About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Friday, December 30, 2011

JR Ward Lover Enshrined



Lover Enshrined Black Dagger Brotherhood book 7.


As Primale of the Chosen, Phury has sacrificed himself for the good of his race and his fellow brother V who was meant to be the Primale. However V fell in love with Jane a human doctor leaving Phury to step up to the plate with the Chosen Cormia.
The Chosen was uncertain of her role but having fallen in love with Phury she aches for his love in return. But can he over come his secrets issues and drug addiction to do the right thing and love her back?

My Opinion

 I am in two minds about this book, I liked it but I didn't love it as much as the others. I felt like the relationship between Cormia and Phury took a back seat to his addiction until the very last second not leaving enough time for the reader to enjoy them together as a couple like other books did.

I like Phury and enjoyed getting to know him and seeing things from his point of view, and especially the rescue of his twin. It was sad he had such a negative view of himself when he was clearly a hero.
His drug addiction was a powerful element and was written very well indeed... I wasn't sure about the Wizard element  (the voice inside Phury's head) I found it repetitive although maybe that was the point?
 It was refreshing that Zsadist finally realized his brother needed help and that he wasn't the only one to suffer.
I didn't think much of Cormia in the beginning of the book I found her weak and lead by others but I happy her character developed into something much more in order to be a match with Phury. I also liked that she was befriended by Bella.

There was some points I didn't like about the book but some aspects  I loved so its definitely a mixed review: on the whole I feel it was a 3 out of 5.














Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday 12/28/11

Waiting on Wednesday a feature brought to you by Breaking the spine Where we talk about the books we can't wait to get our hands on... This week I've picked


From B&N

What makes your heart race a little faster? Just in time for Valentine's Day, it's FALLEN IN LOVE, four wholly original new stories collected in a new novel set in the Middle Ages by Lauren Kate. FALLEN IN LOVE gives fans the much-talked about but never-revealed stories of FALLEN characters as they intertwine with the epic love story of Luce and Daniel. The stories include: Love Where You Least Expect It: The Valentine of Shelby and Miles , Love Lessons: The Valentine of Roland; Burning Love: The Valentine of Arriane; and Endless Love: The Valentine of Daniel and Lucinda.




Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Christmas pics...


Santa is broke! lol




Christmas morning the kids woke at 6:30am and believe me this was not a bad time at all! LOL Fellow parents know what I am talking about. We spent the last two days in Atlantic City having a lot of fun.

We hope you guys had just as much fun with your families this holiday!


Friday, December 23, 2011

Happy Holidays




Guys! What a year its been, I've enjoyed blogging with you..its been a lot of fun.. I appreciate you all following me and leaving your comments. I have loved sharing my thoughts with you. Sorry for the slow week I as well as my two kids have been sick. But I just wanted to take the time to wish you all a wonderful holiday season and a blessed new year!!
Have a lot of fun and make beautiful memories..



Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Waiting On Wednesday 12/21/11





Waiting on Wednesday is a feature brought to you by Breaking The Spine We talk about the books we can not wait to hit our book shelves!


I came a little late to the series but now I am totally addicted and I can not wait to see whats in store for Tohr.


From Amazon

Black Dagger Brotherhood March 27, 2012
Tohrment, the Brother who had it all, but lost everything to the enemy, is destined for a second chance at love and life. But will the past and his bitterness hold him back?


Monday, December 19, 2011

Howard B Wigglebottom winner!




We have a winner! Congratulations to:

Shannon F.

I follow HBW on twitter. (shannyfoust) was picked by Random.org as our Howard B book winner!

You have 48hrs to contact me via email with your details or another winner will be picked.

Thanks to all who entered and happy holidays!



Saturday, December 17, 2011

12/17/11 IMM

In My Mail box is a weekly feature brought to you by The Story Siren



Have a Wonderful Holiday!! & don't forget to let me know what you got in you mail box this week!

Friday, December 16, 2011

Oh no, George! Chris Haughton

Buy the book!

George is a doggy that has the best intentions but can't help but get into trouble. This book is a story of George and his journey of learning right from wrong.


From a mothers point of view - I loved this book it was easy enough for my 5 year old to understand the lesson and moral of the story right away.. The 1st part of the book consists of George doing all these bad things and disappointing his owner.
The second part of the book is about George learning his lesson and changing his behaviour. I really favored the two part split - Before and After it makes it a lot easier for a young child to understand. Great Educational tool for a parent.  

Jacob's Opinion

I liked George even though he did bad things! because he was so funny and made me laugh. He learnt to be good in the end and that's whats important. I really liked the pictures in the book because they seemed to be different then all my other books. I would like to read more about George.




Thursday, December 15, 2011

Lover Awakened - J.R Ward

Zsadist, kidnapped as a baby and treated as a blood slave for many years he has anger and hate that has no bounds. After being rescued by his twin and brought to live the life of a warrior Zsadist still struggles with the scars and humiliation of his past. Which has earned him the reputation to be feared by many.

Until Bella enters his life - Bella is a aristocrat she is drawn to Zsadist and has trouble explaining why. She just knows she has to have him regardless of warning to stay away.. Bella gets taken by the warriors evil enemies the Lessers and its up to Zsadist to save her..But in turn its up to Bella to help save him from the evil that haunts his thoughts.


My Opinon:

Zsadist is a favorite of mine I think for the same reason Bella wanted to know him.. He's intriguing, forbidden and I wanted to learn more about him and his past. Which I did! The author did not disappoint me at all this story has loads of detail and past history. It answered every question I had about Zsadist, he's just an amazing character with such depth  I loved watching him transform for Bella and heal old wounds.

This book had amazing twists and turns I think  I went through every emotion reading it, I couldn't read it fast enough I just loved everything about it.  I really did cry with the graphic detail of how Zsadist suffered, J.R Ward really paints a picture and you can't help but be drawn in to there world.
Bella is amazing shes strong headed, and knows what she wants  I respected her for that. I liked that she could see past the front that Zsadist gave and was able to see the man he could and wanted to be. She never gave up on him it was truly touching as well as heart breaking working through all the issues with these characters.

I can not wait to find out what happens next for the Black Dagger Brotherhood! With the death of Wellsie and Tohr missing I need to find out NOW!!! lol. Not to mention Bella's dangerous but handsome devilish brother!

This series has me hooked!! Love it.



Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Books I read in 2011

Books I read this year that  I have to totally recommend to you guys are:


This book blew me away  I totally loved it! And if you had to read one book on my list then this would be it! - Anna Sheehann A long, Long sleep

Other Y/A books  I loved:

Matched - Ally Condie
Red glove & White cat - Holly Black
Bright young things - Anna Godbersen
Silence - Becca Fitzpatrick
Demonglass - Rachael Hawkins
Wildefire - Karsten Knight
A Beautiful Dark - Jocelyn Davies
Angel Burn - L.A Weatherley
Clockwork angel & Clockwork prince - Cassie Clare
The lost saint - Bree Despain

Most Under rated books that rocked were:


Wendy Delsol rocked my socks with these books! They were so underrated and need a lot more love because they are awesome!


Best Audio books were:






Adult books  I loved:

Immortal after dark series -  Kresley Cole


Black Dagger brotherhood series - J.R Ward


Shadow Fever - Karen Marie Moning



What were your favorites?

Saturday, December 10, 2011

Howard B Wigglebottem - Review and giveaway


Recently I came across We Do Listen Not Profit Foundation website. It's a non profit organization focused on teaching our kids valuable lessons such as  bullying, anger management, moderation, truth, peer pressure, belonging, generosity, sportsmanship and much more!



The website offers FREE online games, animated games and coloring pages and lessons. I was so impressed by the site and the fact that my 5year old really seemed to pay attention and like it. I contacted the author and he sent me a book to review.

Howard B. Wigglebottem Learns About Sportsmanship - I adored this book! The pictures were so vivid and the story was written in a way my son completely understood.
What I loved best was at the end of the book there are tips to help you to talk to your child about the lessons of the book!

I was having my own problems with my 5 year old and his having to be the winner of games and sports etc. This was a wonderful way to show him that it's OK for him not to win all the time. I honestly applaud the author and his wonderful book series. I can't wait to read more and neither can my son we are #1 fans at my house.

Hardcover copies of the Howard B. Wigglebottom books retail for $15. They can be purchased most everywhere books are sold in the U.S. and Canada. On the Foundation website, for buyers in the U.S., they are on sale for $6 each. You can purchase all ten books in the series for $50.

Want to win a book of your own?!?

Visit http://www.wedolisten.org and pick a book you would like if you won..

extra point if you:

Add Howard B on Facebook or Twitter
One winner will be picked 12/19 by random.org the winner will have 48 hours to reply via email

*All entrants must be a blog follower* US and Canada



IMM 12/10/11

In My Mail Box brought to you by The Story Siren


A review and giveaway to come on the next post!
In the mean time check out Howard here!

Thank you for checking out my IMM, what did you get in your mail box this week?


Friday, December 9, 2011

Lover Eternal - J.R Ward



Rhage must bear the curse born through his reckless behaviour he has a beast living inside of him. This beast will be there for 200 years courtesy of the Scribe virgin. To keep the Beast balanced and at bay he needs to have a lot of sex and fight a lot of fights.  If his emotions slide to far either way the beasts erupts a goodness help anybody who happens to be in his way.

Until he meets Mary, A women who is the friend of John a young Vampire going through the transition. John can not talk so Mary is his translator. She is also very sick and dying of Cancer while her body maybe weak her spirit is strong, a fighter, a Warrior in her own right.

Rhage can not help but be drawn to her and when her life becomes in danger by the Lessers. He knows he needs to defend her, but can he keep his beast at bay?



My Opinion:

OMG I am loving these books and the brothers are so freaking hot! Although each of the warriors are tough and strong they all individually have there own private issues they are working through. You can't help but be drawn into the story.
Rhage I loved he was an amazing character known as "Hollywood" for his play boy ways I never would of thought he had the hidden depths he did. He was torn he didn't want to be with all these women he had to be for the sake of those he cared about. The fear of hurting somebody he loved kept him acting the way he did.
Watching him change from playboy into a caring male devoted for a woman he loved was wonderful. The love he developed for Mary was amazing and sincere, It actually made me cry!
And although Mary was dying of cancer she was so strong and brave definitely an equal for him. She was a great female character and I think he learnt as much from her as she did from him.

J.R Ward in my eyes can do no wrong she has the perfect mix of love, lust, action and not to mention the scary disturbing enemies lol.

Winner!


Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Book cover Wednesday 12/7/11

It's Wednesday people so that means its Book cover wednesday!! This is a feature where I talk about book covers I love, feel free to let me know some of your favorite too.

While this is still on my TBR list.. Yes I know I am seriously behind! I am in love with the cover its creepy and Gothic but beautiful all at the same time, I can not wait to read this book.

About the book (description from Amazon)

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil's supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she's prone to disappearing on mysterious "errands"; she speaks many languages--not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she's about to find out.

When one of the strangers--beautiful, haunted Akiva--fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Review comments

"Author Taylor has created a variety of worlds, time frames, and creatures with such detail and craft that all are believable...Readers will look forward to the suggested sequel to this complex, exciting tale." (Booklist )

"Wow. I wish I had written this book." (Patrick Rothfuss, author of The Wise Man's Fear )

"Daughter of Smoke and Bone is that rare beast: a novel that takes the familiar and makes it appear startling and new. Taylor has embraced the mythology of angels and reworked it in an extraordinary form, so that by the end of this lyrical, haunting book, I wanted to believe in the existence of these violent, tormented beings. I can hardly wait for the next installment." (John Connolly, author of The Book of Lost Things )



Friday, December 2, 2011

IMM 12/2/11

I got an IMM and its early Booyah! LOL this is a feature brought to you by The Story Siren!



Thanks too:

Janine aka the soy lady check her out!



Thursday, December 1, 2011

Christmas is coming!



Helping mom with the tree
Don't forget the twilight ornament!


My little Santa!
Trip to Santa - one of these years I will get a good pic!




Eating chocolate before breakfast.. Always good!
Sophia with her Advent Calender

The Family Christmas Card 2011 - made on Shutterfly