About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Monday, November 22, 2010

Wicked lovely books - Melissa Marr


Fragile Eternity

This is the books that continues the story of Ash, Seth and Keenan. With summer approaching Ash and Keenan find themselves more drawn to each other because of their bound. Leaving Seth feeling left out and some what jealous of the fact he has to share his gf. Seth goes on a vest trying to find out if he can become Fae, that way he wont be weak and can be with Ash forever.
Seth disappears and Ash doesn't know where he is... deep in depression she turns to Keenan for comfort and love from the court.


My opinion:

I almost feel bad for Keenan in this book, I mean I get it hes in love with the winter queen but is trying to persuade his summer queen to love him for the sake of the court. I GET IT! BUT having said that hes still an ass am sorry but hes not the only one who has feelings and the way he kept picking up and dropping the winter queen in this book was horrible! AND the fact that he knew where Seth was and didn't tell Ash.. when will this boy learn manipulation will not get you anywhere.
Although I did feel bad for him when he realises he messed everything up and the Winter queen wont give him her love. So in this book you do see a side to Keenan we haven't seen before... the fairy king who knows what he has to do for his court, but on the other side.. the Man who if he had no responsibility would be with the woman he loves.

You really feel for Seth in this book. He is very aware of Aislinn's new role as a Fey Queen. He is also very aware of his mortality. Seth struggles to find and keep his place with Aislinn while reassuring himself that she loves only him and not Keenan. In this book he search for a way to maintain that assurance.

Ash does a lot of back and fourth in this book it kind of gets too much at the end, in parts I felt like she wanted her cake and eat it too. She is easy manipulated which is annoying because you would think she would realise the type of people around her by now.

Niall well I was glad to see him again he is my favorite character.. Marr got the balance of darkness he displays just right... a little naughty but just enough so his character doesn't change too drastically. Hes seriously yummy I think I'd give my allegiance to the dark court any day! lol

I love it!! and while number 2 is still my favorite book thus far... this book is still a good addition.

Friday, November 12, 2010

MISSING


HAVE YOU SEEN THIS MISSING SEASON: IT GOES BY THE NAME AUTUMN, AND LOOKS LIKE THIS


Seriously lol this morning I woke up and it was freezing!! It truly felt like a winters day - hoodie was on keeping me warm. Does anybody else feel like mother nature is robbing them blind? I know I do lol... I'm not ready for all the coldness just yet..

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Ink Exchange - Melissa Marr


About:


The new peace between the Summer King and the Winter Queen isn't good for everyone: those of the Dark Court, who feed on faeries’ destructive emotions, are dangerously weakened. Irial, King of the Dark Court, needs a solution, and he finds one in the Summer Queen’s mortal friend Leslie. Tormented by memories of abuse, Leslie wants nothing more than to reclaim her body by getting a tattoo, but the enchanted design she selects provides Irial with a direct link to mortals’ emotions. The tattoo binds Leslie and Irial together even as a third faerie works to prevent their destructive yet seductive connection.

My Opinion:

First of all Ive read many reviews and comments about the book dealing with Rape, drugs and other dark issues, being a young adult book maybe its not suitable?
I don't feel this is the case... This book is dark but its dealing with the dark court of the fey. The issues that arise in this book are well placed and in context, its important to telling the story.
Books are for learning and I feel its important young people learn about such serious issues, and if more people wrote about them then maybe we wouldn't have as many young people committing suicide because of bullying etc.

Anyways on to the story!

Leslie is a strong character even though we see her depending on others through out the book we also see her make tough choices and survive time and again... with an absent mother, a drunk father and a druggie brother the mortals in this book seems as bad as the non humans.

Even the people who were supposed to be looking out for her I feel did it for there own manipulation. Keenan as a character Ive grown to detest!! hes sneaky and shady and not true to the person he portrays... it really made me so sad to see what he did to Niall in this book. At least with those in the dark court you know what they are they don't pretend to be anything else.

Aislinn I didn't feel was much better, yes she had her court try to protect Seth and Leslie but her lies but them in danger... she also knew how bad Leslie's life was, about the rape but at one point in the book practically called her easy! HORRIBLE!

Niall my heart broke for, he was so genuine and fought his own urges to try and keep Leslie safe I feel his love for her was real. He was a fabulous strong male character he didn't pretend he was perfect, he knew he had faults but he did his best to stay on the right track. I couldn't get enough of him in this story! I hope he stays the same..


King Irial, shows us that at least some of these repulsive creatures in his court are capable of great virtue: Irial is a devoted caretaker of his people, capable of true friendship, self-sacrifice, and sensitivity. It is moving when he exhibits these qualities, and then doubly repulsive when he sets them aside. I really don't know what to feel about him, I didn't like the things he did. I feel his selfish dark nature was just to powerful for him to be anything else... but under it all there were glimpses of positive qualities. I do believe he cared for Leslie but in his own way. I have a hard time forming an opinion about him...

When the book ended I felt like there was more to say, I wanted an happy ever after for Leslie and Niall.
But I see see why Marr didn't let it happen..as Irial said: "Sometimes love means letting go when you want to hold on tighter."

Leslie needed to make her own way in life. I just hope we hear about these two again.
I love this book! Melissa Marr has a great way of creating a whole world within a novel.

Monday, November 8, 2010

Veggie Tales Operation Christmas Child story

Operation Christmas child


Its that time of year again!! Christmas is coming fast.... and since where in the season of giving and all I wanted to tell you guys about a charity. Since I was a little girl Ive taken part in operation Christmas child... make a shoe box - fill it with goodies - give it in to a location - it gets sent to children in countries that go with out. SIMPLE but very worth it!
Is so rewarding and cheap to do.. since i have children of my own now I love the feeling of doing something together that will help others, and what a way to teach a child about giving!
For more info!!

http://www.samaritanspurse.org/index.php/occ

Thursday, November 4, 2010

Peace and love




I have decided to rid myself of the negativity that surrounds me, the messed up part is its not ever even my drama. My husband and I live peacefully with our two kids and I like it, I'm not a teenager no more I don't need to be running around. I also don't need to listen to things just to keep peace or because I want to keep others sweet. At the end of the day I'm at the point were I really don't care who sticks around and who goes, I just don't need to be weighed down.


A positive environment is a positive mind a positive mind is a positive life.

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Eternal - Cynthia Smith


About:
At last, Miranda is the life of the party: all she had to do was die. Elevated and adopted by none other than the reigning King of the Mantle of Dracul, Miranda goes from high-school theater wannabe to glamorous royal fiend overnight.

Meanwhile, her reckless and adoring guardian angel, Zachary, demoted to human guise as the princess’s personal assistant, has his work cut out for him trying to save his girl’s soul and plan the Master’s fast-approaching Death Day gala.

In alternating points of view, Miranda and Zachary navigate a cut-throat eternal aristocracy as they play out a dangerous and darkly hilarious love story for the ages.

My Opinion:

Okay so when I started this book I didn't like it, why?

  • Miranda seems wishy washy
  • The whole Father master dialog got me frustrated.
  • The relationship she had with "father" I wanted to know why she just accepted her new life and didn't question anything.
  • The whole Dracula, castle story line seemed over played and out dated.

I was about to just stop reading, but I don't like giving up on a book half read. I am pleased I did stick with it! after the first 50 or so pages the story really does get better. My main issue was I didn't really like "father" but he takes a lesser role, It focuses more on Zachary & Miranda. I love how the story was set from two points of view, Zachary is an awesome kick ass angel. Miranda finally finds her feet and I do like the character she becomes.. Life is all about choices and I'm pleased that she chose the right one.

This book is definetly worth the read and I did enjoy it in the end.. even shed a tear, BUT having said that the start of the book really spoiled it for me I feel it could of been written better.

3 & half stars

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

My kids in melt down mode

My kids are in major melt down mode...this morning Jacob comes into my room:

Jacob: mommy where is daddy, what did you do with him?
Me: Hes still at work
Jacob: oh my gosh mommy my daddy is never coming back all the days! I've lost my daddy

Then he goes to his room, locks the door... and then super woman mom has to get a screw driver to open the door because Jacob gets stuck!

I'm starting to feel a little like chopped liver lol. Roll on Friday! who knew dad's were such hero's =)

Monday, November 1, 2010

multi tasking 2 kids lol.

Give me a cape and call me superwoman! The husband is out of town on business for the week, I am left at home with a 6week old with colic and a 4yr old who is hyped up on Halloween candy. Lord bless me, I don't know how I have survived so far... only 4 more days to go! It feels so strange we have been together so long! and the longest I've gone with out seeing him is when I had to stay in the hospital after giving birth. I feel like I've lost an arm or something lol. Oh well absents makes the heart grow fonder and all that.





Last night I took the kids Trick or Treating, 1 ninja turtle and 1 lady bug...It was fun! He makes me laugh, he came across a grid in the pavemment and said mommy mommy you need to take my picture with this, the turtles live down there LMAO. Bless him!



Its my husbands birthday too on Wednesday and we feel bad hes not going to be here, so I channelled Martha and made him a cake.
Happy birthday babe!!!!!