About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Sunday, June 27, 2010

The return: shadows Souls


So I finally finishes Vampire Diaries THE RETURN: SHADOWS SOULS


Description: On the run . . .Elena Gilbert's love, the vampire Stefan Salvatore, has been captured and imprisoned by demonic spirits who are wreaking havoc in Fell's Church. While her friends Bonnie and Meredith explore the evil that has taken over their town, Elena goes in search of Stefan.In order to find him, she entrusts her life to Stefan's brother, Damon Salvatore, the handsome but deadly vampire who wants Elena, body and soul. Along with her childhood friend Matt, they set out for the slums of the Dark Dimension, where Stefan is being held captive. It is rumored to be a world where vampires and demons roam free, but humans must live enslaved to their supernatural masters. . . .Elena will stop at nothing to free Stefan. Yet with each passing day the tension between Elena and Damon grows, and she is faced with a terrible decision: Which brother does she really want?Back in Fell's Church, Bonnie and Meredith have made some dire discoveries. They hastily try to follow Elena and warn her-only to be caught up in Elena's most dangerous adventure yet.


My Opinion:


This book took me a long time to read, I am usually a very fast reader. I wasn't overly excited about starting the book because the last book actually left me in two minds.. I don't hate it, but I'm not in love with it. I find the books very strange indeed, L.J's writing throws me.


I love that the story is more about Damon, the other books were always Elena and Stefan, Elena and Stefan it was getting tiresome. I wanted to know more about Damon other than the fact hes the "bad" brother. Which in this book I did! He fights for Elena, keeps his word, and has his own inner struggles. He is loyal although not perfect he does show he cares about a lot of things, I was left feeling like he got a raw deal I actually felt bad for him.


Elena I can not stand, through out the book she's referred to as "pure" "white" "innocent" shes none of those things!! at every stage she was playing Damon's feelings but because she was Elena nobody questions it. Everybody assumes its Damon's doing but it wasn't.

At one point Damon says "be careful of who you let drink your blood, its addictive as though you can't get enough".... she doesn't say anything... he continues "don't worry I'm sure Stefan will be fine" She replies "how do you know I was thinking about Stefan" then lets him drink from her!!

UGH!! shes a tease!!
We meet new characters such as Sage I thought this added to the story I happened to like the new characters.


The story goes back and fourth between the other dark world where everybody is trying to break Stefan free and Fells Church were the foxes are still up to no good and sending the town crazy.


This was supposed to be L.J smiths last VD book but I don't possibly see how with how it was left, so I assume there is going to be another one on the way.

If you've read the other books then this is worth the read... its strange and very much like her other books but still worth the read. The book has its good and bad points but I give it a 3 out of 5.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Evil treatment to pregnant women lol


Today I had to go to have my pregnancy glucose test, I have to say this isn't pleasant. First of all you have to fast you can't eat or drink anything for 12hours! Now who ever told anybody it was a good idea to take food away from a pregnant woman for 12 hours is CRAZY! lol. I was utterly miserable I think I went to bed at 8 o'clock last night so I didn't have to think about it.
Watching my son eating this morning was evil torture. I got the earliest appointment at the lab I could so I wouldn't be hanging around all day. They make you drink a bottle of glucose which they swear tastes like oranges. FYI they lie! its like pure sugar and it leaves a film over your mouth after drinking it. Having had nothing in my stomach I felt like I was going to puke everywhere. After you drink this evil concoction they make you wait an hour to take your blood.
AND STILL NO EATING!
By the time I got out of the lab I was basically crawling across the parking lot ready to pass out. God bless dunkin donuts and there multi grain cream cheese bagel. Oh how I love you your a legend :)

Monday, June 21, 2010

Telling Tales

Every night I read to my 3 year old son. Recently I bought him a book of fairy tales by Brother Grimm. I didn't really ever pay any mind to tales before, I thought every fairy tale has a good positive moral for a child to learn. However after reading Hansel and Gretel to my son it made me stop and think!

This story is about a Father who leaves his kids in the woods because his new wife says there isn't enough food for them all.

The kids find food at an evil witches house who wants to cook them.

They escape after killing the witch and head home with there goodies, to find there Father who is so pleased to see them because his wife actually up and left him and he was alone and hungry.


SO LET ME GET THIS STRAIGHT LOL... this story is about Abandonment, Famine and poor parenting.
and these stories are meant to be good? I mean I'm failing to see the positive side.

Sunday, June 20, 2010

Fathers day Fun


Today the boys and I went to the Patriots vs Newark baseball match. The tickets where given to us by the people Dony works for, it was a function type thing. As it was Fathers day Dony & Jacob got to go play ball on the field before the game. They had so much fun, as for me well lol.. it was 100+ today I'm definitely looking like Mr Crabs from sponge bob!


I can safely say I am not a baseball fan I find it very slow and who wants to sit in the sun for 3hrs!! Give me a fast paced soccer game any day of the week :)


BUT the boys had a great time and that's all that really matters...Now all's I want to do is layer myself in aloe and lay in bed reading my book, YEA its the same one! I know its taking me FOREVER to read!

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Fathers day


Happy Fathers day to all the daddy's out there!!! And to all those who play a father role in somebodies life because a dad isn't somebody who has the same DNA only, but somebody who is there all the time at every stage of there child's life.
Dony we love you and your a great dad.. have a great day babe.. luv you mucho

Monday, June 14, 2010

True blood 3 first ep.




The season 3 premier of True blood was last night what did everybody think?? Was it worth the year wait! I personally loved the whole lot of Eric we got to see lol. I wasn't too sure about the whole Sam - Bill shower thing. I love Pam very true to form and her tittle tattle with Lafayette makes me laugh.. I think Evan Rachel Wood makes a great Sophie-Anne I wasn't sure at first since all her other movies she looked so much like a little girl, but having seen her in last nights episode, she plays the part well enough.

Friday, June 11, 2010

ignorance... soccer and reads

Really what is wrong with children these days! I have just watched two 4yr olds gang up on my 3yr old son, and when I asked them why they where being mean to him, he said because his older brother told him not to play with my son. Which is fine you cant make kids play together but these kids are always stealing my baby's toys and trying to beat on him. So I got mad and told them if I see them being mean or hitting on my son again they will be sorry.... I mean why would I even bother going to speak to there moms any mom that leaves there 4yr old child outside to play alone all day long clearly doesn't give a damn. They might as well be getting raised by wolves! BUT then one of the moms come out and takes there kid inside as though there the innocent party.... lord have mercy!!! because I can't stand it.

ANYWAYS

So I haven't read much due to the world cup lol. God I love my soccer! I think I might possibly give birth early by the time the world cup finishes! Today finished group A all with a point each...anyways

I did however pick up the latest vampire diaries book... ugh so what can I say? well not much as Ive only read the first 2 chapters but I'm normally a fast reader and when I get into a book I cant put it down, I don't get this feeling with this book. I don't know I am not a huge fan of L.J smiths writing. Elena seems to be the same spoilt shallow girl she always has been. Maybe I am Judging too soon we will see.

On the positive true blood is back this week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so excited I love the show just as much as the books. Although the show isn't exactly the same its very close, like Alan ball says if something isn't broke why try fix it. In this case I have to agree, and although the books aren't the greatest ever written I love them... Mrs Harris is quirky, funny and sexy. They are fast and enjoyable reads and I find myself waiting all year round for the next book. A must read for any trubbie. A summer filled of team Eric i can hardly contain myself... for those who don't have HBO you can catch up with the show on www.flickpeek.com

Thursday, June 10, 2010

World cup 2010

The world cup 2010 is here! and although I am excited because we are huge soccer fans in my house I'm also a little apprehensive. Who thought South Africa was a good place to hold such an event?

1, All of there arena's where not finished by the deadlines given.

2, Africa is a place which is fighting with itself.

3, There has already been violence! friendly games cancelled because of "fans" storming the games and fighting.

4, The Colombian team.. which is a poorer team by the way has already been robbed!


5, There has been terrorist plans found for the USA vs ENGLAND game and who thought it was a good idea to put the two countries in the war playing in the same group!

In my opinion fifa was asking a lot from a country which has a lot of issues. Its just like painting a red bulls eye target on everybody. The question is if I, an everyday person can see these issues why haven't the people in power?

Here is to a peaceful world cup!

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

1st blog - The immortals

HEY! this is my first blog, lets hope I will be able to keep this one going. I have a bad habit of starting them and getting bored! We will see how long this one lasts.. I'm not a GREAT blogger nor do i claim to be my spelling sucks and i love using !!! all over the place which is probably making a mess of the English language and sending many people into a stroke LOL but oh well blogs are meant to be fun and not a university essay.

I intend to write about the goings on in my sometimes crazy hectic life, things I like & things I don't.

so...



I have just read the first 3 books in the immortals series by Alyson Noel.



Evermore - Since her horrible accident 16yr old Ever is able to hear peoples thoughts and see peoples aura's. She goes out of her way to avoid people hiding herself behind hoodies and baggy clothes. Until the new kid at school changes everything, she feels like she knows him but can't think how. Hes sexy wealthy and everybody wants to know him, he can make things disappear and reappear. While hes around he is able to silence the constant noise in her head, and why is it he seems to know what shes thinking? she doesn't know who or what exactly he is.



Bluemoon - Ever is learning all about being immortal with Damon's help to show her the way. There is a new kid in school Roman who Ever can't help but feel negative about, there is something creepy about him. When the whole school starts acting weird including Damon she knows she has to do something before its too late. Damon is getting sick and Ever needs to travel to summerland to find the answers. When given the chance to go back in time and see her parents or stay with Damon its a choice she has a hard time making.. but will the choice she makes put everything back in balance?

Shadowland- A curse falls on Damon he can not touch Ever in any way it really is a matter of life or death. While in search for the cure Ever begins to work at a magic store where she meets Jude. Although they have only just met he seems very familiar to her, although she knows Damon is her soul mate and is loyal to him she can't help but wonder about Jude.

My opinion:

I like the series I do! I read the books very fast and it holds some great characters.
Miles I love! very camp and funny.. The story has a lot of dynamic and can go far, however this is not twilight and I feel a lot of people read these books thinking it would be its not. If your the type of person who likes to know everything right away, this is not the series for you. Noel does not like to give much of anything away and honestly at times can leave the reader frustrated.
I will carry on with the series because I am the type of girl who once ive started I need to know what happens! BUT if your only just starting these books be prepared at one point i actually found myself cursing out Ever while telling Damon to man up and wanting to hit Roman in his chakra lol.

My rating would be a 4 out of 5.

Dark flame the 4th book is out the end of June