About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Saturday, December 29, 2012

In My Mail Box - last of 2012

It's been a while since I've done one of these!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Thank you to NetGalley for the chance to read and review these awesome titles. I'm very excited :)

Adult read: beautiful Bastard Christina Lauren - NetGalley

Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard, #1)Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I don't understand or want to honestly, why this was classed as a Twilight type book. I read this book not hearing the comparison until after.. This book is nothing at all like twilight. No vampires, no teenagers, this is not a YA book I can't stress that enough. Beautiful Bastard is an adult story of an office romance.


Bennett Ryan has come home to work for the family media company. He has worked hard and achieved to the highest standard in every area of his career. His family constantly rave about there employee Miss Mills who he just has to work with. He doesn't understand what his family sees, having clashed the 1st day he is not a big fan of this woman who has the mouth of a shrew. But he can't deny she is something special to look at and does her job better then any other assistant he's ever had.


Chloe is not a hostile person but her boss Mr Ryan brings out the worst in her, he's a slave driver, cranky and well a dick. She has worked for the MBA internship program at Ryan Media Group for the last six years.
After a late night at work Chloe can no longer deny that fact that she's attracted to this god of a man and his wicked mouth.
The lines between them become blurred and neither one of them knows how to react to there currant situation.

The angst between these characters in the beginning was some what comical, I enjoyed watching there views of each other change and develop. The sexual chemistry was HOT! And I have to say I really liked the office dynamic.
I enjoyed the feisty attitudes and the witty sarcastic banter between Chloe and Bennett.

If there is more books to come I will read them as I really liked these characters a lot. I read this book in one sitting!! I hope more readers give this story a chance it deserves it.



View all my reviews

Friday, December 28, 2012

Blindfolded innocence - Alessandra Torre

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About: from Amazon

FIRST TIME IN PRINT UNABRIDGED EDITION
"I'm not sure what you have been told about me, but I'm not nearly as bad as they make me out to be." His deliciously deep voice carried a little bit of ego.

I'm sure you are exactly as bad as they make you out to be....

Brad De Luca is used to getting whatever, and whomever, he wants. The premier divorce attorney in town, he is a forty-year-old playboy who's bedded half the city-including his own clients. And when the newest intern at his firm poses a challenge, his seductive prowess goes into overdrive.

Pre-law student Julia Campbell is fresh off a failed engagement and happy with her new independence. Even if she weren't warned away from Brad at every turn, she'd know he was bad news. The last thing she needs is an older man who could destroy her job prospects, not to mention her innocence. But before she knows it, the incorrigible charmer has her under his spell. His deviant tastes plunge her deep into a forbidden world of sexual exploration...but her heart may not survive the fall.

Contains Graphic Content


My opinion:

First of all do not pick up this book thinking this is another Christian Grey. Brad is no Christian Grey he doesn't needed to be fixed and as far as I can tell from this story he has no demons. He's a man who knows what he wants and as a hot shot lawyer it normally means he gets what he wants. There is no apology for his life style or kinky preferences. This book is a shocking and riveting read that I couldn't of put down even if I wanted too, I can see why Julia was attracted to this man he's an enigma, a power source you can't help be drawn too.

He comes across as a pig at times but he's an honest pig which I liked what you see is what you got. Why should he offer apologies just because his needs are not seen as the social norm? This is no Betty Crocker romance it's gritty and dirty and while Julia and Brad seem so different in certain ways I found them compatible.
Julia seemed to want more from her sexual life which always fell short. Brad opened her up to experiences she ever thought were possible for her.

What I didn't expect was the vulnerability we seen within him later in the story. He viewed Julia differently, she wasn't just another girl. He needed her in his life maybe not in the conventional way but it was more then what he thought himself capable of.... Maybe it's the romantic in me but I hold onto the hope she becomes all he needs...I need more of this couple it can't end like this!!

It was $2.50 well spent for my new kindle.

Want to buy it on paperback?

Product Details

Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: Harlequin HQN; Original edition (June 18, 2013)


Friday, December 21, 2012

NetGalley read: Highlander most wanted -Maya Banks

ARC from NetGalley thanks to Random House
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About (from Goodreads)

In Highlander Most Wanted, a reclusive woman content to live in the shadows shows a Highland warrior the true meaning of love.

Genevieve McInnes is locked behind the fortified walls of McHugh Keep, captive of a cruel laird who takes great pleasure in ruining her for any other man. Yet when Bowen Montgomery storms the gates on a mission of clan warfare, Genevieve finds that her spirit is bent but not broken. Still, her path toward freedom remains uncertain. Unable to bear the shame of returning to a family that believes her dead or to abandon others at the keep to an imposing new laird, Genevieve opts for the peaceful life of an abbess. But Bowen’s rugged sensuality stirs something deep inside her that longs to be awakened by his patient, gentle caress—something warm, wicked, and tempting.

Bowen seizes his enemy’s keep, unprepared for the brooding and reclusive woman who captures his heart. He’s enchanted by her fierce determination, her unusual beauty, and her quiet, unfailing strength. But wooing her will take more than a seasoned seducer’s skill. For loving Genevieve, he discovers, means giving her back the freedom that was stolen from her—even if it means losing her forever.


My Opinion:

Maya Banks has done it again with Book #2 in the Montgomery and Armstrong series! I am just enthralled with these warrior brothers. They are tough and skilled on the battle field but loyal sweet and caring to there hearts desires. This book picks up where 'Never seduce a Scott' left off
This story was about Genevieve and her torturous year at the hands of Ian McHugh and being an outcast of the McHugh clan.

I'm in awe of Ms Banks and her writing about this difficult subject. Dealing with rape, bullying, abuse it was a fine line which was done beautifully. It brought out so much emotion in me and although Genevieve looked to Bowen to help her in her quest for freedom, we never doubt how strong of a person she is she was beyond inspiring in my eyes.

Bowen was an amazing male lead character and a sincere soul. In his time Many a man would of looked at Genevieve and her situation in a different way. But he took care of her, protected her and made a promise to show her happiness. He fought for what he loved even if it was a hard path to take.

I enjoyed catching up with the older characters from book one again, as well as learning more about the newer characters introduced. I am excited to see who she writes about in the next book this series is a WINNER for me.

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Book Samples!

Thought I'd share this with you guys!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Check out free book offers and book samples here: http://www.harlequin.com/

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Candlewick Ebooks!

Exciting news Candlewick publishing is now on the Apple IBook store!

Candlewick titles available on the iBookstore include:

Best-sellers and award-winners such as:
From Kate DiCamillo:
Because of Winn-Dixie
The Magician’s Elephant
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
The Tale of Despereaux
The Tiger Rising
From Patrick Ness:
The Chaos Walking trilogy (The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer, and Monsters of Men)
A Monster Calls
Wildly popular series like:
The Judy Moody and Stink books by Megan McDonald, illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds
Liz Kessler’s Emily Windsnap series
Select picture books launched for the first time today on the iBookstore – some with integrated audio read by the authors, including:
Squeak, Rumble, Whomp! Whomp! Whomp! by Wynton Marsalis, illustrated by Paul Rogers
Charley’s First Night by Amy Hest, illustrated by Helen Oxenbury
Starting today, readers also have the ability to pre-order select books, including Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis

And more!

Monday, December 17, 2012

Karen Marie Moning - Iced

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About (From Goodreads)

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Karen Marie Moning comes the first book in her hotly anticipated new urban paranormal trilogy, set in the world of her blockbuster Fever series.

The year is 1 AWC—After the Wall Crash. The Fae are free and hunting us. It’s a war zone out there, and no two days are alike. I’m Dani O’Malley, the chaos-filled streets of Dublin are my home, and there’s no place I’d rather be.

Dani “Mega” O’Malley plays by her own set of rules—and in a world overrun by Dark Fae, her biggest rule is: Do what it takes to survive. Possessing rare talents and the all-powerful Sword of Light, Dani is more than equipped for the task. In fact, she’s one of the rare humans who can defend themselves against the Unseelie. But now, amid the pandemonium, her greatest gifts have turned into serious liabilities.

Dani’s ex–best friend, MacKayla Lane, wants her dead, the terrifying Unseelie princes have put a price on her head, and Inspector Jayne, the head of the police force, is after her sword and will stop at nothing to get it. What’s more, people are being mysteriously frozen to death all over the city, encased on the spot in sub-zero, icy tableaux.

When Dublin’s most seductive nightclub gets blanketed in hoarfrost, Dani finds herself at the mercy of Ryodan, the club’s ruthless, immortal owner. He needs her quick wit and exceptional skill to figure out what’s freezing Fae and humans dead in their tracks—and Ryodan will do anything to ensure her compliance.

Dodging bullets, fangs, and fists, Dani must strike treacherous bargains and make desperate alliances to save her beloved Dublin—before everything and everyone in it gets iced.

My Opinion:

I have been waiting for what feels like forever for this book. I am a big fan of the Fever series and was not ready to let go of these characters yet.

I've heard a lot of mixed reviews about this book due to the main characters age. But if there is one thing Karen Marie Moning is great at is walking a line and doing it well. Her writing is first class as well as the world she creates.

I don't want to do a review which is full of spoilers this is just one book you have to read and get to know for yourself.

I have to admit Dani was not a favorite of mine in the other books. I was surprised at how much I had grown to love her by the end of Iced, she's hot headed, loud mouthed and her actions often get her into trouble. Her humor is outstanding! The world is over as we know it, monsters are roaming the streets and yet Dani can make you laugh out loud.

She has a special and if not complicated relationship which each of the men in her life.. Dancer, Ryodan and Christian.

I enjoyed each of these characters in there own way and I can't wait to learn more about them as well as the rest of the men in Chester's.

While Dani is only 14 and has grown men around her we need to remember she's never been allowed to be a child, she's always been in an adult world where age doesn't really play a factor, and in UK the age of sexual consent is actually 16. Furthermore all these men are constantly reminded of her age through out the story.

I thought the writing, the plot and the story was paced incredibly well it was so dynamic I could actually picture everything in my mind.

I was left wanting more... I need to know more which I think was the intent! I am in awe of Ms Moning, I will be the first to admit I picked up this book desperate for tid bits of Mac and Barron's and ended up getting a lot more!

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Christmas reading: Katie Lane

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Hunk for the holidays
Forever
Grand Central publishing
NetGalley


Cassie McPherson works for her father's construction company. She really wants to be out in the field but since her fathers bypass surgery she's keen not to upset him. She works long hours so to keep her family from pestering her about dating she hires male escorts.

Her friend and assistant Amy puts her in heels too high and a dress to short for the annual Christmas party. When James shows up she mistakes him for the male escort, and is to busy firing off instructions for him to follow she doesnt realize hes not. James is actually the McPhersons' competitor in the construction business.
But James finds himself so enthralled with this wild cat of a woman he becomes hesitant to tell her the truth.

I loved this quirky story it was rather straight forward reading and you knew it's going to be a happy ending from page 1, but it didn't make it any less enjoyable. The plot moved at the perfect pace.
Although the story was mainly about Cassie I had great pleasure in reading about the meddling great aunt who in old age had nothing better to do then match make for her nieces and nephews. What a dynamic character I found her to be she had humor in the bucket loads!

Even though the Mcpherson's seemed a crazy and hectic bunch you can tell they were loyal to the end. Each character was a special personality that made me keep reading, especially Rory and Amy.
I hope the author expands on some of these characters so we can learn more about them.
Great holiday reading!

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Want to win a ARC?

by Shiloh Walker

From the national bestselling author of The Departed comes an all new novel of danger, intrigue, and a love stronger than death...

AN ETERNAL DESIRE


With his strong psychic ability, FBI Agent Joss Crawford longs for the woman he loved in a past life. But after years of searching, a new case is drawing him into the last place he'd ever want to find her: an underground slave ring. Going undercover to infiltrate the network, he meets Drucella Chapman--the mastermind's fiancee. Joss has every reason to believe she's evil. So why is he irresistibly drawn to her?

A DANGEROUS GAME


Drucella has made it her personal mission to bring the slave ring down. But the sadistic ring leader is even more careful than he is cruel. In order to gain information, Dru has had to get close to the very man she wishes to kill, psychically reading his memories bit by bit. she'd do anything to finish the job, but agreeing to marry him may have been a step too far--even for her.

A FATEFUL ENCOUNTER


Though Joss and Dru are both undercover, nothing can disguise the sense of deja vu they experience when they meet. Neither can afford to be distracted from the mission at hand, but perhaps their reunion is exactly what this mission needs...

Head over to Shiloh Walker website and enter!

http://www.shilohwalker.com/

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Gift giving book idea

Wondering what books to give the little ones this Christmas?

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I have been a fan of the Howard B books for a while and I love this story especially. Our friend Howard has a problem with sharing, but it's Christmas!
This book takes us on a Journey of learning right from wrong in a wonderfully cute and understandable way.
The pictures are just beautiful and to compliment the books there is a Howard B website with coloring and topic pages to help us as parents enforce each lesson learnt in a fun way. Check them out here: http://wedolisten.org/




Monday, December 10, 2012

Shadow's Claim - Kresley Cole


Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About (from the book)

#1 New York Times bestseller Kresley Cole introduces The Dacians: Realm of Blood and Mist, a new paranormal series following the royal bloodline of Dacia, a vampire kingdom hidden within the Lore of the Immortals After Dark.
Shadow’s Claim features Prince Trehan, a ruthless master assassin who will do anything to possess Bettina, his beautiful sorceress mate, even compete for her hand in a blood-sport tournament— to the death.

HE WON’T BE DENIED

Trehan Daciano, known as the Prince of Shadows, has spent his life serving his people—striking in the night, quietly executing any threat to their realm. The coldly disciplined swordsman has never desired anything for himself—until he beholds Bettina, the sheltered ward of two of the Lore’s most fearsome villains.

SHE’S BOUND TO ANOTHER

Desperate to earn her guardians’ approval after a life-shattering mistake, young Bettina has no choice but to marry whichever suitor prevails—even though she’s lost her heart to another. Yet one lethal competitor, a mysterious cloaked swordsman, invades her dreams, tempting her with forbidden pleasure.

A BATTLE FOR HER BODY AND SOUL

Even if Trehan can survive the punishing contests to claim her as his wife, the true battle for Bettina’s heart is yet to come. And unleashing a millennium’s worth of savage need will either frighten his Bride away—or stoke Bettina’s own desires to a fever pitch. .

My Opinion:

This is one of my most favorite series. I've been invested in the world Kresley Cole has created for some time. Action packed and vivid you can't help but love these characters and Shadows Claim did not disappoint.

Trehan is an older Vampire who has lived for his kingdom for as long as he can remember. He's on a mission to find a tracker who broke a law, that last thing he expects to find is a 20 something sorceress who makes his heart beat again!

Bettina although may appear weak and dependent on others is actually far from it. She's loyal even when it lands her in trouble and fights for what she wants. She is the complete opposite to Trehan but compliments him well. She is able to teach this much older Vampire things and view the world differently, she gives him meaning.

I enjoyed the plot and getting to learn about new characters in he Lore as well as catch up with some old friends - Lothaire, Elizabeth, Sabine and many more. This is just one series that has huge potential and keeps getting better and better!

Kudos Ms Cole A+ as ever I really can't fault.... Sabine's sister needs her own story ASAP!! After being kidnapped by her life enemy I hope her book is coming next.. I simply can't wait!

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Free Ebook Alert!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

“Her first thought: “Who are you?”

It’s the morning after her cousin’s bachelorette party in Vegas and Megan Scott wakes up with the mother of all hangovers. Even worse, she’s in a stranger’s penthouse having woken up with something else as well - a funny, arrogant, sexy…husband!

Up until now, finding even a boyfriend had seemed impossible - been there, got the broken heart, sworn off men for good. Then a few martinis with Carter…no, Conner Reed and she’s gone from first meet to marriage in one night!

Megan wants a lawyer. But Connor’s shocking bombshell?

“I don’t want a divorce”

Excerpt From: Mira Lyn Kelly. “Waking Up Married.” Harlequin, 2012. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Check out this book on the iBookstore

I did read this book and found it a witty, fast and enjoyable. The characters were fun and colorful but dealing with difficult relationship issues from there past. Throw Vegas, Chocolate Martini's and a chapel into the mix and it makes for some great reading! I read it in one sitting and was rooting for this shot gun marriage from page 1.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Christmas is coming!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Christmas is coming... The tree is decorated and the kids enjoyed there trip to see Santa. As for Santa he's working his way down there never ending list of gifts.

Every Christmas on top of what I get my kids from there list I always buy a few books. My mom done it for me and now I'm doing it for my kids.. I feel it's an awesome tradition.

So I'm going to be on the look out for some great books and share them with you as gift ideas for your little ones. A favorite publisher of mine for children's stories is CandleWick publishing so be sure to check them out

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Candlewick Press - Dallas Clayton Make magic! Do good!





I wrote this book to remind you that you’re magic.
You reading this.
You right now.
You here and you there.
You’re something special,
and I hope
that someday
you get a chance
to make your own book
or paint your own picture
or build your own rocket ship
or find you own kind of happiness
and that you get a chance
to share it with the rest of us
just like I got this chance
to share my happiness
with you.




  • Publisher: Candlewick Press
  • Publication date: 11/13/2012
  • Pages: 112
  • Age range: 7 - 10 Years
  • Type: children's book / poetry 


From the author of "An Awesome book" comes "Make magic! Do good! - Dallas Clayton.

This book is a wonderful collection of poetry that's free flowing and catchy. These poems hold some of the most wonderful wisdom and life lessons. My son really enjoyed listening and reading as well as looking at beautiful and vibrant pictures.
As a parent I got a kick out of being able to ask him questions about what he thought each poem meant.
There really is lessons to be learnt on each page!
I can see how this book could also be inspirational to an adult too.

This book would make a wonderful gift for Christmas... Find more out about the book here:

Buy it here!

Monday, November 12, 2012

Destiny Unveiled - Laura Deluca

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Description: From the book-

Gabriella and Darron thought their magickal battle was over when they defeated the evil warlock, Richard. When her Aunt Donna seeks Gabriella's help in rescuing her catatonic daughter from the Dark Coven, Gabriella discovers that her cousin holds a power within her that would be catastrophic in the hands of the evil witches. Gabriella's coven sets out on a journey that may be their last. Along the way, they meet new allies, face devastating treachery, and battle not only the Dark Coven, but the darkness within themselves. When Gabriella finally comes face to face with the cousin she never knew existed, her true destiny is unveiled, and the fate of the mortal world is in her hands.

My Opinion

I first met Gabriella in book 1, Destiny which I really enjoyed she had just found out she was a witch and everything that entailed. I was excited to catch up with her once again to see where her path was leading.
I always assume I will never like a 2nd book as much as the first but this wasn't the case I once again fell in love with these dynamic and colorful characters. Gabriella and Darron find themselves fighting the evil of the world once again, going against a a dark coven to rescue her cousin ( a cousin she didn't know she had) but little does she know there is a much bigger picture and she is the centre of it.

I liked meeting the new characters as well as the old, I enjoyed getting to know Darron a little better and hearing more of his inner struggle. He is a great male partner for Gabby, I also seen a lot of growth in Gabby herself she has had a tough time of it but seems to have grown and developed into a mature young lady who not only opens herself to family changes but gives chances to those deserving.
My most favorite character who makes this story is Flora! What an epic best friend she is we all need a friend like her in our life she is the comical intervention this story needed.

Laura Deluca has a winner on her hands I do hope to meet these characters again, this is a fast paced plot that had me entertained from page one. There is twists turns, evil, good, sorrow and laugher.. It has it all!
If you loved "The Sweep Series" you'll want to try these books, Laura Deluca is a quality author and story teller.


Check Laura out:

www.twitter.com/gabbylowe

Saturday, November 3, 2012

Never seduce a Scot - Maya Banks

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

The Montgomerys and Armstrongs have hated each other for decades but when the king forces the laird of the Montgomery clan to marry the daughter of the Armstrong clan nobody is happy.

Graeme never thought he would have to marry the daughter of his enemy but he was left little choice disobeying the order meant going against the king and putting his clan in danger. He'd heard so many things about Eveline Armstrong that she's daft, mute, not able to carry out her duties as wife.. What could he do with a woman like that? He would kiss goodbye to children of his own that's for sure. He's angry until the day he meets his wife to be and he can't help but be drawn to her.

Eveline has a secret she will do anything to keep safe and she will marry a Montgomery to do it. She has so many things to over come, forced into a marriage the Armstrong clan have made no secret they hate her. But she will make her dreams come true if its the last thing she does.

Eveline is such a strong wonderfully brave character I cheered her on so many times through out the book. She had my emotions in such turmoil I even cried at her mistreatment! I loved the way she could make a mighty warrior take notice of her care for her and make herself known, she's a fighter that's for sure.

Even though Graeme is a laird and warrior he is fair and caring, compassionate even and I loved seeing that side of him with Eveline. There Chemistry was hot, romantic and sweet I loved our Scottish highlanders. I even enjoyed getting to know the other members of the clan.
This story has a little of everything, plots, twists and turns as well as romance I was very impressed with the story and the authors writing. Maya Banks remains a favorite of mine.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Sandy hit!

Hello guys, I have been M.I.A for the past few days. I'm late with book reviews and everything else. Please know I am sorry for the delay. As you know Sandy made its impact on the east coast.

I've been without power for a total of 3 days so far! And still counting they say it could be up to 10. With two small children its been a nightmare, my two year old is terrified of the dark and my kindergartener misses his friends, his games, his favorite cartoons.

Yesterday was hard for them they wanted to go trick and treating so bad. Of course they could not... What makes me angry was when I asked the question was Halloween cancelled a lady said
"people have lost there homes why is Halloween even important to you"

In reply I will say: I am fully aware of the damage of Sandy and understand. I have no power, no gas, no phone and my food was ruined! After this depressing time I wanted to know firstly if it was safe for my children as a mother that's most important and second if it was being rescheduled. There was no way I was going to take away the only joy my kids where looking forward to! We as adults find it hard.. Think how it is for kids who don't understand.

Anyways I hope to be back soon.. Fingers crossed.

Monday, October 29, 2012

Into the Dark- Stacy Green

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Emilie is a bank manager of the local bank when it's robbed and everybody inside is held hostage. If that isn't bad enough she realizes its not the money the robber is interested in but her. Her fate rests in the hands of negotiator Nathan to get Emilie out safe and away from a crazed stalker.

I enjoyed this read very much, it's realistic feel had me drawn into the story from the 1st page. You can tell when an author does a lot of research into a topic and this was the case with 'into the dark' the crime aspects, language, art and history in put was amazing.

Emilie is a fighter she's over come a lot of obstacles in life and so when she becomes the object of obsession for a killer she knows she has got to do everything possible to take control and get her life back. A great strong female character you can't help but root for,

Nathan I loved right away a good guy fighting the good fight while trying to over come his own issues. Emilie and Nathan couldn't of been any more perfect for each other there chemistry was dynamic.

I was so impressed the author covered all the bases - crime and suspense that kept you guessing until the very end. Twists and turns on every page - family troubles, hateful co workers, plots lies and schemes as well as romance.... The romantic in me only wished there was a little more romance but hey I guess the characters where too busy trying to catch the bad guy lol, A little something for everybody!

I really don't want to say to much and spoil the plot! You'll have to guess for yourself who Emilie can trust.

Find more out about Stacy Green - http://stacygreenauthor.com/light-and-dark-the-novel/

Twitter: twitter.com/stacygreen26

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Bonds of trust - Lynda Aicher

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos


Bonds of trust - Lynda Aicher
Carina press
This ebook is on Amazon right now for $2!! Go go buy it now it will be money well spent!!

Cali is at a cross roads in her life she's just ended her 20 plus year marriage to a man who she was sexually incompatible with. With grown kids is it even possible she can go after what she wants, her deepest fantasies?l

Jake is the owner of the most exclusive Dom/Sub club on the scene right now. Only people who are screened and interviewed can be members. After 5 years at The Den he's ready to move on, never staying in one place to long nobody has even made him want to stay until Cali graces his office... With the body of a woman half her age and all that vulnerability in her eyes he can't help but be intrigued by her.

I loved this story and I got so much more out of it then I thought I ever would. This isn't just about a midlife crisis or sex. This is about a woman finally having the courage to go after what she wants. I was totally impressed with the authors writing when it came to her characters. Cali is at the age where it could be considered that she's a cougar but it wasn't portrayed that way. She was sexy but vulnerable, classy and devoted but able to dream I liked her a lot.

Jake seen in Cali something that he hadn't seen in anybody else. Even though he was the Dom they both held power in the relationship. I learnt a lot.. sometimes the sub is seen as weak, in this relationship it wasn't the case. They both needed something in the roles they played. Jake needed Cali as much as she needed him..Running from his past and fears of his own it was Cali that made him finally stop and think of a future.

There chemistry was dynamite and sensual and at times tender and romantic, I loved seeing both sides of the coin and really enjoyed this read it was a fast page turner and I can't wait for book 2 in the series.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Hidden - P.C Cast

Hidden Pictures, Images and Photos

About: (on the book)

At last, Zoey has what she wanted: the truth is out. Neferet’s evil has been exposed, and the High Council is no longer on her side – but she’s far from done wreaking havoc in the vampyre world. First, a mysterious fire ravages the stables. Then, Neferet makes a devastating move that will test them all. With the tension at a breaking point and friendships on the line, can the nerd herd come together to stop the spread of Darkness before it’s too late?

My Opinion:

Where to start with this book! Ok so like everybody else I think I'm ready for closure on this series. I've been in it for the long haul.. Some things I've loved while other things not so much, some parts of this series have just felt like fillers.. I needed development!

Finally Neferet has been outted as the evil she is...Raging Neferet refuses to vanish into the darkness and so plots and schemes like only she can. Just when you think Zoey can breathe she has to once again try and save the day.

What I did like about this book was it finally felt to me like the story was moving forward and going places, not just covering old ground (fight, make up, love triangle drama)
It reminded me of what I enjoyed about the H.O.N series to begin with.

It's a refreshing change to hear about the older adult characters in the book. Lenobia has always been a favorite of mine and I was happy to see her play a bigger role in this book. I was intrigued by the Travis- Martin plot. If you haven't read Lenobia's novella it might be a good idea so you have more of an insight into her and her past.

I very much enjoyed the writing style of this series we get to hear view points of multiple characters which helps us get to know them all a little better.

I always enjoy audio books read by Caitlin Davies shes very dynamic and grips your attention from the start. A wonderful, wonderful talent that brings each character to life.



Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Sara Fawkes - Anything he wants

anything he wants Pictures, Images and Photos

Pleased to say this 5 part ebook is finally all written into one book!

Find more about the author and book here:

http://us.macmillan.com/anythinghewants/SaraFawkes

Follow author on twitter: twitter.com/SaraFawkes

Boy oh boy this story is all action from the start with hardly a pause for breathe.
Jeremiah is a billionaire CEO to a company he never wanted to be apart of. He's used to steam rolling his way in every aspect of his life which is exactly what he does when meeting Lucy in the company elevator.

Lucy was meant to be a lawyer but having to drop out of school after her parents died and losing her family home she's left to make ends meat at a temp job she hates entering data. The only positive is the attractive male she sees every morning on the elevator.

She's offered a job she can't turn down as the personal assistant of Jeremiah Hamilton and I don't think anybody could of prepared her for that job role... Death threats, crazy ex loves, dysfunctional family members. There really is twist and turns on every page!

I enjoyed the chemistry between Jeremiah and Lucy it was intense and it left me wanting so much more for them.
My favorite character was Lucas (the older brother) he was the bad boy with a heart you couldn't help but like.
These characters have a lot of potential and the story plot was enjoyable. I really do hope there is more I need more! There is just too Many lose ends that still need closing the last page had me screaming nooooooo!

Monday, October 8, 2012

Reflected in you (A crossfire novel) Sylvia Day

Reflected in You

Book Description

THE SENSUAL SAGA OF EVA AND GIDEON CONTINUES in the hotly anticipated follow-up to BARED TO YOU...the New York Times bestselling novel of "EROTIC ROMANCE THAT SHOULD NOT BE MISSED."--Romance Novel News

Gideon Cross. As beautiful and flawless on the outside as he was damaged and tormented on the inside. He was a bright, scorching flame that singed me with the darkest of pleasures. I couldn't stay away. I didn't want to. He was my addiction... my every desire... mine.

My past was as violent as his, and I was just as broken. We'd never work. It was too hard, too painful... except when it was perfect. Those moments when the driving hunger and desperate love were the most exquisite insanity.

We were bound by our need. And our passion would take us beyond our limits to the sweetest, sharpest edge of obsession...

My Opinion:

Not only has Gideon Cross became Eva's obsession but mine as well. I stayed up until 12 at night the night before the ebook release to get my copy and didn't sleep! Finished by morning I've already read this story twice.

(dreamy sigh) I am the first to admit I saw Bared to you as a 50 shades of Grey band aid... It has now become so much more then that.

The story between the characters is so much more, deeper, powerful you can't help but be drawn into there world and lives. I have so much love for these dysfunctional characters who are trying to make it in the world of the high and powerful.

My heart breaks for Eva and Gideon the odds are staked against them, they have to many demons in there history to over come.. It's a wild journey that gave me whip lash. I wished I could put them in a bubble so the outside world could leave them alone! Especially Corrine!

Sometimes Gideon with all his power, money and good intentions works in a way that he knows what he's doing but it takes a while to become clear leaving Eva in the dark and on an emotional roller coaster, I really felt for her.

I don't want to put any spoilers in this review because there are so many twist and turns the reader just has to experience for themselves. This is an awesome second book and you'll love it as much as book 1, I know I did!

It has haters, family run ins, ex partners, romance and erotic moments, lies and drama... Nothing is as it seems.

Oh and my love for Cary holds no bounds :)

Sunday, October 7, 2012

The Dark Garden- Eden Bradley

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About the book: (description from the book)

If you loved Fifty Shades of Grey . . . get ready to enter The Dark Garden.

A deliciously potent tale of one woman’s quest for self-discovery.

Rowan Cassidy likes to be in charge—especially in her personal life. As a mistress at Club Privé, the most exclusive bondage/S & M club on the West Coast, Rowan can live out her dominant fantasies safely, and with complete control—until the night Christian Thorne walks in. Self-confident and sophisticated, he’s a natural dominant if Rowan’s ever seen one. Yet she can’t stop thinking about him and imagining his touch.

Christian has returned home, hoping to break free from his dissatisfaction and malaise—and discovers the cure in Rowan. He’s dying to get his skilled hands on her and watch her surrender, to unlock the mystery of her that captivates him. Determined to be her master, he makes Rowan a daring proposition: give herself over to him for thirty days.

Rowan finds Christian’s offer terrifying—and impossible to resist. But abandoning herself to Christian’s power might be more than she can handle. . Or it might be the realization of her true nature and the dark garden within her. There will be only one way to find out. And once the game has begun, there’s no turning back.

My Opinion:

When books are compared to each other I tend to be wary. Being compared to 50 Shades of Grey is a big statement since those books are very popular indeed.

I was pleasantly surprised by The Dark Garden! It was an enjoyable read that I read in one sitting, it was a page turner for me!

Rowan seems on the surface an independent woman who knows what she wants and how to get it. She's a Dom at the S&M club she goes to and everybody knows her.

Until she meets Christen he's Intrigued by Rowan right away and wants to get to know her. He knows what he's been told about her that she's a Dom, but he can't help but feel she has a submissive nature and wants to help her find her true self.

I loved the relationship between these characters the need they have for one another is so strong but they can't explain the whys of it. They both have issues and past experiences that they need to work through and they look to each other to help them over come them.

I truly loved April (Rowan's friend) she was my favorite! A natural submissive but a genuine heart and a strong person who goes for what she wants and puts all of herself on the line.
(what she wants is the clubs biggest Dom and playboy Decker) She is such a powerful character.

The author did a wonderful job explaining to the reader that a submissive nature doesn't always equal weak, And that when it comes to the S&M lifestyle and interactions it's not just all about sex but at times a deeper psychology.

I felt like I learnt something after reading this story and truly enjoyed the story and characters.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

Because its in my blood- Gabrielle Zevin Audio book


It felt like I've waited forever for book 2! I really enjoyed 'All these things I've done' so I was excited to catch up with Anya again.

We catch up with Anya when she's getting out of Liberty. After serving her time she now knows there is no going back, she has to change and toughen herself to protect herself and her siblings.

There is a growth and maturity development with Anya which wasn't there before and I enjoyed her no nonsense attitude.
She finds herself caught up in a political battle she never intended. It doesn't look good for Wins father if his sons girlfriend is a known criminal.

The odds are stacked against Anya and unfairly so - her boyfriend has a new love, she's thrown back in the system, and there are death threats against her family.. she doesn't know exactly what to do in order to resolve these issues.

All she wants is to go back to school but instead finds herself in Mexico learning more about the family trade. I loved the additional Mexican characters and the fact Zevin wasn't afraid with pressing on issues that could be difficult to write about.

I really enjoy the world Zevin has created its different and one of a kind - chocolate and coffee is a crime that mobsters deal in!! terms like omg and Lol are old school and if your born in the 1980's your old as dirt!!!!

If you want fast paced action this is probably not for you. There is action and twists and turns but it's a slow gratification.

Ilyana Kadushin is a wonderful story teller. Her voice honestly keeps me enthralled in the story she's sharing.. She is my all time favorite, you won't be disappointed!
I like book 2 as much as I enjoyed book 1 which is an awesome fate for me! Normally never happens, I can't wait for the next book.

Thursday, September 27, 2012

Beyond the book!

Happenings in photo's

We went to the Ball Park and met Slider and Sparkee

 
 
 
And
My little baby girl turned two!
 
 
 




ARC - Love Unscripted, Tina Reber


Release Date - January 2013 paperback- Atria Books

Ryan is the biggest new thing in Hollywood he's the heart throb face of Charlies in the movie adaptation of best selling books Seaside. (I couldn't help but think of Robert Pattinson)
Taryn Mitchell is the owner of a local pub in her small town after suffering a broken heart from her cheating ex she's happy her life is finally back to normal and in some what of a routine even if her heart is numb.
Everybody around her is hyped and excited about movie stars being in town.. She doesn't see what the big deal is about.

Until Ryan runs in her pub doors asking for protection from the fans who are trying to mob him outside. He isn't handling the spot light too well and Taryn finds herself wanting to help Ryan as well as getting to know him as a man and not the Hollywood star he's known to be.

I loved the idea of this story it gives you a window into what it maybe like as a celebrity and while we always think of the benefits of stardom we rarely remember the down side.
Stalkers, paparazzi, lies... Who's real and who's fake? It's hard to maintain a level of privacy and protection for yourself.

I enjoyed getting to know the characters I wanted a happy ending for Ryan and Taryn after all they over come so much in this book. The author really did an awesome job when it came to developing character personalities - Marie, Tammy even Fran and Suzanne they all individually added something. I laughed, I cried and couldn't stop turning those pages!

This book is pretty lengthy I think it could of been a little shorter without taking anything away but I enjoyed the read non the less.

I can not wait for book 2!

Friday, September 7, 2012

Beyond the book -Back to School




The summer went by so fast! My son Jacob is now in Kindergarten where has the time gone! He was so excited since he and his best friend have been placed in the same class...bless there teacher. Now he is in school full days and my daughter doesn't know what to do with out her brother around. I guess it will take time - until then she's enjoying harassing mommy lol.

Where there's a Will - Karen Kelley



Where there's a will - NetGalley book

My Opinion;

Haley is a good girl that's what everybody in her life wants her to be.. Frumpy hidden behind big clothes and bigger glasses. Deep down she has the urge to Change her life but her self esteem is non existent so she takes to keeping her deepest fantasies in a diary...
After being stood up for what feels like the millionth time she prayers for a miracle.

Enter Ryder - half angel half male... 100% hot and steamy cowboy.. It's his job to make Haley see what a beautiful sensual young woman she actually is.

I have to admit I was skeptical about the plot.. Praying for a hot male and one drops on her door step and then within 10minutes she's naked... Really ?!?

But as the story continued I grew fond of the characters, I wanted Haley to believe she was beautiful it truly bothered me when her family would have her doubt herself no matter how unintentional it was.

I enjoyed the sensual comedy that took place between Ryder and Haley the author was awesome when it came to those little quirky comments between the two. Although Ryder's lessons seemed extreme he always had her best interests at heart... And I loved watching there emotions for each other grow. Who couldn't love Ryder he truly was an angel with a little naughty side.

This is a fast enjoyable read its sexy and cute with bouts of humor great chick lit.

Tuesday, September 4, 2012

ARC Risking it all -Jennifer Schmidt

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
From the book:

COMING SOON -- September 2012

Kennedy Monroe barely got her foot in her college dorm her freshman year before she was being warned about a certain dark-haired, blue-eyed self-proclaimed Casanova. There were only so many tales of heartache - and incredibly steamy nights - she could listen to before she started to believe them. But after a run in with the most sought after college womanizer, her ill feelings toward him change and soon a friendship forms that surprises everyone. Twelve years later Kennedy and Memphis Adams are closer than ever - and only friends despite what those around them think, including Kennedy's boyfriend Ian Brooks. When Kennedy accepts an invitation to vacation in Alaska from Memphis, her relationship with Brooks is tested as is her restraint when it comes to the desire she has always had for her best friend. Alone with Memphis in Alaska, Kennedy finds it increasingly harder to ignore temptation and wants nothing more than to give into her secret desires with the one man that has always been off limits. But is one night of passion worth the possible risk of losing their friendship over? Feeling torn between doing the right thing and doing what she wants, Kennedy fears losing her best friend. She knows she needs to sort out her feelings for the two men in her life and deal with the consequences of her actions, but how can she when everything seems to be falling apart so fast? And how much can Memphis take before he's pushed too far and can no longer take Kennedy's inability to make a decision about what and who she wants? Kennedy discovers the harsh reality of how one night can change everything and leave her risking it all.

My Opinion

Kennedy met Memphis at university 12 years ago.. He had a rep as the school Romeo and she vowed never to be a notch on his bed post. Even though she secretly harbored a crush for him all these years she never crossed the line, he was her best friend, he was still there when everybody else walked away she couldn't risk the most important friendship in her life.. Until a trip to Alaska changes all her pre existing notions.
Reeling after yet another let down from her boyfriend of two years Kennedy lets her emotions run high.

This story is the classic best friend - boyfriend should we shouldn't we tale. I enjoyed every second of it, it's a fast read and the characters have a quality that makes you drawn to them right away.

Memphis - even though he has the love them and leave them attitude you know there's more to him then that. He treats Kennedy with the up most respect always looking out for her and her well being. But he does have that rock star bad boy quality about him that can make a girl swoon!

Kennedy - I really did like her although at times she made me want to pull my hair out from the roots! She sure knows how to make life hard on herself.. Brooks her forgetful distant boyfriend or Memphis who's willing to do anything she needs him to do at any time... To me the choice was a no brainer but when you've been friends with somebody for so long I guess feeling hesitant is understandable.
Her quirky sense of humor was her saving grace I loved her one lines and quick come backs, I enjoyed her interaction with Memphis.. And I really liked watching this girl grow to stand on her own two feet and become the woman she wanted to be.

I was impressed with the writing the author did an awesome job even with the smaller characters such as Ryder or Vanessa... You know a story is good if you can remember side characters! This book fed cliche romantic in me and I mean that in a good way..

This book reminded me of Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire so if you liked that book be sure to check this book out you'll love it!

Friday, August 31, 2012

Hostile Take over -Joey W. Hill

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About - from Net Galley:

Hostile Takeover
Part of the Knights of the Board Room series
Joey W Hill
Smith Publicity -- Ellora’s Cave

Pub Date: January 02, 2012
ISBN: 9781419936449
Genre: Erotica, Literature & Fiction, Romance

Ben is the last unattached member of the five-man executive team of K&A Associates. The other four, all Masters, have found the submissives of their dreams. That's fine. The sharp-edged lawyer knows he's the most hardcore of them all, with extreme tastes as a Master he satisfies physically through experienced...

My Opinion:

Hostile take over is book 5 in knights of the board room series. You don't have to read the others to enjoy this book but it adds to the experience if you know each of the men and there women from the other books.

This book is about Ben O'Callahan the 5th knight and the only one which is still single. His life takes a spin when Marcie comes back into town (Little sister to Cass who is married to Lucas)

From the age of 16 Marcie has had a crush on Ben her confident, her friend..never able to act on her fantasies because of her age Marcie had to bide her time to be able to come back and claim the man she has no doubt is hers.
She has her work cut out for her, Ben has serious issues having been abandoned by his mother and raised on the streets he's never let anybody get close to him.

I learnt a lot too I really thought subs where weak. What a surprise I got Marcie was a determined, strong and smart young woman. I really did like her a lot!

This book is steamy! And not for the weak of heart, it's erotica at its finest.. The sex is vivid and an education! Ben made my heart leap ;)

The characters are unique and different the relationship these men and there wives have together was extremely intriguing... Wow it's actually mind blowing, and while this story isn't for everybody the author did an awesome job creating this world, the characters, the story.. It was sensory over load. I enjoyed it very much... Now I have to read books 1 through 4 ASAP! I can't believe I've missed this series.

If you love 50 shades you'll love these men!

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Free book alert!!!

Free book alert in the Apple iBook store - last checked 8/27/12. Check it out! I don't know how long this hot find will last.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Young Adult/ teen

Fallen Star - Jessica Sorensen

For eighteen year-old Gemma, life has never been normal. Up until recently, she has been incapable of feeling emotion. And when she’s around Alex, the gorgeous new guy at school, she can feel electricity that makes her skin buzz. Not to mention the monsters that haunt her nightmares have crossed over into real-life. But with Alex seeming to hate her and secrets popping up everywhere, Gemma’s life is turning into a chaotic mess. Things that shouldn’t be real suddenly seem to exist. And as her world falls apart, figuring out the secrets of her past becomes a matter of life and death.

Friday, August 24, 2012

Bared to You book review

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Book Description from Amazon

Publication Date: June 12, 2012 | Series: A Crossfire Novel
"If I were to recommend any book today to readers who enjoyed 50 Shades...this would be the first one I would offer....scorching love scenes."--Dear Author

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness...

He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I'd never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily...

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other's most private worlds...and desires.

The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn't tear us apart...

My Opinion:

I've heard so many people compare this book to 50 Shades of Grey. It's true if your having 50 withdrawal you'll love Gideon Cross. I know I did...

Gideon on the surface has it all drop dead gorgeous and a billionaire who has women falling at his feet. Nobody sees the broken mess he is underneath the Prada suit until Eva.

Eva has her own issues being a victim of sexual abuse as a child. Even so I find her intelligent, witty and strong. I enjoyed getting to know her as well as the people in her life.

Her BFF Cary adds much needed humor and relief to the book in his own crazy way. He is a colorful character that's for sure... One of my favorites.

Everybody in this story is fighting some sort of issue or demon it makes for interesting reading I read the whole story in a day I just couldn't stop those pages from turning.

While Eva and Gideon's relationship is volatile, hot, heavy and at times damn right erotic I didn't find it too much, often I get a feeling of over kill with books like this. Not this time...this was there way of communicating, having had there rights violated as children in a sexual nature I felt they had a hard time expressing themselves in other ways.

I applaud the author for dealing with difficult subjects such as child abuse and rape. In my opinion it was well written and while this story might not be for everybody I enjoyed it a lot!

I can not wait for book 2 out in October and as Cary said " I live in hope for the happy endings for the F*d up club"

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Thank you Crocs!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and PhotosSo I wrote about how my son got a new pair of Disney crocs while on vacation but the strap broke within 2-3 weeks of wearing them! He was so upset over it too.

I have to admit I'm not a mom who keeps receipts and so when it came to contacting the company I feared nothing could be done.

I aired my complaint on twitter only to my amazement the lovely person who runs the Crocs twitter account contacted me and helped me with my replacement!

They arrived today and I am so pleased. Crocs really came to my aid there staff where nothing but helpful and I am really thankful. I find it harder in today's society to find a great customer service! I honestly dread having to deal with them. Dealing with the People at Crocs was a pleasant experience and recommend them highly!

Thank you Crocs

The Portillo Family

Thursday, August 16, 2012

McCabe trilogy - Maya Banks

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Book Descriptions from Amazon
Publication Date: August 30, 2011 | Series: McCabe Trilogy (Book 1)
Bestselling author Maya Banks’s beguiling new trilogy features three unforgettable brothers risking everything to save their clan and their legacy—and to surrender their hearts to love.

Ewan McCabe, the eldest, is a warrior determined to vanquish his enemy. Now, with the time ripe for battle, his men are ready and Ewan is poised to take back what is his—until a blue-eyed, raven-haired temptress is thrust upon him. Mairin may be the salvation of Ewan’s clan, but for a man who dreams only of revenge, matters of the heart are strange territory to conquer.

The illegitimate daughter of the king, Mairin possesses prized property that has made her a pawn—and wary of love. Her worst fears are realized when she is rescued from peril only to be forced into marriage by her charismatic and commanding savior, Ewan McCabe. But her attraction to her ruggedly powerful new husband makes her crave his surprisingly tender touch; her body comes alive under his sensual mastery. And as war draws near, Mairin’s strength, spirit, and passion challenge Ewan to conquer his demons—and embrace a love that means more than revenge and land.

Book Description
Publication Date: September 27, 2011 | Series: McCabe Trilogy (Book 2)
A warrior is caught between family loyalty and forbidden love in book two of bestselling author Maya Banks’s sensual new trilogy featuring three indomitable Highlanders.

Fiercely loyal to his elder brother, Alaric McCabe leads his clan in the fight for their birthright. Now he is prepared to wed for duty, as well. But on his way to claim the hand of Rionna McDonald, daughter of a neighboring chieftain, he is ambushed and left for dead. Miraculously, his life is saved by the soft touch of a Highland angel, a courageous beauty who will put to the test his fealty to his clan, his honor, and his deepest desires.

An outcast from her own clan, Keeley McDonald was betrayed by those she loved and trusted. When the wounded warrior falls from his horse, she is drawn to his strong, lean body. The wicked glint in his green eyes ignites a passion that will follow them back to Alaric’s keep, where their forbidden love draws them deeper into the pleasures of the flesh. But as conspiracy and danger circle closer, Alaric must make an impossible choice: Will he betray his blood ties for the woman he loves?

Book Description
Publication Date: October 25, 2011 | Series: McCabe Trilogy (Book 3)
In a tale of strong ties and true love, Maya Banks’s trilogy comes to its stunning conclusion, as the youngest McCabe brother uses sword and seduction to save his clan—and seal his heart.

Caelen McCabe’s young, reckless heart nearly destroyed his clan. Now, putting family loyalty above all else, he steps up to marry his older brother’s jilted bride and salvage the uneasy alliance between two clans. While beautiful Rionna McDonald is a fit wife for any man, Caelen trusts no woman, especially not this sweet temptress who torments him with white-hot longing.

As the sacrificial lamb in her father’s power game, Rionna will do her duty but vows to protect her heart and her pride from humiliation. Despite everything, though, the heat in Caelen’s touch melts her defenses, and she craves the sensual delights of a husband who guards his emotions as fiercely as his clan. But when the ultimate battle for the McCabe legacy is upon them, Rionna’s true warrior spirit emerges. She will risk the wrath of her father, the fury of her enemies, and her life to prove to Caelen that his wife’s love is too precious to lose.

My Opinion:

A woman needs to fan herself after reading these books! The brothers are some fine men! The author did an amazing job at creating a whole world her characters have such personalities. The women where just as fiesty as the men, determined and strong in there own right.
I loved everything about these books I enjoyed learning of the characters pasts and watching there future develop.
I can not fault these books the story and plot were truly well thought out, I read all 3 books in 4 days I couldn't put them down.
I recommend this trilogy to any fan of Karen Marie Monings - Highlander series.

I finished these books yesterday and I'm still thinking about them. I laughed, I cried, I blushed, Great read bravo Ms Banks!

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Stacey Joy Netzel - Lost in Italy


Book Description from Amazon
Publication Date: October 25, 2011
The best laid plans...

Halli Sanders spent two years planning the trip of a lifetime to Italy. Her itinerary did not include being stranded by her siblings, kidnapped by a sexy American movie star, dodging bullets, or fleeing criminals in a car chase around Lake Como. And that's just in the first three hours.

...often go awry.

Trent Tomlin put his movie career on hold to investigate his brother's murder-ruled-suicide at his Italian villa. He's closing in on the suspects when an American tourist unwittingly films the murder of the retired cop helping him. The killers will stop at nothing to get the evidence--including holding Halli's family as collateral.

Life's a little different unscripted.

Thrust into the role of real-life hero, Trent finds himself falling for the Plain Jane whose beauty blossoms with every challenge they face. But how can he keep the evidence from falling into the wrong hands and get justice for his brother and friend without betraying Halli and her family?

My Opinion:

Ok ok a movie star saving the girl next door from the bad guy, it's every woman's dream! I get it!
Didn't mean I didn't love this book any less it was awesome the characters were full of life and while the movie star plot was cliche getting to the end of the story was far from dull... Car chases, murders, corruption, cons and most important romance. This book truly had it all twists and turns on every page, I read this book in 2 days!

Halli while very set in her OCD ways for normal learns to spread her wings and even though she is always doubting herself she is far from weak. Her sarcastic nature adds humor between her and Trent when needed in a tense situation.

Trent was everything a woman wants, investigating his brothers death he swears he will help Halli and save her siblings.. A noble quality. After having Hollywood scrutinize his every move and never living up to his fathers expectations his ego has taken a hit. He is very defensive living behind his movie star characters until Halli who calls him out on his defensive technique and wants to see the real Trent.
We surly learn you can not believe everything you read in celebrity magazines.

Great summer read! The author did a wonderful job I can't wait to read more!!

Monday, August 6, 2012

50 Shades of grey trilogy

Fifty Shades books Pictures, Images and Photos
Description from Amazon:

Now available as a three-volume paperback boxed set, E L James’s New York Times #1 bestselling trilogy has been hailed by Entertainment Weekly as being “in a class by itself.” Beginning with the GoodReads Choice Award Romance Finalist Fifty Shades of Grey, the Fifty Shades Trilogy will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

This boxed set includes the following novels:

FIFTY SHADES OF GREY: When college student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly Ana realizes she wants this man, and Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian’s secrets and explores her own desires.

FIFTY SHADES DARKER: Daunted by Christian’s dark secrets and singular tastes, Ana has broken off their relationship to start a new career. But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and while Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Ana is forced to make the most important decision of her life.

FIFTY SHADES FREED: Now, Ana and Christian have it all—love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her Fifty Shades will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to turn Ana’s deepest fears into reality.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

My personal Opinion:

Oh my where to begin! Yes I will admit I folded and bought these books. Like every other hot blooded woman I wanted to find out what it was about Christian Grey that had everybody swooning since Edward Cullen.

I will be honest at the beginning I did not like Mr. Grey at all! I asked the question many times as to why my friends liked him! He was bossy and degrading and frankly well a sadist lol.

I wasn't impressed with Ana either, many a time I shouted for her to get a grip of herself and Mr charming. Slowly though the tables turned... I couldn't put down these books that where my guilty pleasure - I read a book a day.

Maybe Ana was seeing something in 50shades that I couldn't?

Then we learn of his struggle with his past, his demons and how he uses sex as a coping aid.
Don't get me wrong reading about the sex was frankly a learning experience lol. But Christian and his past kept me reading I wanted to know why he was the way he was... Ana being the key.

Although Ana was at times wishy washy she had her moments, when she stood her ground and made herself known - a cocktail throwing badass to the good ole Mrs Robinson!
My inner goddess had her pompoms out cheering on Miss Steele. I wanted Ana to get her man, she was the girl next door who was going to win the millionaire tycoon! Go team Ana!!!!

I love Elliot, Ethan, Jose and co...not forgetting Kate who was a hoot!

These books are a page turner, they are an experience- you'll laugh, cry, cringe and yell... The author wants to shock you and will. While there not everybody's cup of tea I enjoyed them enough they made a lasting impression.

I am converted I do want to fix 50shades!!! lol lol. He just has something and I want more of him. I was so pleased with the ending and I adored the extra tidbit the author included at the end of the book- insight into Christen's mind.

As Christen Grey would say "don't over think things" and that the advice I give to those wanting to read these books.

Laters, baby

Saturday, August 4, 2012

J Frost - Once Burned.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Once burned - J Frost book apart of The Night Huntress World.

Book Description - from Amazon
Publication Date: June 26, 2012

After a tragic accident scarred her body and destroyed her dreams, Leila never imagined that the worst was still to come: terrifying powers that let her channel electricity and learn a person's darkest secrets through a single touch. Leila is doomed to a life of solitude...until creatures of the night kidnap her, forcing her to reach out with a telepathic distress call to the world's most infamous vampire...

Vlad Tepesh inspired the greatest vampire legend of all--but whatever you do, don't call him Dracula. Vlad's ability to control fire makes him one of the most feared vampires in existence, but his enemies have found a new weapon against him - a beautiful mortal with powers to match his own. When Vlad and Leila meet, however, passion ignites between them, threatening to consume them both. It will take everything that they are to stop an enemy intent on bringing them down in flames.


My opinion

I've always liked Vlad and his role in the other books as Cat's friend he's always intrigued me and I've always wanted to get to know him better.

I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book and the story did not disappoint. The most famous vamp falls in love with a 20 something young woman with similar special gifts to him. Learning some valuable lessons himself, from his new found relationship. All while chasing down the bad guys and kicking butt.

Lelia is Smart and strong she's a good Match for our headstrong vamp. I loved her right away. It was also awesome to get to know Vlad better and on a more personal level, if not a little disturbing to find he still thinks of impaling as the 'go to' form of torture! Lol.

I enjoyed the new characters this book had to offer as well as new location we actually go to his home! I also was thrilled with the cross overs of the old characters - Bones whitty as ever! And I never get tired of Mencheres

Frost's writing is always first class her characters are always In-depth and hard to forget. She has a way of dragging you into the world she creates and your not satisfied until the last page is turned.

I want more, I need more!

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Back to school shopping


Yes its that time! I know its early but this weekend I went school supply shopping. A lot of parents do tend to leave this until the last minute but here is my reasoning as to why its better to do it now:

  • Just like Christmas there is always last minute shoppers pushing and shoving isn't shopping hard enough with kids? go early and avoid the crowds.
  • Who wants to have to go to 1, 2, 3, stores in order to get what we need because there is nothing left! Get there early and get just want we need while supplies are high.
  • Check out those early deals! My sons book bag online and in other well know stores was priced at $20 and the lunch bag at $15. Toys R Us was offering a deal where if I was to buy the Backpack at $15 I would get the Lunch Bag FREE - All round WIN if you as me.

Book Bag was at Toys R US - $15
Mickey Mouse Crayons and Makers - $1 each Don't forget those Value bins at the front entrance of the store.

Lego Folder was only $2 at Target and my son was thrilled. Target have really stepped up there game especially with there own brand items - pencils 50c, Scissors $1 glue $1 etc.

For everything I spent about $30 and I was so impressed because us moms know just how expensive Back to school can be. The only thing I have left to do is shoe shopping and an outfit.. I for one feel relieved to have completed this mommy mission early on :)


Wednesday, July 25, 2012

In my mail box...

Happy dance like a maniac lol..

Once Burned Pictures, Images and Photos

The time has come finally V'lad has his own book and I am so excited I can not wait to dive into the pages!

Thanks mommy! :)

Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Stereotyping is wrong

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I am seeing a lot of pictures, graphics etc about the colorado shooter saying things like well if he was black he would be a gangsta, a Muslim he would be a terrorist but because he's white he gets to play the insanity card. The media has to like him and he has to be seen as the troubled white boy.

Then I read the comments that people wrote, very negative how white people get a free pass with the law etc.

This makes me angry we are in 2012 and ignorance breeds hate.. Isn't there enough already in the world? We as adults should think before we speak because a generalization and dramatization of important matters can have very negative effects. I for one do not want my children to grow up in a world were every black man is viewed as a thug, every Hispanic uneducated, every white person a kkk hick.

What this man did in Colorado was unforgivable. This is practically a slam dunk case the only Option left for his lawyer is to try insanity... Do I agree no, do I think it's wrong yes but it's his right. Do I think he's getting special treatment because he's white..NO any lawyer would try this route it's the only one left regardless of his skin color.

The law sucks period there are too many issues that need fixing. We have people running around with guns because politicians are to scared to pass a ban.

Just this weekend a 4 year old was shot in the head at a basket ball game in the Bronx, 100+ people and yet nobody sees a thing.

A Rutgers student commits suicide after a room mate puts a webcam in his room to out him to the world that he was gay... That's a hate crime. He served 2weeks in jail!!! He wasn't white but Indian, sometimes injustice happens and it's wrong.

I have understanding for the outpouring of anger and hurt but we have to think where it's being directed.
stereotyping a majority for a minority is also wrong and unfair, if we as adults don't take the steps to change the ways of the world and instead fuel the ignorance fire. What will it be like for our kids?

A final thought: shouldn't we be thinking of those killed and injured rather that spreading more negativity, why give this evil man any more power then he's already taken from so many.

Thursday, July 19, 2012

Laura Deluca - Phantom

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Book Description - from Amazon
Publication Date: March 30, 2012

The "Phantom" was a musical phenomenon that Rebecca had always found enchanting. She had no idea that her life was about to mirror the play that was her obsession. When her high school drama club chooses "Phantom" as their annual production, Rebecca finds herself in the middle of an unlikely love triangle and the target of a sadistic stalker who uses the lines from the play as their calling card. Rebecca lands the lead role of Christine, the opera diva, and like her character, she is torn between her two co-stars-Tom the surfer and basketball star who plays the lovable hero, and Justyn, the strangely appealing Goth who is more than realistic in the role of the tortured artist. Almost immediately after casting, strange things start to happen both on and off the stage. Curtains fall. Mirrors are shattered. People are hurt in true phantom style. They all seem like accidents until Rebecca receives notes and phone calls that hint at something more sinister. Is Justyn bringing to life the twisted character of the phantom? Or in real life are the roles of the hero and the villain reversed? Rebecca doesn't know who to trust, but she knows she's running out of time as she gets closer and closer to opening night. Only when the mask is stripped away, will the twenty first century phantom finally be revealed.


My opinion:

Laura Deluca is an author that has had me hooked from the first book (Destiny) she wrote. What I like about her writing style is that whatever and wherever her stories take you, you know it's accurate to detail and well researched.

Phantom was no different this book is a page turner for sure! It's not a retelling of an old story it's something a lot more.
Romance, mystery and suspense all in one book! Well detailed characters who are all very important to the story.

Rebecca is a shy understated and unnoticed high school girl who pines for the popular boy and wants to try for the main role in her favorite play. Who finds herself suddenly living her dream and stuck in a love triangle while chaos is happening all around her.

Justyn is a character that I found so alluring even though you know there is something strange about him you can't help but secretly root for him.

I have to be honest the cover didn't buy me in the beginning I felt it didnt fit the story..but the story did give this book a chance guys! You won't be disappointed It's awesome

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

My family vacation

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

The blog has been a little lonesome these past few weeks. Well that's because we had our family vacation to Orlando Florida. It was amazing my patents flew in from England so we got some awesome quality time in, it's been a whole year since I've seen them and I've felt every one of those days especially with my mom having such poor health.

I feel so blessed to have had this wonderful experience and we made memories my kids will cherish forever... My daughter was in love with the Disney characters while my little boy loved all the action hero stuff at universal. I continue to return to Florida because I truly feel its a family orientated place.. We stayed at the beautiful Floriddays resort and I highly recommend it! The pool was first class my kids would of been happy never to leave!

I 100% recommend paying for a multi day hopper pass, yes they can be expensive but you have entry to all Disney parks for your days! And there is lots to see as well as shows, fire works, character meetings... Without a multi day pass you'll pay $80 pair person for just a day!

Saying goodbye always sucks but I will try and stay positive and look forward to more amazing family times to come and I want to thank god for the amazing parents he blessed me with.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos


Friday, June 29, 2012

Beyond the book!

My baby graduated Pre-K, it seems like yesterday I was standing in the playground waving him off on his first day!! That was a whole school year ago and he has done amazing this year and learnt so much. His report was A+ and I couldnt be a prouder mommy!

Else where:

A week before our vacation starts my kids come down with chicken pox! Seriously! Mainly my little girl Sophia and of course when a mom needs the most help everybody is keeping her family at arms length. Thankfully I have an amazing friend who helped me out, its bad enough dealing with sick kids but adults who act crazy over a childhood illness that everybody gets I found outragous.

Timing sucked yes, but I am actually relieved they got it and its done with because getting chicken pox as a adult can be very dangerous..


Both kids are awesome now and I am writing this post siting next to my suitcase as today is the day we finally go on our vacation to Disney we are all super hyped since my parents are flying in from England to be with us :)