About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

A new winner...


A new winner for the Alphabeast giveaway had to be chosen since there was no contact made by the first winner we picked.

Bette Vaughan

Your the new winner... congrats! An email has been sent and you have 48hrs to contact me with your info. Thanks!



Book Cover Wednesday 11/30


Welcome to another week of Just One Opinion's Book Cover Wednesday!!
Book Cover Wednesday is were I pick some awesome covers to show you, and of course feel free to share some of your favorite covers in return!

First let me show you this cover which I was NOT a big fan of...

Now this is the Hard Cover version and I think the UK version I love it! And find it so beautiful, a cover like this Screams read me!


About the book (description from Amazon)

Kismet Knight is a young psychologist with a growing clinical practice, and she's always looking for something to give her the edge in her chosen career. When her new client turns out to be a Goth teenager who desperately wants to become a vampire, Kismet is inspired to become the vampire shrink, offering her services to people who believe they are undead. Kismet herself, as a scientist, knows it's hokum, but she's looking at it in a purely psychoanalytic light, already imagining the papers she's going to write on this strange subculture. That's until she meets the leader of a vampire coven, a sexy, mysterious man who claims to be a powerful 800-year-old vampire, and she is pulled into a whirlwind of inexplicable events that start her questioning everything she once believed about the paranormal.




Monday, November 28, 2011

Review - Dark Lover J.R Ward

J.R Wards Dark Lover - Book 1 in the Black Dagger Brotherhood Series.



About:

Wrath is the "king" of the Vampires not one to be messed with he is ruthless and feared by many even though he is blind. He is a part of a brotherhood who battle the slayers who come after his race. When his fellow brother D asks him for a favor

The Favor - to help his daughter through the transition, she is half a Vampire but doesn't know. She has been raised in Foster care her entire life and knows nothing of there world.

Wrath refuses at first, but after D's death he feels he owes his fallen warrior this one last thing.

Beth lives alone and has no family, shes fed up with her job at the paper and being used by her fellow co-workers. One night on the way home from yet another late night at the office she is attacked and nearly raped. From that night on everything in her life begins to change rapidly. Starting with the Huge deadly looking warrior who she should fear but can't help but be attracted too.

My Opinion.

I have heard so many wonderful things about this series, So when I won a copy of Dark Lover from fictitious delicious I was so excited! I found the story dark, gritty and sexy. Wrath was a wonderful warrior and his warrior mentality took a little getting used to. I loved that Beth didn't back down from him and was a feisty match. I can't wait to get to know the other brothers if there all like Wrath! J.R Ward as a wonderful start to a series.

The only down side to the story was I found myself reading super fast through the Mr X chapters, just so I could read more about Beth, Wrath and the brothers! I couldn't get enough.










Saturday, November 26, 2011

Ladybugs and Flowers review

Recently I won a giveaway for a $25 GC to Ladybugs and Flowers Find them here! It's an online store over on Etsy. I didn't even know what Etsy was?! I later came to find its an awesome website that features hand made custom items.

Ladybugs and Flowers make hats and leg warmers.. And if your anything like me I love hats on my kids! Especially in winter I am always on the look out for awesome one of a kind.. So when I visited this website with my GC I fell in love with the products!

My daughter Sophia loves Sock monkey's so....


Wow I love this hat as does my daughter! The quality is so good I could not be more pleased. The sizing is accurate and considering the lady makes these hats by hand the speed in delivery was amazing! What I like even more is that you can change things to your liking for example.. If you had a little boy you wouldn't want a pink monkey... So how about red??
Ladybugs and Flowers are so awesome with contacting you and listening to your needs, all it took was an email.
There are so many different styles to chose from!



As it's small business Saturday please check this store out there amazing!


Alphabeast Winner

We have a winner!!!!!



Lisa B - You have 48hrs to contact me via email with your details or another winner will be picked!
Thanks to all who entered.. please keep following for more awesome giveaways!

Happy holidays



Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Book Cover Wednesday - 11.23.11

Book cover Wednesday - A feature were I pick a book cover I love and give you a little information about the book. Feel free to join in and tell me about your favorite covers too!

Since the Sookie books have been turned into a T.V show they have had many covers, but my favorite have to be the more artistic art work covers.. If you haven't seen them all check them out! I really think they are beautiful.

About this book
(from Amazon)

Still reeling from the deaths of her fairy cousin, Claudine, and many others in 2009's Dead and Gone, Sookie Stackhouse struggles with paranormal politics in her entertaining if slow-moving 10th outing. When Claudine's triplet, Claude, appears at her doorstep, Sookie reluctantly allows him to move in. The government threatens two-natures with mandatory registration, and tensions run high in the local Were pack. Then Eric's maker, a Roman named Appius Livius Ocella, arrives without warning, bringing along Alexei Romanov, whom he rescued from the Bolsheviks and turned into a vampire.



Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Meg Cabot winner!


A winner for the Meg Cabot and Demon Trappers Swag has been chosen via Random.org

ANDRA LYNN!!!

You have 48hrs to claim your prize via email.
If you don't another winner will be picked.

Thanks to all who entered! If you didn't win please keep following, more awesome giveaways coming up!











Monday, November 21, 2011

In my Mail box - 11/21/11

Welcome to In My Mail box a feature by http://www.thestorysiren.com/


Thanks too:

http://www.fictitious-delicious.blogspot.com/

Have a wonderful week and don't forget to let me know what you got in your mail box!

Friday, November 18, 2011

TGIF 11/18

A feature brought to you by http://www.greadsbooks.com/ She asks a question which we answer!


This weeks question is:
This Friday's Question:
Giving Thanks: Which books are you most thankful for receiving from other bloggers, friends, family members, or publishers?
I have had so many books this year! But the ones that stick in my mind are:

CandleWick publishing sent me these two Wendy Delsol books to read and they were freaking awesome! I loved them and I was so excited since these were the 1st books I every got from Candlewick publishing.

Silence I got from my mom because she is epic and knew I was so broke the week of the release!! There was no way I could of bought it so she surprised me.
 
 
Stolen Sun was a book where the Author contacted me!!! Yes! I was so thrilled that she picked me especially to read and review her book when there is so many bigger blogs out there.






Thursday, November 17, 2011

S.O.S - save the Ham!



Guys I need your help! Although I have been in the U.S a long time I have never done a thanksgiving dinner. We always just tend to go to Family. However this year the supermarket gave me a hickory smoked bone in shank.

You can smell my fear?!? I've never cooked a ham ever and I don't know the 1st thing about glazing a ham. Help me please I beg you lol. Any of you guys know of any great and EASY glazing tips or recipes my family would be so grateful!


Destiny Laura Deluca - winner


Congratulations to GFC - Paige
Random.org has picked you as the winner of the
Laura Deluca Destiny book prize!!

You have 48hrs to contact with your details via email or another winner will be picked!

Thank you to all who entered! please visit again as we have more awesome giveaways coming up!





Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Book Cover Wednesday 11.16

Hello!!! It's book cover Wednesday were I pick a book cover I love and give you a little info on the book... join in the fun, whats you favorite book cover?




About the book - From Goodreads

Willow knows she’s different from other girls, and not just because she loves tinkering with cars. Willow has a gift. She can look into the future and know people’s dreams and hopes, their sorrows and regrets, just by touching them. She has no idea where this power comes from. But the assassin, Alex, does. Gorgeous, mysterious Alex knows more about Willow than Willow herself. He knows that her powers link to dark and dangerous forces, and that he’s one of the few humans left who can fight them. When Alex finds himself falling in love with his sworn enemy, he discovers that nothing is as it seems, least of all good and evil. In the first book in an action-packed, romantic trilogy, L..A. Weatherly sends readers on a thrill-ride of a road trip - and depicts the human race at the brink of a future as catastrophic as it is deceptively beautiful.

They’re out for your soul . . . and they don’t have heaven in mind.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Monday, November 14, 2011

Beyond the book - Bad Santa experience

So this weekend while we where at the mall the kids noticed Santa was there. Nearly I know but try telling that to kids... plus I figured avoid the lines in December when the world looses its head.
How foolish and mistaken I was, it was the worst Santa experience of my life.. Let me give you a run down.

Before everything went seriously wrong

  • There was no line.. however the people were more about chit chat then focused on the job at hand. They kept two small children sitting there for 20minutes
  • They where loud and pushy and did not explain the photo packages
  • They made my husband and I step away from the children and out of there sight! This had never happened before and I was upset about it because it resulted in two small kids not seeing there parents and a bunch of strangers. When my 1 year old started to cry and I went towards her I was again yelled at by staff.
  • They didn't even tell my kids when they were taking the pictures, and were so rude to them.. Like really how can you be rude to toddlers??
  • When my husband tried to take pictures with our own camera the guy again yelled at him that this was not allowed (however its never been a problem before) and we were paying $30 for photo's!!
  • When I finally got to view the photo's they were horrible both my kids looked terrified and when I told them I didn't like them I had 3 men surround me "why don't you like them?" Why aren't you going to buy them!" "If you want more pictures you will have to go back in line!" I can't tell you how intimidating this was
  • I tried to tell them it was everything, that they were rude and pushy and had not people skills never mind and child skills.
The only pic we manged to take before having the camera yanked out of my hand


So in the end we left with no pictures and two very upset little children and I was upset for them. These people just ruined whats meant to be an awesome joyous Christmas experience. I told the kids we will visit Santa again (yes at another Mall!)






Saturday, November 12, 2011

IMM 11/12


In my mail box this week is on time!! Go me lol.. So this is a feature brought to you by The Story Siren were we talk about the awesome stuff we got this week via our mail boxes.


Thanks too:




Friday, November 11, 2011

Alphabeasts review and Giveaway!



From a family of Avid readers I always look for toys that are fun but with some sort of educational value that will help with development. Christmas is coming fast and my kids want everything! So mommy has been on the hunt for some great new educational fun toys and I found Alphabeasts. These cute and furry creatures have even been seen on ABC news!

The moto of this awesome new toys is "Always playing, Always Teaching". What better way is there to teach a child there ABC's and how to spell?

Product Information
  •  26 Uniquely designed beasts for all letters of the Alphabet
  •  Soft and generously polyester filled
  • Each Beast comes with a collectors tag
  • There are two sides of the beast displaying a Upper and Lower Case letter

Sophia testing out her Alphabeast

Both my kids loved this toy! I think a lot has to do with how colorful and fun they look not to mention soft. But as you can see baby Sophia won out and has been dragging him around by his horns since lol.
In my opinion this is a wonderful quality toy at a great price my son is 5 and has just started learning words, spelling, letters in Pre K, This for me was an awesome and fun way to carry on that learning at home.



The company are offering FREE shipping right now on there site (click) when you buy four or more!
They have just lowered the price to $15.99! and they also have a set of awesome books that you can buy a long with the Alphabeasts so your kids can learn about all the fun adventures there new little friend has been on!

Want to win one??

The Alphabeast company has been wonderful enough to offer one lucky reader the chance to win a cute little beast of there own!!

  • Must be a GFC follower
  • Go to the Alphabeasts website and tell me your favorite beast! (comment below)
  • Go to there Facebook page and tell them you entered this contest
Good luck!  contest ends 11/25/






*I was not paid for this review my opinions are my own and true to my personal beliefs of the product. They company is responsible for sending the winner of the giveaway there prize, I will not be held responsible for this*







Operation Christmas Child

This is the time of year my son asks for the world... every toy ad on TV "mommy can Santa bring me that" I know that its not just him but every excited little child his age. That is why I always take part in an event called Operation Christmas Child (Click here for more info)

It doesn't have to be expensive I take him to Walmart and even the dollar store and he picks out things to put in his shoe box. When we get home we decorate the box and pack it, and I explain to him that this box we filled with goodies is going to go to a child with out a lot of things. A child that really needs are help because not everybody is as lucky as we are.

Its become a yearly tradition every year on national collection week November 14- 21 we do this. Then we go drop it off with our $7 shipping fee at a drop off location.
My son always enjoys doing this he feels like hes doing something very worth while (which he is!) and I believe its a very valuable lesson to teach our children not to forget the season of giving and helping others.

Jacob and his letter of thanks from 2010


Why don't you try it with your kids this year?





Thursday, November 10, 2011

Destiny Laura Deluca Review and EPIC giveaway!!


BUY THE BOOK

Laura Deluca - BlogSpot
Tweet with Laura
Find out more on Face Book!


Gabrielle is a witch although she doesn't remember it. She blocked it out of her memories after her mother was murdered, Gabrielle blamed magick for her death.
The only problem is the evil warlock who murdered her mom is now coming to find her in order to use her power for his own dark and evil needs.
It's up to her mom's spirit to save Gabby from Richard, She comes to Darron - her daughters friend, secret crush and fellow witch for help.
Darron is more then willing to save the girl he has loved since childhood but it's no easy task and involves both teens finally facing there destiny.

My opinion:

I was so intrigued when I came across this book and was excited when the author sent me a copy I couldn't wait to read it.
We get into the story right away which I love! Gabrielle has a lot going on in her life. Her moms  death still affects her greatly and her alcoholic father is abusive toward her. They have a non-existent relationship so you really can't help but feel bad for her. When she finds out she's a witch you kind of understand her denial of the situation, its like she is pushed to the edge and doesn't know how to deal with it.

Darron is such an amazing hero I loved him he was so strong and loyal toward Gabby but at times you still see his vulnerable side. He knows his life is in danger by going up against this evil warlock but he does it for love.. I found him wise beyond his years.

Patrick was a great Jack-Ass which every teenage based book needs goodness I loved to hate him! I really found the authors terminology funny when she called Patrick and his friends "The snob mob" I LIKE IT!

My most favorite character was Flora she was such  a funny personality and really stood out. In a story with a lot of dramatic events happening we needed Flora and she was amazing with adding light to a situation. 

This book reminded me of the Sweep Series by Cate Tiernan which I really enjoyed. This was Laura Deluca's first novel and I was very impressed, I found the concept unique and the characters well developed with strong personalities. Destiny was a story that really flowed and I felt the story was well researched in the Wiccan education. I would love to read more from this author!


GIVEAWAY TIME!!


Laura has been amazing and kind enough to offer one lucky reader a chance to win  a signed copy of Her book Destiny and a box of incense!!

All you have to do is:
  •  Follow this blog GFC
  • Follow Laura either on Facebook, twitter or blog (links at the top of the page!) and let her know you entered this giveaway :)
  • Leave me a comment letting me know you did both things!
Winner will be picked by random 11/17. - Good luck guys!


Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Book Cover Wednesday #3


This is where I pick a book cover I loved so much I drooled and then tell you a little about the book. You can join in also - Just give this blog a shout out!

This was such a beautiful cover! so romantic and dreamy there is just something about angel's wings that I love. I think the sun is the back ground really makes this cover stand out I loved this book even before I read it based on the cover alone.


Description from Goodreads

Three angels – Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, the youngest and most human – are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness. They must work hard to conceal their luminous glow, superhuman powers, and, most dangerous of all, their wings, all the while avoiding all human attachments.
Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and neither of them is able to resist the attraction between them. Gabriel and Ivy do everything in their power to intervene, but the bond between Xavier and Bethany seems too strong.
The angel’s mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her?




Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Giveaway Time! - Princess Diaries & Swag

One reader will win a copy of The Princess Diaries as well as some Demon Trapper Swag!



Swag includes:

  • 2 Stickers
  • 1 Iron on patch
  • Signed art card from the author

Rules of entry

  • MUST be a GFC follower (yes I check)
Leave an extra comment for an extra entry if you follow me via twitter @mel_91284

Leave an extra comment if you tweet about this contest - must leave a link
  •  Giveaway will run until November 22nd  - Winner has 48hrs to respond via email with contact info or another winner will be picked.
*I am not responsible for items lost in the mail*