About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Monday, February 28, 2011

Final day of the V day Boycott

The Final day of the Valentines day boycott!!!

A pic that can always make me smile and a song that makes me happy I made it through the month!

I love this pic it was when my little bugger was two and to me it just sums up his cheeky little nature lol It always makes me giggle looking at it.



words:
Love yourself because if you don't nobody else will faults and all..they are what make us special and unique. Don't let anybody tell you otherwise!!!

Sunday, February 27, 2011

Day 27 V-day boycott Challenge

Day 27 of the V-day Boycott Challenge.

A picture showing motion & a song I liked this time last year.

I dont know if this pic actually fits but oh well its the best that I got for today lol. This is Jacob and his little friend about 2 years ago. Time goes so fast!


Saturday, February 26, 2011

Day 26 Vday Boycott

Day 26 of the Vday Boycott!
A picture of somebody I miss and a instrumental song that I like

My uncle and Godfather died a few years back I miss him a lot and regret I didnt spend time with him before he died since I was living in NJ


My song!!! from my favorite soccer team - the blue boys everton fc

Friday, February 25, 2011

Day 25 V day Boycott

Day 25 of the V-day Boycott - Edit a pic & post it, and a song that makes you think of your last vaca.

I made this pic when Jacob was 2 look at how cute and little his little chubby feet are!!


Thursday, February 24, 2011

Day 24 V day Boycott Challenge

Almost there!! day 24 of the Vday Boycott join in the fun

A pic of the Cast from my Favorite show & a good song to work out too...




Word of Advice from Dr Mel.
Ok here is the thing, its not my job to judge others and so I really try not to. BUT its not cool for an older woman to wear a graphic tee saying POP MY CHERRY with a pic of a CHERRY! its just not... I wish Stacey and Clinton could of seen her.

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

The lost Saint Bree Despain

The Lost Saint Bree Despain



About:

After offering herself as a sacrifice in order to rid her boyfriend of his werewolf curse, high school senior Grace Divine has absorbed some of his lycanthropic abilities. As she trains with Daniel in an attempt to achieve mastery over her powers, she meets another young man who urges her to embrace the anger that triggers her strength and encourages her to join him in the fight against evil demons and vampires. Push back from Daniel, her family, and a visiting pastor lead her to question the benevolence of her new friend; however, Grace's passion to save her brother-whom she fears has been absorbed into a cohort of evil supernatural creatures-leads her to defy those closest to her.

My opinion:

I love the way Bree Despain can write a book with action, werewolves, demons and a kiss here and there and try to keep it wholesome. lol. This book is better then the 1st, the story has developed a lot as well as the characters. I liked the changes in Grace I mean I know she is a pastors daughter but she just felt too squeaky clean...
Daniel I find yummy I really do and I think its awesome that the big bad villain is his father!! Although the miscommunication between Grace and Daniel was sometimes frustrating (I guess that's teens for you)
I liked the mystery that still managed to surround him.

Talbot even though you could guess why he was in the story he was a nice addition, (although who wears a silver star belt buckle) I think Grace was very naive when it came to Tal (as Daniel says she always liked the bad boys) BUT I did like the bad boy turned good for the love of a woman angle.

Jude omg what a waste of space seriously how weak is he.. I would not have risked my life for him. Sometimes I got uncomfortable with how he would talk to Grace (you betrayed me for Daniel) um hello! your her brother not her boyfriend.

The mom I find more then annoying! I wanted to slap her so many times in the book, she went from manic to neurotic not to mention she doesn't have a clue whats really going on with her kids. AND she leaves the baby to be cared for by the teenage daughter... I was not impressed
The action/ fight showdown was awesome I really enjoyed it.. and the touching moment between Grace and Daniel in the cell... AND the ending has me wanting to read the 3rd book for sure!

4 out of 5

Vday Boycott Day 23

A picture of me from 10 yrs ago and a song that I played at my wedding (or would play at my wedding)

The shopping & Clubbing days now all my money goes on diapers and Jacob (son) could probably drink me under the table!


Words for today

~ Letting go doesn't mean giving up... it means moving on. It is one of the hardest things a person can do. Starting at birth, we grasp on to anything we can get our hands on, and hold on as if we will cease to exist when we let go. We feel that letting go is giving up, quitting, and that as we all know is cowardly. But as we grow older we are forced to change our way of thinking. We are forced to realize that letting go means accepting things that cannot be. It means maturing and moving on, no matter how hard you have to fight yourself to do so." ~

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Day 22 Vday Boycott

Day 22 of the V-day Boycott Challenge

My most Treasured Item and a song that makes me tear up.

I don't really have a treasured item, I mean I've moved a lot and with two kids things get broken, they come and go. If I was to treasure things then I would probably be crying on a regular basis lol. So I will say "my most useful item" is My phone I call my mom everyday in England if I didn't she would probably think I was dead hahaha



Monday, February 21, 2011

Day 21 V day Boycott

Day 21 Of the V-day Boycott Challenge - ITS NEARLY FINISHED PEOPLE!

A picture of a person who inspires me & my cell phone ring tone.

I love Stephanie Meyer who wrote Twilight while being a stay at home mommy and having no idea if her work was ever good enough to be published. As I am at home right now with my babies even though I love them dearly it can be extremely draining....So I tend to dream big when thinking of the school days to come.



Words:

Stephanie Meyer Time Magazine
What advice do you have for other women raising families at home who want to branch out and achieve something like you have done? —J Gibbons ALEXANDRIA, VA.

Go for it! I didn't plan to start a new career when I did this, and it took a lot of courage to send out those query letters. I sent 15, and I got nine rejection letters, five no responses and one person who wanted to see me. If it's something you enjoy, put the determination and will behind it and see what happens.

Sunday, February 20, 2011

Home sick

Even though I have lived in America 6yrs I still get home sick... I think its been more so since I've had my children. This is basically why every year we head to Florida on vacation in case you don't know its like a mini England lol So many English people and English products!!! I always stock up...

Let me share some of the things I miss:

FOOD!


SHOWS:


STORES




PLACES




Day 20 Vday boycott

join the fun Rules on Lost in the view blog spot

DAY 20: Something I wish I was better at & a TV jingle that comes to mind right now

I really wish I was better at saving money! I am not...although I do try and god really loves a trier. It wont help me though when my kids want to go to college *sigh*

Saturday, February 19, 2011

FUNNY STUFF

Image and video hosting by TinyPic


I had to share this lmao HOW ABOUT A GIGGLE TO START YOUR SATURDAY!! I am rather worried about the  mentality of the human race these days!
WE know bikes are more eco friendly than cars, but this is ridiculous.
This crazy cyclist was seen pedalling along a busy A-road balancing a fridge freezer on the back.
Traffic came to a standstill as he rode with the bizarre load strapped upright to his pannier rack.

Dat 19 of Boycott Vday

Favorite Book & A Favorite song from a movie soundtrack

This is hard because I like so many books its hard to just pick one favorite!!!! BUT one of my favorite stories would have to be:


From Twilight


Friday, February 18, 2011

Day 18 of the V-day Boycott Challenge

Day 18 of the Vday Boycott Challenge http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/2011/01/month-of-self-love-not-dirty-kind-and.html

A picture of a favorite band & a song I like bu my husband does not.

I still like New kids on the Block....so shoot me! I don't care how many people make fun of me these guys are still awesome and I went to there 2008 1st show come back tour it was HOTT!

My husband doesn't rate any kind of Nelly music who I happen to like a lot...especially this song that came out not so long ago (has anybody noticed bonnie from VampD is the model in this?)

Words

Find the courage to dream big. If you can dream it, you can do it. The first step is to let yourself dream. There is nothing to lose by dreaming big and aiming high. As Les Brown said, ‘Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss you will land among the stars.’ In reality, you will sometimes shoot and miss. The stars are definitely not a bad place to land, but in your dreams you need not even settle for the stars. You can reach the moon every time when you dare to dream big

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Lauren Kate Fallen and Torment Review



 
Fallen:
There's something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.
Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price's attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He's the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.
Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce--and goes out of his way to make that very clear--she can't let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her
Torment:
How many lives do you need to live before you find someone worth dying for?
Hell on earth. That's what it's like for Luce to be apart from her fallen angle boyfriend, Daniel. It took them eternity to find one another, but now he has told her he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts-immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angles and humans.
At Shoreline, Luce learns what the Shadows are, and how she can use them as windows to her previous lives. Yet the more Luce learns, the more she suspects Daniel hasn't told her everything. He's hiding something-something dangerous.
What if Daniel's version of the past isn't actually true? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?

My Opinion:
First I have to say these books have the most beautiful covers I love it! They are so dramatic and Gothic oh and I think the dresses are amazing... So I instantly wanted to read them.
However I felt they fell short of all the hype. Don't get me wrong they are still good stories well worth the read and Torment WAS better then Fallen it had a lot more direction and the terminology is a lot better, but I am yet to be won over by the series.
A lot of the plot is Luce and her procrastinating over Daniel so its definitely a slow start. I really like Arriane in both books she seems very kick-ass and cool. Shelby was a good edition to Torment shes very much like Arriane.
Cam god bless him even though hes "A demon" he makes a good distraction with his bad boy with a heart image he has going on....because if it was all Daniel Daniel Daniel I think I would of got extremely bored.

Fallen is all about Luce discovering who her friends actually are....
Torment is more about Luce finding out her own history with Daniel..
WHY ARE ALL THESE PEOPLE FIGHTING OVER HER! ugh we get to have so much in sight over things that aren't so important... but when it comes to the BIG questions where left in the dark.
I have a theory want to hear it?
I believe Luce is like part Angel or something and she is the ONE who will decide which fallen gets a chance to get into heaven, she makes the final judgement call and so that's why everybody is fighting over her but nobody actually wants to kill her!
I do believe the third installment will be very much like a Spanish soap novella were everything will be compacted into the final hour lol.....having said that I am a sucker for those shows and I am going to read the book. I think the 3rd book will win me over!!!!! **hopefully**

3* out of 5

Day 17 Vday boycott challenege

You can still join in the fun here at Lost in the View

Day 17

A pic from my morning and a song that I hear WAY too often on the radio


A picture from my morning I am really trying to battle the dreaded muffin top!


Hot 97 have a way of over playing songs to death when they are new, you know its been on the radio a lot when a 4yr old knows the words (which I am not to impressed with)

Words:
This poem is out of a book called My Hippo had the Hiccups & when I read it I automatically thought of my son. Whenever you tell him to do ANYTHING its always a big production since hes the worlds biggest drama king.

Today I Had a Problem

Today I had a problem
when I tried to make my bed.
My blankets and my comforter
got wrapped around my head.
I went to fluff the pillows
but the pillow cover tore,
and feathers flew all over
as I stumbled 'round the floor.
I accidentally grabbed the sheets
and pulled them as I fell.
I have to say, it seems
my day's not starting off too well.
I tripped upon a pillowcase
and landed in a heap.
Good grief! That's it! I'm staying here
and going back to sleep!


--Kenn Nesbitt




Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.7

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

2011 Book Challenge

I wanted to do a reading challenge but what I dislike about reading challenges I've come across is they tell you WHAT to read... my problem with this is I don't know what I feel like reading everyday and therefore don't want to be told what to read 3months from now.The best books I have read are those that I've Fallen upon.






So I have decided I am going to challenge myself:


I am going to read 100 books in 2011.


I am feeling brave with that number, whether I succeed or not is a different matter lol only time will tell.


So far I have read:


1, Seeker Book 10 Sweep            
2, Origins Book 11 Sweep
3, Eclipse Book 12 Sweep
4, Reckoning Book 13 Sweep
5, Full Circle Book 14 Sweep
6 Nights Child Book 15 Sweep
By Cate Tiernan


7, Clockwork Angel bk 1 Casesandra Clare
8, Fallen Angel Heather Terrel


9, Fallen
10, Torment Lauren Kate


11, sleepless Cyn Balog
12, Eternal kiss of darkness Jeaniene Frost
13 ShadowFever Karen Marie Moning
14, Struck by conscience C.K Green


15 A hunger like no other
16, No rest for the wicked
17, Wicked deeds on a winters night Kresley Cole


18, CraveLaura J burns & Melinda Metz
19, The lost saint Bree Despain
20, Marked House of night P.C Cast
21, Halo Alexandra Adornetto
22, This side of the grave Jeaniene Frost
23, The Eternal ones, Kristen Miller
24, I am number 4, Pittacus Lore
25, Darkest Mercy, Melissa Marr
26, Beastly, Alex Finn
27, Betrayed, P.C Cast
28, Chosen
29, Untamed, P.C Cast.
30, Tempted
31, Burned
32, Awakend, P.C Cast
33, City of Fallen Angels, Cassandra Clare
34, Matched, Ally Condie
35, Luxe
36, Rumors
37, Envy
38, Splendor - Anna Godbersen


39, White Cat
40, Red Glove - holly Black


41, The Season - Sarah Mclean
42, Bright young Things - Anna Godbersen




43, Insatible - Meg Cabot
44, Demon Glass - Rachel Hawkins


45, dark needs at nights edge
46, Dark Desries after dusk
47, Kiss of a demon king
48, Deep kiss of winter
49, Pleasures of a dark prince
50, Demon from the Dark
51, Dreams of a dark warrior - Kresley Cole


52, Falling Under - Gwen Hayes
53, Delirium - Lauren Oliver
54, Wildefire - Karsten Knight
55, Dead Reckoning - Charlaine Harris
56, Peeled - Joan Bauer
57, A long, long sleep - Anna Sheehan
58 Stork - Wendy Delsol

Day 16 Of the Vday Boycott

Day 16 of the Boycott V-day Challenge. You can still join the fun get the rules on Heathers blog click me

A picture that inspires me:

I love books its like an addiction actually, I've already read 17 books since January. I have no idea why I even pay for cable! When I seen this pic I just loved it I mean it makes me want to read right now at 5:43am lol.

A song I loved but now I hate:




I did like it then it got over played now I like it not so much.... Thanks HOT97

Words:

"Sometimes beautiful things come into our lives out of nowhere. We can't always understand them, but we have to trust in them. I know you want to question everything, but sometimes it pays to just have a little faith."


Frankie to Luce in Laren Kates Torment

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Day 15 V-day boycott

Day 15 Valentines day boycott join the fun!

A black and white pic & a song which describes me

This is a pic of my home city - Liverpool water front @ the Albert Dock


Words:
If you bungle raising your children, I don't think whatever else you do matters very much.


Jackie Kennedy

Monday, February 14, 2011

yum

I just had to share... this was as good as it looked! And one of the reasons my muffin top is not going anywhere lol. Oh well
Published with Blogger-droid v1.6.7

Happy Valentines Day

Today is Valentines day and yes all month long I have taken part in a boycott... This isn't because I am a bar humbug. Do I hate Valentines day.. not at all. Was I surprised and appreciative when my husband this morning woke me with  a hug and gift OF COURSE.
Having said that I don't put emphasis on those things my husband tells me most days he loves me and so he should, as I tell him & my children the same thing.
Shouldn't people feel loved and cared for everyday rather then once a year? Does hallmark make you feel more loved? really think about it because I doubt it.
People should show signs of affection because they want to not because corporate America tells you to.
Let me tell you this much if I only felt loved one day a year I would be leading a dismal life... society needs to stop thinking about how much this day has been hyped up and think about what they have in there life year round.
Because honestly I found it so sad today how many single people I heard complain they hate this day since they didnt recieve a gift. HELLO REALLY,
If its that important go buy yourself something... but to say you hate the day over lack of gift I think it proves my point....

LOVE, COMPANIONSHIP, FRIENSHIP... those are whats important and if you feel you have that in your life you do not need a fat cat to tell you so.

Day 14 Valetines day boycott

Day 14!!!! of the boycott... join in

So today is Valentines day & instead of stressing about money, gifts and cards, take the time call or spend some time with somebody you love..show your love that way. I am sure they will remember it more then a hallmark card.

A pic from Last summer

This seems like a million years ago! playing mini golf 8months pregnant... it was very hot that day.

A song I love that nobody would think I did:

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Day 13 V-day Boycott

Day 13 Valentines Day Boycott Challenge: join the fun!

A picture of something you wish you could forget

This pic was taken on a weekend trip to Vermont - 1st time playing beer pong. I am no good at playing games that need co-ordination...YOU CAN JUST IMAGINE THE RESULT.

A guilty pleasure song:


A few words:

Weekends are a bit like rainbows; they look good from a distance but disappear when you get up close to them. ~John Shirley

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Day 12 V-day Boycott

To join the Boycott go here: Heather Lost in the view

My biggest insecurity would be:

Since I had my little girl 5months ago the weight loss is taking longer then I thought it would... hence i have a little muffin top that's making all my clothes look ridiculous right now.. sigh.

Song from a bad I hate:


OK here is the thing, I didn't always hate the Beatles... I am from Liverpool which happens to be the home of the Beatles... I loved the festivals, the music, the fun and partying at the Cavern Club. Until I came to live in NJ. You have no idea how many people when they find out your from Liverpool ask me "well do you know the Beatles?"
This is beyond annoying! in which I reply "well do you know Britney Spears?" So now I am in total boycott mode.

words:

I think that whatever size or shape body you have, it's important to embrace it and get down! The female body is something that's so beautiful. I wish women would be proud of their bodies and not dis other women for being proud of theirs!

Christina Aguilera

Friday, February 11, 2011

Day 11 V-day Boycott Challenge

Day 11: The v-day boycott challenge go to heathers blog to join in the fun

A pic of me when I was little:


A song I found last week:



A few words:

"We all have a destiny in life and since 14 I knew I was put on this earth to shop.” - Rebecca Bloomwood

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Fallen Angel Heather Terrel


Fallen Angel - Heather Terrell





A new guy named Michael has been watching Ellie at school. It is soon revealed that he remembers Ellie from a trip their families took years ago, though Ellie has no similar recollection. But being near Michael awakens her desire to learn the truth about herself, which seems that only Michael knows. Guess what? Her recurrent dreams about flying are not dreams after all, as the two really can fly. That’s not all: both teens can read people’s thoughts, and each has developed a taste for blood. Ellie fears that they are vampires until her parents finally tell her the truth about the biblical story of fallen angels. Soon evil is following Ellie, and the teens are forced to choose which side of the ancient battle to align with.


My opinion:

For a debut novel its a good start, the story certainly has growth room and I will be reading the next book to see how things develop. The whole book is about Ellie and Michael finding there identity. While I like Ellie with her determination and fighting spirit, the way she suddenly changes her whole attitude to "live for Michael" is sort of a turn off for me. In places it seems a little forced.

Michael is a torn character trying to be good but cant help but mess up along the way, he is the weaker one in the relationship but there is no denying he has love for Ellie and is trying to do the right thing. However reading about his constant mess ups can be a little frustrating... grow a back bone!

I like the fact that there is parents in this book!!! yay for the perentals... and lets say they have more secrets then the kids do.

The mythology featured in discovering Ellie's nature was a highlight for me. I really enjoyed it. I'm not usually a fan of religious references but the lore was handled nicely by the author.
The book starts slow...but after the first 100 pages or so when we meet Zeke (a bad guy to fight) the book gets the direction and push it needed.

3.5 out of 5.

Day 10 Vday boycott

Day 10 V day boycott - join the fun details here http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/2011/02/boycott-v-day-challenge-day-10.html


Something I want to do in the next 10 years:



A song that motivates me:



Words...
So I read a lot! a lot a lot but in 2010 one page in a book stuck with me. Everytime I thought of it I would crack up all over again because I found it so funny so here it is:

I heard the man and woman cry a warning as I frantically racked my brain for some sort of throat-repairing spell, which I was clearly about to need. Of course the only words that I actually managed to yell at the werewolf as he ran at me were, 'BAD DOG!'
Then, out of the corner of my eye, I caught a flash of blue light on my left. Suddenly, the werewolf seemed to smack into an invisible wall just inches in front of me....
'You know,' someone said off to my left, 'I usually find a blocking spell to be a lot more effective than yelling "Bad dog," but maybe that's just me."

Sophie & Archer - Rachel Hawkins Hex hall

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

Struck by conscience




Struck by Conscience Book review: C.K Green


Laney is a girl who spent most of her high school life trying to be popular only to find out when she is popular she doesn't like it. Her friends are superficial and her boyfriend... well when she falls in the school pool he didn't attempt to save her because he didn't want to mess up his hear!

Laney also has a secret she has a pixie who sits on her shoulder that gives her advise.

When her world starts to take a nose dive her once best friend Heath (who she ditched to be cool) comes to her rescue.


My opinion.

Ugh first of all I felt this story was extremely high school and superficial...Although it was aimed at being YA I felt it on the younger side... I get the message it was trying to send out (a young girl making her way in the world and choosing the right path) BUT really I just felt Laney was very shallow and silly and even though she makes the right choice in the end shouldn't she have figured out that being a bitch to her one true friend was wrong?

As for the pixie element it had little depth and the story was only 40 or so pages long! I didn't think there was any quality honestly.

The only reason I got it was because it had good ratings on Good reads... well I only give it a 2 out of 5. I wasn't really impressed at all.

Day 9 V-day boycott

Day 9 V-day boycott. Join the fun- info here http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/

A person I would like to trade places with for a day:



I could of chose to be famous for a day, who wouldn't love that! BUT I would really like to trade places with my husband just so he could see what I do all day. Raising two kids isn't easy and I would love for him to understand just how hard it is sometimes.


A song that reminds me of my high school best friend:


Emma was a huge savage garden fan and forced me to listen to these guys until I liked them lol.


Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Day 8 Boycott V-day Challenge

Day 8 Boycott V-day Challenge - Join the fun! http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/


A pic of me and a best friend.


Ok so here is the thing my best friend Emma actually lives in England and ive known her since I was 14. Along with a lot of other friends who I dont get to see often due to that pesky little thing called the Atlantic ocean.


So my Closet dearest friend here would be:






A song I dance to when nobody is watching:






AND FINALLY...a word or two.

When you're chewing on life's gristle
Don't grumble, give a whistle
And this'll help things turn out for the best...
And...always look on the bright side of life...
Always look on the light side of life.
-Monty Python's Life of Brian

Monday, February 7, 2011

Day 7 of the Boycott Vday Challenge http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/2011/02/boycott-v-day-challenge-day-7.html go there to join in the fun.





A picture taken with my cell phone:



On Saturday I was standing at the check out at Walmart when I saw these! Duster slippers. Seriously what will they think of next.... Then it got me thinking my extra clean border line on obsessive clean mother would love these! She would most probably give them to my dad to wear lol.

I have my doubts to how well they would actually work but I thought it was a nifty little invention anyways lol.


Song from a favorite concert:

Sunday, February 6, 2011

Day 6 Boycott Vday


A photo from my commute this morning



A song I know all the words too. I love Texas its a shame there not as popular in the U.S.A

Join in on the Boycott fun, details here http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/

Saturday, February 5, 2011

Eternal Kiss of Darkness - J Frost


Eternal Kiss Of Darkness by Jeaniene Frost.



Synopsis
(written from inside book)

An immortal war has been brewing in the darkness . . .

And now one woman has stumbled into the shadows.


Chicago private investigator Kira Graceling should have just kept on walking. But her sense of duty refused to let her ignore the moans of pain coming from inside a warehouse just before dawn. Suddenly she finds herself in a world she's only imagined in her worst nightmares.

At the center is Mencheres, a breathtaking Master vampire who thought he'd seen it all. Then Kira appears—this fearless, beautiful . . . human who braved death to rescue him. Though he burns for her, keeping Kira in his world means risking her life. Yet sending her away is unthinkable.

But with danger closing in, Mencheres must choose either the woman he craves, or embracing the darkest magic to defeat an enemy bent on his eternal destruction.

My Opinion:

If you haven't heard of The Night Huntress books or Night Huntress world your missing out. This is one of my most favorite adult book series its a nice mix of urban fantasy/ Paranormal romance. This books was a spin off story for a character we have met in the Cat & Bones books.

Mencheres "an old as dirt vampire" who seems to run the show we had met before (Cat & Bones books) but he always seemed very powerful even feared and untouchable. So I was extremely interested to see how this character would develop.

This story was the right mix of romance and action, danger and deep emotion. The plot was well thought out. Kira was a kick ass character much like cat I thought, who could stand up against Mencheres to be his equal. She made him seem more human, after 4000 yrs it was really great to read how he could learn new things from a woman who was only 31.
I loved Kira her sarcasm and Mencheres with insecurities.

Mencheres only sees darkness in his visions. He's tired of the fighting and feels the coldness in the world and wants it all to end. He's dealing with a lot of emotions, and also dealing with his past... he was locked into a doomed marriage and separated from his devious wife for over 900 years. He's got some pent-up feelings & guilt that finally get a release.
Kira also goes through some life changing events and is dealing with it (her sister's illness, ex husband and being a new vamp). It was great to walk through those events with her and see first hand what it's like & watch there romance grow.
AND of course all this is happening when Menchere's is in a war with a dark foe who just happens to be his uncle who wants to steal his power, and wont stop at using Kira to do it.

I was so excited to see the return of Cat, Bones & Vlad!! and the part they played in Menchere and Kira's story.
I was very impressed with the history, and terminology in the book. Frost did in depth research.

I totally loved it just like all her other books!

Day 5: Boycott V day

Join in on the fun info here http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/

A beach pic that I have taken:




This pic was taken by myself 2 years ago - Jacob and his cousin Jordan at Long Branch beach.


1st song that comes up on my Ipod shuffle:


Pure Shores by All saints - This song was used in the movie The beach with Leo dicaprio



Friday, February 4, 2011

All Is Forgiven

4:30pm yesterday my cell starting calling - Id says its the hubby

Hello - I answer

Hey Kid its me I am doing the tax returns and want to know the kids and your date of birth

You don't know our dates are you kidding me - I proceed to give him our D.O.B... You know Sophia's right since she was just like born!

Yea shes October right?

NO! shes September, REALLY? shame on you for not knowing your kids birthdays

I do I do It's just am bad with dates and I want to double check before it goes to IRS

uh huh. OK bye

OK bye

1hr later he returns - hey kid I got you something




& all was forgiven... My husband is a clever dude he knows for sure he can bribe me with any kind of treat.

Ugh I disgust myself my will power is so easily broken when it comes to junk food and let me tell you those little strawberry hearts were yummy!

So I have to ponder this thought is it so bad that Dony had temporary amnesia and forgot our birthdays? If the result was Dunkin Donuts strawberry and cream pink heart...lol

Day 4. Valentines day boycott

Day 4: Valentines day Boycott Challenge by Heather http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/2011/02/boycott-v-day-challenge-day-4.html

Somebody I could not live without:


So I kind of cheated and picked two but I figure together they make a whole person lol. Plus I cant really choose between my kids.



Music from my childhood



Since I am still a big fan I had to choose NKOTB...I swore Donnie was going to be my baby daddy LOL LOL

Words of Wisdom:

You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view.


(from the character Atticus Finch)

- Harper Lee

Thursday, February 3, 2011

Sweep - Cate Tiernan

I have finally finished all of the Sweep books by Cate Tiernan. I really like the series there are 15 books in total. However now they have out 3books in one. So price wise its fantastic!

Sweep is about a teenage girl called Morgan Rowlands, who discovers that she is a "blood witch" It follows her on a journey of discovering magic and dealing with dark foes while learning who to trust. She is a great strong character that grows through out the books, unlike other young adult books I've read (shh Alyson noel books) where you see a teenage girl make the same mistakes over and over Morgan is not like that. THANK GOD! She goes through trials and tough times develops and remains strong.

Sweep starts slowly & you feel yourself saying "okay when is something major going to happen" It does pick up and get good.
The writing isn't perfect but these books where written like 10yrs ago so you have to read with that in mind.
All the characters are different and that's what I love Tiernan covers a lot of bases. It's not lets say Cassandra Clare or Stephenie Meyers class writing, BUT they are fast & enjoyable reads. Every time I finished one book I went swiftly onto the next wanting to know what was going to happen next. Her Knowledge of Wicca and Wiccan terms is very impressive which adds more depth to the plot.

The only thing that did bother me with this story was.. Hunter had so many heartaches in his life why couldn't of he had a happy ending sooner, I felt he was robbed in many ways.

Over all a 4 out of 5


Meet the Characters:


Yesterday I was ordinary—not too pretty, not too plain. Yesterday I had a normal family, with parents and a sister; I had normal friends of various states of coolness, hotness, and everything in between; I lived in a normal town. But today Cal Blaire arrived in Widow’s Vale. And now nothing will be the same. Yesterday my life was ordinary. Today everything about my life—my family, my friends, me–has changed. My name is Morgan Rowlands. Today I discovered that I’m a witch.









Cal Blaire
We’ve moved again—I’ve lost count of how many times. Now we’ve come to Widow’s Vale. Someone here intrigues me—I sense power from her, power she doesn’t know she has. I want to get closer to her, want to show her what she’s capable of. I have to get close to her—but will my love destroy her? Oh, Goddess, help me.







Hunter Niall
For too long Cal Blaire and his mother Selene have gone unchecked. It’s my job to discover what they’re up to, and I’ve come from Ireland to do it. I didn’t realize I would meet my soul mate in Widow’s Vale. I didn’t realize her magick would be so beautiful that it would change my world. I didn’t realize that the person I wanted most would be in love with my worst enemy—my brother.

Valentines day Challenge

Day 3. Valentines day Challenge - http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/2011/02/boycott-v-day-challenge-day-3.html Join in with Heather its fun :)

A picture that makes me laugh:





The story of the pic is this: We were on a family vacation in Maine and decided to take Jacob to the zoo. We were watching this elephant in the photo draw a picture with his trunk, after he did this we were able to go and pet him. (can you pet an elephant?oh well)

Well the elephant kind of attacked my mom lol I kid you not he was trying to suck my mom's leg with his trunk!!! and my mom is saying "o my god get me away from it, o my god its following me" LOL LOL it was one of those I wish I got that on video moments hahahahahaha.


A song that makes me happy:







Words of wisdom:


One of the things my parents taught me, and I'll always be grateful for the gift, is to not ever let anybody else define me.

- Wilma Mankiller

Wednesday, February 2, 2011

my poor bugger all spotty on Twitpic

my poor bugger all spotty on Twitpic

Jacob has had a rough week... he had this horrible rash all over his body so we took him to the doctor. She said it was a allergic reaction to something he ate or drank, so the question is what did he eat? Well I totally spaced I had no idea, I mean the kid is a human hoover hes always eating something. All I could tell her is nothing out of the norm so she said "well mommy you need to keep a food diary until you find out" HA! okay that may sound easy but well it isn't Jacob is so sneaky when it comes to food especially the treats lol.
So I have been like Inspector Gadget this week keeping up with him :) Just another job to add to the long list a wonder mom can do! Getting him to take his medicine is another story he gets hysterical I practically have to sit on him its a huge hassle... "mommy its so disgusting mommy" but the kid can sit and eat sour patch kids? go figure.

I really think I've narrowed it down though I have a suspicion Capri sun maybe be the culprit.. GO ME.

On the up side his Heart doctor appointment went so great so that's one less worry!! :)

High fives to all you mommies with sick 4yr olds right now, I feel your pain hahahaha

Day 2. Boycott Challenge

Day 2. V-day boycott challenge by Heather- join in its fun!! http://blameitonthefullmoon.blogspot.com/2011/02/boycott-v-day-challenge-day-2.html

Project I'm working on:



Right now I am working on my children's baby books, I have been so lazy with them! I start with good intentions then totally forget to update them.



Song I hate:

Okay well that's easy I hate anything by Nicki Minaj - I think shes horrible and when she does her little "rap" she sounds like a man ugh! I don't know why she is so popular right now.
Of course my husband happens to like her music (hes a man! there sent to try us) and plays this song over and over. ANNOYING







words of wisdom:

Making your mark on the world is hard. If it were easy, everybody would do it. But it's not. It takes patience, it takes commitment, and it comes with plenty of failure along the way. The real test is not whether you avoid this failure, because you won't. it's whether you let it harden or shame you into inaction, or whether you learn from it; whether you choose to persevere.

- Obama