was utterly miserable I think I went to bed at 8 o'clock last night so I didn't have to think about it.
Watching my son eating this morning was evil torture. I got the earliest appointment at the lab I could so I wouldn't be hanging around all day. They make you drink a bottle of glucose which they swear tastes like oranges. FYI they lie! its like pure sugar and it leaves a film over your mouth after drinking it. Having had nothing in my stomach I felt like I was going to puke everywhere. After you drink this evil concoction they make you wait an hour to take your blood.
AND STILL NO EATING!
By the time I got out of the lab I was basically crawling across the parking lot ready to pass out. God bless dunkin donuts and there multi grain cream cheese bagel. Oh how I love you your a legend :)

Monday, June 21, 2010

Telling Tales

Every night I read to my 3 year old son. Recently I bought him a book of fairy tales by Brother Grimm. I didn't really ever pay any mind to tales before, I thought every fairy tale has a good positive moral for a child to learn. However after reading Hansel and Gretel to my son it made me stop and think!

This story is about a Father who leaves his kids in the woods because his new wife says there isn't enough food for them all.

The kids find food at an evil witches house who wants to cook them.

They escape after killing the witch and head home with there goodies, to find there Father who is so pleased to see them because his wife actually up and left him and he was alone and hungry.


SO LET ME GET THIS STRAIGHT LOL... this story is about Abandonment, Famine and poor parenting.
and these stories are meant to be good? I mean I'm failing to see the positive side.

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Fathers day Fun


Today the boys and I went to the Patriots vs Newark baseball match. The tickets where given to us by the people Dony works for, it was a function type thing. As it was Fathers day Dony & Jacob got to go play ball on the field before the game. They had so much fun, as for me well lol.. it was 100+ today I'm definitely looking like Mr Crabs from sponge bob!


I can safely say I am not a baseball fan I find it very slow and who wants to sit in the sun for 3hrs!! Give me a fast paced soccer game any day of the week :)


BUT the boys had a great time and that's all that really matters...Now all's I want to do is layer myself in aloe and lay in bed reading my book, YEA its the same one! I know its taking me FOREVER to read!

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Fathers day


Happy Fathers day to all the daddy's out there!!! And to all those who play a father role in somebodies life because a dad isn't somebody who has the same DNA only, but somebody who is there all the time at every stage of there child's life.
Dony we love you and your a great dad.. have a great day babe.. luv you mucho

Monday, June 14, 2010

True blood 3 first ep.




The season 3 premier of True blood was last night what did everybody think?? Was it worth the year wait! I personally loved the whole lot of Eric we got to see lol. I wasn't too sure about the whole Sam - Bill shower thing. I love Pam very true to form and her tittle tattle with Lafayette makes me laugh.. I think Evan Rachel Wood makes a great Sophie-Anne I wasn't sure at first since all her other movies she looked so much like a little girl, but having seen her in last nights episode, she plays the part well enough.

Friday, June 11, 2010

ignorance... soccer and reads

Really what is wrong with children these days! I have just watched two 4yr olds gang up on my 3yr old son, and when I asked them why they where being mean to him, he said because his older brother told him not to play with my son. Which is fine you cant make kids play together but these kids are always stealing my baby's toys and trying to beat on him. So I got mad and told them if I see them being mean or hitting on my son again they will be sorry.... I mean why would I even bother going to speak to there moms any mom that leaves there 4yr old child outside to play alone all day long clearly doesn't give a damn. They might as well be getting raised by wolves! BUT then one of the moms come out and takes there kid inside as though there the innocent party.... lord have mercy!!! because I can't stand it.

ANYWAYS

So I haven't read much due to the world cup lol. God I love my soccer! I think I might possibly give birth early by the time the world cup finishes! Today finished group A all with a point each...anyways

I did however pick up the latest vampire diaries book... ugh so what can I say? well not much as Ive only read the first 2 chapters but I'm normally a fast reader and when I get into a book I cant put it down, I don't get this feeling with this book. I don't know I am not a huge fan of L.J smiths writing. Elena seems to be the same spoilt shallow girl she always has been. Maybe I am Judging too soon we will see.

On the positive true blood is back this week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so excited I love the show just as much as the books. Although the show isn't exactly the same its very close, like Alan ball says if something isn't broke why try fix it. In this case I have to agree, and although the books aren't the greatest ever written I love them... Mrs Harris is quirky, funny and sexy. They are fast and enjoyable reads and I find myself waiting all year round for the next book. A must read for any trubbie. A summer filled of team Eric i can hardly contain myself... for those who don't have HBO you can catch up with the show on www.flickpeek.com

Thursday, June 10, 2010

World cup 2010

The world cup 2010 is here! and although I am excited because we are huge soccer fans in my house I'm also a little apprehensive. Who thought South Africa was a good place to hold such an event?

1, All of there arena's where not finished by the deadlines given.

2, Africa is a place which is fighting with itself.

3, There has already been violence! friendly games cancelled because of "fans" storming the games and fighting.

4, The Colombian team.. which is a poorer team by the way has already been robbed!


5, There has been terrorist plans found for the USA vs ENGLAND game and who thought it was a good idea to put the two countries in the war playing in the same group!

In my opinion fifa was asking a lot from a country which has a lot of issues. Its just like painting a red bulls eye target on everybody. The question is if I, an everyday person can see these issues why haven't the people in power?

Here is to a peaceful world cup!

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

1st blog - The immortals

HEY! this is my first blog, lets hope I will be able to keep this one going. I have a bad habit of starting them and getting bored! We will see how long this one lasts.. I'm not a GREAT blogger nor do i claim to be my spelling sucks and i love using !!! all over the place which is probably making a mess of the English language and sending many people into a stroke LOL but oh well blogs are meant to be fun and not a university essay.

I intend to write about the goings on in my sometimes crazy hectic life, things I like & things I don't.

so...



I have just read the first 3 books in the immortals series by Alyson Noel.



Evermore - Since her horrible accident 16yr old Ever is able to hear peoples thoughts and see peoples aura's. She goes out of her way to avoid people hiding herself behind hoodies and baggy clothes. Until the new kid at school changes everything, she feels like she knows him but can't think how. Hes sexy wealthy and everybody wants to know him, he can make things disappear and reappear. While hes around he is able to silence the constant noise in her head, and why is it he seems to know what shes thinking? she doesn't know who or what exactly he is.



Bluemoon - Ever is learning all about being immortal with Damon's help to show her the way. There is a new kid in school Roman who Ever can't help but feel negative about, there is something creepy about him. When the whole school starts acting weird including Damon she knows she has to do something before its too late. Damon is getting sick and Ever needs to travel to summerland to find the answers. When given the chance to go back in time and see her parents or stay with Damon its a choice she has a hard time making.. but will the choice she makes put everything back in balance?

Shadowland- A curse falls on Damon he can not touch Ever in any way it really is a matter of life or death. While in search for the cure Ever begins to work at a magic store where she meets Jude. Although they have only just met he seems very familiar to her, although she knows Damon is her soul mate and is loyal to him she can't help but wonder about Jude.

My opinion:

I like the series I do! I read the books very fast and it holds some great characters.
Miles I love! very camp and funny.. The story has a lot of dynamic and can go far, however this is not twilight and I feel a lot of people read these books thinking it would be its not. If your the type of person who likes to know everything right away, this is not the series for you. Noel does not like to give much of anything away and honestly at times can leave the reader frustrated.
I will carry on with the series because I am the type of girl who once ive started I need to know what happens! BUT if your only just starting these books be prepared at one point i actually found myself cursing out Ever while telling Damon to man up and wanting to hit Roman in his chakra lol.

My rating would be a 4 out of 5.

Dark flame the 4th book is out the end of June