About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Friday, October 29, 2010

The Golden Spiral


His eyes. His touch. His kiss. Dante was unlike anyone Abby had ever met. Now he s gone, and Abby will do anything to get him back . . . The hourglass door has closed behind Dante, sending him back in time to hunt down Zo, Tony, and V. Abby knows that Dante, as a Master of Time, is the only one who can stop them from destroying time itself. She also knows that he will need her help. But almost immediately, things start to change, and Abby s worst fears are realized when Zo begins targeting her past specifically. As Abby s world fractures around her, she must face a terrible truth: either Dante did not make it through the door, or he is lost forever. So with Dante s blueprints in hand, she begins construction on a new door, a new time machine that will either save Dante or doom him. With each new change that ripples into her present, Abby s life continues to spiral out of control. Her relationships with Jason, Natalie, and even her family are threatened to the breaking point and beyond. Zo s power is greater than Abby ever imagined, but as she struggles to free Dante, she receives help from an unexpected and unlikely ally. The bank is eroding. The barriers are thinning. And time is running out.

My Opinion:

I was surprised how the book started - as Zo's thoughts, but it was good in a way to try and understand his way of thinking he really is all about manipulation. Right from the start you see even his "friends" are a means to an end. They all serve a purpose and are disposable.

Even though Tony and V do Zo's bidding I feel bad for them, after all its not because they want to, its because they would rather be with the bully then a target of the bully. V I especially feel bad for since I believe his feelings for Val were & are genuine only to have Zo take Val for himself.

Val became like an oracle for Abby. Throughout the novel she is telling tales that almost seem to be nonsense until they actually happen in Abby's life. The intent of Valerie is still not clear, she seems to be on Abby's side at some points in the book and then at other points she flips a switch and Zo becomes her world & the only thing that is important to her, maybe it has to do with the fear she has of him. I enjoyed a lot reading these parts especially while trying to pick up clues to what was going to happen next... I was really impressed with the angle Lisa Mangum used. She has created a truly unique world where time and reality can be controlled.

I love Leo I am not sure why when I think of him I think of Leo from the show charmed. I find him yummy honestly, and the talking in Italian the way he does adds a nice touch. He is a man with 500 years worth of wisdom in a young mans body..

Still my favorite part of the story is the relationship between Abby and Dante, there love seems very strong and so much more then a teenage love affair.. mature.
The only issue I sort of had was that it took so long to get him out of the door! Almost too long.. with Abby loosing her friends and family, memories being changed. I was kind of left wondering when he was going to finally show up and save the day lol.

Cant wait for the next book totally enjoyed the second part of the saga - book 3 is out summer 2011.

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Feeling lucky



YAY for me!!! I entered a contest given by heather http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/ (add her! great blog & awesome book reviews)
I was one of the runners up - how exciting, go me go me! Ive never won anything like ever... maybe I got lady luck on my side :)

I think am going to play the lotto test the theory lol.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Black listing an untouchable target




My husband and I have a major dilemma! We love our little sweet treats.. cakes, doughnuts, cookies. BUT the bakery in our town has mean rude staff, not to mention we ordered my sons 2nd birthday cake there and it wasn't at all what I ordered. When I complained she basically give me attitude and as I really needed the cake and was out of time I had to take it.. sigh.
Today my husband came in and said the same thing the lady was so rude to him. We could like to black list them... but the dilemma being WE LOVE OUR TREATS TO MUCH!

What should we do? I'm weak I tell you! A heffa in skinny girls body.

Monday, October 25, 2010

Interesting!! Bree Despains personal tale

I loved The Dark Divine! so when I read this I just had to share it with you guys... I think I love the novel even more knowing where the story came from :)

Author Bree Despain shares the personal tale about the “what if” that inspired her series starter, The Dark Divine.

When I was little, one of my best friends was a boy who lived down the street from me. We spent hours together climbing in apricot trees, playing soccer, and letting our imaginations run wild. He was mischievous, always looking for ways to tease me—or trying to trick me into kissing him. However, in the second grade, his family moved across the country and we parted ways.

Several years later, I’d all but forgotten about my old friend when I walked into my ninth-grade history class, and was shocked to find a new guy sitting in the seat behind mine. In my quiet suburban neighborhood, this guy looked like Breetrouble with his long hair and torn clothes. I couldn’t see his face, and the idea of sitting near him made me nervous. I took my seat, reassuring myself that if I didn’t bother him, he wouldn’t bother me.

Except, the second I sat down, he started hassling me with obnoxious questions about my life. After I’d had enough, I turned around and snapped, “Who the hell do you think you are?”

He looked up at me and said, “So you don’t recognize me, then?”

I looked at his eyes—the only thing still recognizable about him—and gasped. This frightening boy was my old best friend. I was so shocked; all I could say to him was his name before our teacher started class.

And that’s all I ever I got to say to him . . . because he got kicked out of class before it was over, and ultimately was expelled from school by the end of the day.

I never saw him again.

For years, this memory haunted me. I wondered what had happened to my old friend to change him so much. I wondered what might have happened to him, to me, to us, if he hadn’t disappeared again. Could I have helped him somehow?

But eventually, the memory faded away.

Several years passed again. I was out of college and pursuing my dream to become an author, when one dark January night, I was driving down the street and suddenly remembered that encounter with my old friend. I looked up at a billboard while at a stoplight, and a conversation between a brother and sister started in my head. They were discussing a former friend who had suddenly returned to town. “He’s dangerous,” the brother warned his sister. “He’s not the person he used to be. You have to stay away from him.”

I didn’t know who this brother and sister were, but I couldn’t stop thinking about their conversation. I was extremely curious about their friend who had disappeared and why he’d come back, so I started writing about them that night. The memory of seeing my own old friend again became the first scene in a book, and the conversation between the brother and the sister became the third scene. I’d never felt so much passion for a set of characters before, and I knew that I had to write their story. I kept on writing, and that story became The Dark Divine—the first novel in the Dark Divine trilogy.

The response to The Dark Divine has already been amazing, and now I’m pleased that this special promotion will spread the story to even more readers. I hope you’ll take advantage of it, read TDD, and then share it with your friends.

- Bree Despain

ALERT: From today until November 22nd, you can get the e-book edition of The Dark Divine at the special price of $2.99, in honor of the book’s paperback launch and the upcoming release of Despain’s next novel, The Lost Saint.

Friday, October 22, 2010

Crescendo - Becca Fitzpatrick


Nora should have know her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away and Nora can't figure out if it's for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home.

The farther Nora delves into the mystery of her father's death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn't answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?

My opinion.

I was extremely excited for this second book and it did not fail to impress me. I love this book just as much as the first.. Becca Fitzpatrick is fastly becoming my favorite Author. I enjoy her writing style and the fact that all her characters are thought through.

Patch is a great mix of everything yummy... seriously. I like his relationship with Nora I love that he can be dark and naughty while caring and loving with Nora.
We meet new characters in this book which really do add to the story.. Rixon, Scott & Marcie.

While Scott was seen as the Bad one.. it turns out he is just misunderstood.. always look out for the wolf in sheep's clothing!!!
Vee is one of my most favorite people she and Nora made me laugh so many times with the situations they get themselves into.. but it really makes great reading
I liked that the novel wasn't lovey dovey all the way through that can get a little boring..true to form Fitzpatrick is great with the mystery, the twists and turns and keeping the reader guessing.

kudos 5 star!

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Male Characters!

I have come to the conclusion I am a main character book whore. Seriously I love so many male characters in books I read, Ive have forever branded myself a book whore. Just when I think a character couldn't be any more irresistible i move onto the next and the next and the next... could i be more fickle!! anyways I have now got a list as long as my arm! but Ive put these dreamy Mr perfects on the short list:

  • Edward Cullen - Twilight
  • Eric northmen - Sookie Stakehouse novels
  • Jericho Barrons - Fever books
  • V'lane - Fever books
  • Jace - The mortal Instruments
  • Patch - Hush hush, Crescendo
  • Dante Alexander - Hourglass door
  • Damen - The immortals
  • Lucas - Ever night series
  • Ash - Night world
  • Damen and Stefan Salvator (haven't decided between these two as yet lol)

The list could truly go on and on.... so who made your short list??

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Spirit day

I am writing in purple to honour spirit day! Lately its been on the news a lot about young people who have committed suicide due to bullying..Bullying of any form is wrong whether its due to sexuality or race, gender or a million other reasons.
Its sad these people didn't feel they could speak up!! We are in 2010 differences should be celebrated and not persecuted.
I have two children and I am actually scared for the day they start school in case these horrible things happen to them, that just isn't right in my eyes.

Futhermore Gays should be able to fight for there country without having to hide who they are like its a shameful thing!!

Join in the fight to stop bullies!!

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Halloween fun



Halloween is around the corner and Jacob is already so excited! I actually love the whole trick or treating fun. This year I am even more excited since it will be Sophia's 1st holiday, the costumes are at the ready ones a ninja turtle while the other is a Lady bug!




This weekend we went pumpkin picking.. so much fun. I love love love the foods sold in those little farm stores..home made dough-nuts, apple cider and cookies! yummmmmy. I keep forgetting Melissa your not pregnant any more hence WATCH THE CALORIES LOL. Ah I'll worry about it after the 31st, because I'd be lying if i said i wasn't going to eat a bunch of Halloween candy :)

Monday, October 18, 2010

Kudos for this blog spot!

http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/

This is a great blog!! Heather writes amazing blogs full great reviews & offering a give away right now!.. I recommend her

The hourglass door by Lisa Mangum


I am in love!!! with a boy named Dante Alexander lol. The 1st book Ive read since given birth (time has been limited) but it was recommended to me a long time ago (by heather, thanks) I just came across it.. The hourglass door by Lisa Mangum, I loved the book read it in a matter of days.. it reminded me of hush hush by Becca Fitzpatrick with a mix of Alyson noels immortals series.

It was the first book in a while that Ive read which hasn't followed the trend of vampires, werewolves or Angels... but broke the mold with time travel!!! Kudos. From the cover alone I know i wanted to eat up this book, it has a sexy little caption "his past, her future. Can love bring them together in time?" WHO WOULDN'T LOVE THAT! I couldn't get out of the store fast enough with book in hand.

I truly liked Abby as a main character a lot of novels lately have had sappy girls who don't listen and make stupid choices leaving me frustrated. Didn't feel like that about Abby... Val on the other hand was annoying as can be! but i guess she served a purpose in the story.

Dante was dreamy and I even liked Leo!! yummy Italians LOL :) I loved that we got glimpses of history and past lives, it really give the story depth. Would totally recommend this to any YA book fan.. can not wait to read the next installment.


Sunday, October 10, 2010

Long time no see

I haven't blogged in the longest time!! why? Well because I gave birth! September 15th I gave birth to my fabulous little girl Sophia... recovery from my c section was harder then I thought, especially while juggling two children, Thank god for my prescription for pain medication lol. I finally think I'm getting the hang of it now although its been tough going.. I most definitely forgot how difficult the sleepless nights are lol.

My son adores his new sister :) hes so great with her and this was a surprise since hes been an only child for the past 4yrs. YES my son also turned 4!! he has so much fun at his birthday celebrations... Rainforest's Cafe! loved it, and no clean up. So Ive been busy busy busy. I haven't had much time to read :(

Just before I gave birth I read some really good books though:

Claudia Gray - Ever night series.. I really liked these books!! 4 out of 5 cant wait for the next book to come out.

Bree Despain-The Dark divine - This was for sure a surprise for me I truly enjoyed this book, I wasn't sure at first since it was about a pastors family but the story had me interested from the start. 5 0ut of 5!