About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Lothaire - Kresley Cole

Description from Goodreads
Driven by his insatiable need for revenge, Lothaire, the Lore’s most ruthless vampire, plots to seize the Horde’s crown. But blood lust and torture have left him on the brink of madness—until he finds Elizabeth Peirce, the key to his victory. He captures the unique young mortal, intending to offer up her very soul in exchange for power, yet Elizabeth soothes his tormented mind and awakens within him emotions Lothaire believed he could no longer experience.

A DEADLY FORCE DWELLS WITHIN HER

Growing up in desperate poverty, Ellie Peirce yearned for a better life, never imagining she’d be convicted of murder—or that an evil immortal would abduct her from death row. But Lothaire is no savior, as he himself plans to sacrifice Ellie in one month’s time. And yet the vampire seems to ache for her touch, showering her with wealth and sexual pleasure. In a bid to save her soul, Ellie surrenders her body to the wicked vampire, while vowing to protect her heart.

CENTURIES OF COLD INDIFFERENCE SHATTERED

Elizabeth tempts Lothaire beyond reason, as only his fated mate could. As the month draws to a close, he must choose between a millennia-old blood vendetta and his irresistible prisoner. Will Lothaire succumb to the miseries of his past . . . or risk everything for a future with her

My Opinion:

I love this series and could not contain my excitement for this book! Lothaire is a character that we see through out the other books but nobody knew very much about him other that hes the most evil being in the Lore.
Which he most certainly is! He is cunning and manipulative as well as a true game player. However we get to see the reason he is the way he is, after suffering mental and physical abuse at the hands of his father and witnessing the death of his mother it becomes apparent why hes trusts nobody. You can't help but feel bad for Lothaire and cheer him on.. even though hes a ruthless killer! lol.

Saroya is now condemned to live within mortal bodies a fallen goddess for her sins. She makes Lothaire believe shes his mate and can help him become king. Which is a lie! Saroya's host is in fact his mate.

A dirt poor hillbilly names Ellie who has never left her mountain nor seen the ocean but has the face of an angel, the body of a model and the mind of a spit fire. She definitely gives Lothaire a run for his money!
Ellie has been through hell her body taken over, murders committed that she has no memory of as well as escaping death row. Not to mention a goddess wants to rip her soul out of her! Gritty stuff.

This wasn't my most favorite of the series but I did enjoy it... who would of thought a poor uneducated girl from the mountains could be paired with a guy who's ego is huge and thinks hes a God in every way!

Kresley Cole is amazing  I love the dynamic of the Lothaire, Saroya/ Ellie relationship which I have to admit had be wondering in the beginning. It was written perfectly! This book had me laughing, crying and did I mention the steamy sex! It was perfectly balanced. A fast paced, action packed Witty read (Ellie and Lothaire had some amazing quirky little interactions)

The only thing that could of made this book better was more of Nix I love her shes my favorite character in the series!






Sunday, January 29, 2012

IMM 1/29/12

IMM is a feature brought to you by www.thestorysiren.com where I tell you what I got in my mail box this week!


Thanks too:

C.A Kunz - find more out about them here!



Saturday, January 28, 2012

Angel fire - L.A Weatherly Review

Reading level: Ages 14 and up  Hardcover: 450 pages,   Publisher: Candlewick Press

Angel Fire picks up where Angel burn left off, Alex and Willow are on the run after the failed attack on the Angels.They are the most wanted people with there faces being shown all over the news. Everybody wants to find the girl who tried to kill there beloved angels.
What the world doesn't know is these angels are deadly and feeding off human being through there aura's which is slowly killing them.

Alex and Willow head to Mexico to try and find more Ak's (angel killers) to make a team and strike the 12. The 12 happen to be the strongest angels who have arrived on earth in Mexico City.
This book is full of adventure, twist and turns as well as new characters.

Alex and Willow's relationship is really put to the test when they meet Seb another half angel who has been searching for Willow all his life. He is truly in love with her and when Willow is
confronted with his feelings she starts to get confused. Not to mention she is already feeling alone and vulnerable with the way the other Ak team members are treating her, nobody trusts Alex's half Angel girlfriend especially Kara.
Kara is an old team member of Alex's, his first crush as well as his first kiss. She harbors feeling for him and will do anything to take Willows place in his affections.

I loved this book just as much as Angel burn its full of angst young love and emotions as well as dealing with that, there formulating a plan to save the world!

A plan the Razial (Willows angel father) is well aware of since he can see into her mind with out her knowledge putting everybody' life in danger!! L.A Weatherly just keeps getting better with this plot.

This book was longer then the first I feel but it had a lot more going on in it, and I enjoyed meeting all the new characters and personalities they all brought an extra element to the story.
I must admit I am very intrigued by the authors portrayal of Angels, we always think of them as good and kind. In these books we get to see the total opposite, Angels see human beings as animals the angels are greedy and mean.
I was a little reluctant at first I thought these books would be about religion but it really isn't.. more like rouge angels and there power struggle to make earth there own. The author really did to a wonderful job depicting characters and making a whole new world... I was very impressed.
I can not wait to see how this trilogy ends I would definitely recommend it for fans of Hush Hush and Fallen.


Thursday, January 26, 2012

Free Book Alert!


Jennifer Laurens is a wonderful author and her book Overprotected is FREE on Amazon.com today! I must be the only person in the world to not have a kindle lol and believe me I could kick myself! Head over there and snap up this wonderful offer... Also a lot of her other books are only $5, what a deal!






Ashlyn: A lonely society princess living in New York City.
Daddy hired you to be my bodyguard.
Colin: Childhood enemy, now her protector.

Daddy thought I’d be safe. He thought I’d never fall in love. He thought he could keep me forever.

Charles: obsessed with keeping her safe, keeping her his, he hires the one person he knows she could never fall in love with: Colin.

Daddy was wrong.

A kidnapping leaves a father fanatical about his only child's safety. A story of obsessive love and the quest for independence.

You can find more out about Jennifer HERE!

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday 1/25/12

Waiting on Wednesday is brought to you by http://breakingthespine.blogspot.com/ This is were I pick a book that has yet to be released but I can not wait to read!

 

Description from Amazon



Fallen (book 4) June 12, 2012
The sky is dark with wings. . . .

In RAPTURE, the highly anticipated fourth and final novel in the FALLEN series, Luce and Daniel are together . . . but for how long? Can history be rewritten? Or are some punishments eternal?





Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Ying Chang - Crouching Tiger - Children's book


Buy the book!

  • Reading level: Ages 6 and up
  • Hardcover: 40 pages
  • Publisher: Candlewick (December 13, 2011)

  • This is a wonderful book about a young boy who gets a visit from his Chinese grandfather.
    Vinson is impressed with his grandpa's knowledge of Martial arts and wants to learn more.
    Like any young boy he doesn't want to learn technique or put in much work. He wants to know how
    to do Kung Fu like they show you in the movies!
    Vinson becomes frustrated and embarrassed by his grandpa's constant use of his Chinese name.
    Although he is part Chinese he is worried his friends will make fun of him. Until Vinson goes to
    the New Years Chinese parade and is offered a role. He sees how his grandfather is loved and shown respect by many that his outlook begins to change.

    Mommy's Opinion:

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about this book and I found there was many lessons within the story.
    My son is part Latino and part British born in the USA.. In the story Vinson is part Chinese part American but he doesn't want to embrace both heritages. This story shows him the reasons of why both cultures are important. The author wrote beautifully in an easy manner for a child to understand..

    I also loved learning about Tai Chi - Yes this book also taught mom something! My son is 5yrs old when he seen he received a "fighting book" he was so excited hes very much into the Ninja thing right now.
    This book was wonderful at expressing that it isn't just fighting but a skill, an art that works on inner balance and strength as well as the outer.

    There was also lots of details about Chinese New year and how that holiday is celebrated within the Chinese culture. This book was definitely an informative and a great way to learn about another culture in an easy way.

    The illustrations where unique and different I particularly like the parade art. I also thought the Authors note at the back of the book was awesome.


    Note from Jacob:

    My most favorite part of the book was when Grandpa helped save the woman walking on the side walk from being hit with the wood, the workman had. The Workman nearly hit her in the head!
    He did an awesome Ninja kick which was cool!
    I also like the Dragon at the parade it makes me want to see the Chinese parade one day.

    Saturday, January 21, 2012

    IMM 1/21/12


    It's time for In My Mail box a feature brought to you by www.Thestorysiren.com

    Guys am so sorry in this video I sound so congested and look so droopy eyed I was feel sick and taking cold meds lol. BUT I couldn't leave you guys without a IMM!


    Thanks!

    For what It's Worth
    http://www.fwiwreviews.net/

    Candlewick Press - Follow them on Twitter!
    Macmillan Audio - Follow them on Twitter!
    Disney Hyperion - Follow them on Twitter!

    Wednesday, January 18, 2012

    Waiting on Wednesday 1/18/12

    This feature is brought to you by http://breakingthespine.blogspot.com/





    This week for W.O.W I picked book 12 in the Sookie Stackhouse series. Although book 11 wasn't my favorite I feel I am way to far into these books to give up now lol. I am excited for this book after seeing the cover, because Ms Harris always puts tell tale signs about the story plot in the cover art.. whether Sookie is for Bill or Eric etc.... My feeling is that the Wolves are making a come back in Sookies life! Whoop Whoop

     

    Product Details

    • Hardcover: 336 pages
    • Publisher: Ace (May 1, 2012)

    Monday, January 16, 2012

    Video Review for Fantasy Lover



    Sherrilyn Kenyon - Dark Hunter Series book 1.

    From the book -
    November 28, 2006

    Dear Reader,

    Being trapped in a bedroom with a woman is a grand thing. Being trapped in hundreds of bedrooms over two thousand years isn't. And being cursed into a book as a love-slave for eternity can ruin even a Spartan warrior's day.

    As a love-slave, I know everything about women. How to touch them, how to savor them, and most of all, how to pleasure them. But when I was summoned to fulfill Grace Alexander's sexual fantasies, I found the first woman in history who saw me as a man with a tormented past. She alone bothered to take me out of the bedroom and onto the world. She taught me to love again.

    But I was not born to love. I was cursed to walk eternity alone. As a general, I had long ago accepted my sentence. Yet now I have found Grace--the one thing my wounded heart cannot survive without. Sure, love can heal all wounds, but can it break a two-thousand-year-old curse?

    Julian of Macedon



    Couponing for losers?


    So I had to bring up this subject today after watching this clip of Kim and Kourtney take NY.. I don't know why I even punished myself because I found there attitude on the whole subject ridiculous.
    Kim and her now ex husband made it seem like couponing was for losers, then the man implied couponing was for ugly people?
    How can these people possibly relate 1st of all there rich, its not for losers! It's for people who don't have a million bucks in the bank who have to still support there family.
    Granted Kourtney did it so wrong because lets face it nobody saves money buying items they don't usually buy..but there attitude really irked me.. its not a game for a lot of people but a way to get by and who are these people to degrade anybody else over it.
    I call couponing being smart with money after all we can't all strip for playboy.. and seriously doesn't that man have a face like a horse? just saying.... case in point I coupon and I know I am cute so there goes his rediculous theory!

    Would Kourtney still think it was a game if she really had to depend of those extra dollars she saved to support her family.. Or would Kim think it was for losers if she had to support her family on say 50G a year instead of 20million?

    Posted by Melissa the Ugly coupon lady lol.




    Sunday, January 15, 2012

    IMM 1/15/12


    It's time for IMM brought to you by www.thestorysiren.com Where I share with you the awesome titles I got this week!


    Thank you to the awesome, awesome apple sauce people.. who sent me my books this week! Guys please check out there blog sites.

    http://imaginativeadventure.blogspot.com
    http://teenlitrocks.com/

    Want to win??
    Enter my book gveaway going on right now!



    Friday, January 13, 2012

    Across The Nightingale Floor - Giveaway


    Amazon.com Review


    The debut novel of Lian Hearn's Tales of the Otori series, Across the Nightingale Floor, is set in a feudal Japan on the edge of the imagination. The tale begins with young Takeo, a member of a subversive and persecuted religious group, who returns home to find his village in flames. He is saved, not by coincidence, by the swords of Lord Otori Shigeru and thrust into a world of warlords, feuding clans, and political scheming. As Lord Otori's ward, he discovers he is a member by birth of the shadowy "Tribe," a mysterious group of assassins with supernatural abilities. Hearn sets his tale in an imaginary realm that is and isn't feudal Japan. This device serves the author well as he is able to play with familiar archetypes--samurai, Shogun, and ninja--without falling prey to the pitfalls of history. The novel fills a unique niche that is at once period piece and fantasy novel. Hearn unfolds the tale of Takeo and the conflicting forces around him in a deliberate manner that leads to a satisfying conclusion and sets the stage for the rest of the series.



    Tuesday, January 10, 2012

    Review of J.R Ward Lover Mine


    About:

    Lover Mine - J.R Ward - John Matthew's story:

    Having grown up in the human system unaware of his vampire nature having to fend for himself and being the victim of abuse, its been a tough long road for John. It hasn't been any easier since his transition however still mute and fighting his inner demons hes at the brotherhood compound but feels more alone then ever.
    But when Lash johns enemy kidnaps his love Xhex he knows he has to step up to save her and get her back or die trying.

    My Opinion:

    J.R Ward keeps getting better! She is an amazing author who always leaves me wanting more. I could not get enough of this book and its totally Ironic that even though John can't talk his voice was the loudest.
    There is so much going on in this book - John and his mission against Lash to save the woman he loves. Tohr and his history with Darius as well as how these 3 males all play a part in Xhex's life.
    In past books I've found myself skipping the finer details to get to the awesome parts, not in this book however the finer details were what made the story so important.
    I was so thrilled to see John become his own man and fight his inner demons he has the perfect partner in Xhex strong yet understanding.
    I loved the switch within the book between past and present it was awesome to learn more about Darius since we didn't know all that much because he died in book one..

    I also found it heart breaking hearing about the conception of Xhex but heart warming to read about how Darius and Tohr rescued her. John and Xhex definitely have more in common then we see at first glance

    There was so much love and angst in this book! I totally adored the kick ass vibe it had.. and will Bley and Quhinn ever get it together the waiting is killing me!!! lol.





    Waiting on Wednesday 1/10/12

    It's Wednesday already WOW the days are just speeding by... its time for waiting on Wednesday brought to you by http://breakingthespine.blogspot.com/

    The book I can't wait to read this week is:



    Overview by B&N


    The year is 2009.  Nineteen-year-old Jackson Meyer is a normal guy… he’s in college, has a girlfriend… and he can travel back through time. But it’s not like the movies – nothing changes in the present after his jumps, there’s no space-time continuum issues or broken flux capacitors – it’s just harmless fun.

    That is… until the day strangers burst in on Jackson and his girlfriend, Holly, and during a struggle with Jackson, Holly is fatally shot. In his panic, Jackson jumps back two years to 2007, but this is not like his previous time jumps. Now he’s stuck in 2007 and can’t get back to the future.

    Desperate to somehow return to 2009 to save Holly but unable to return to his rightful year, Jackson settles into 2007 and learns what he can about his abilities.

    But it’s not long before the people who shot Holly in 2009 come looking for Jackson in the past, and these “Enemies of Time” will stop at nothing to recruit this powerful young time-traveler.  Recruit… or kill him.

    Piecing together the clues about his father, the Enemies of Time, and himself, Jackson must decide how far he’s willing to go to save Holly… and possibly the entire world.


    My Opinion

    This has been working its way around book blogs for a while and I can not wait to read it, I have read so many good things about it! I was totally green envy  I didn't get a ARC... oh well its finally out next week people!



    Saturday, January 7, 2012

    IMM 1/7/11

    It's time for In My Mail Box - A feature brought to you by www.thestorysiren.com

    This week I didn't so much as get something from my mail as from my library! I want to bring it to every body's attention that many towns now offer an E-book system online from your library so you don't even have to leave your home to go visit them, just go on there system! I think this is an awesome idea..so check it out.
      
    Let me know what you guys got this week.






    Wednesday, January 4, 2012

    Waiting on Wednesday 1/4/12

    Waiting on Wednesday brought to you by http://breakingthespine.blogspot.com/ This is a feature were we talk about books we can't wait to hit our bookshelves!

    This week I have picked:


    ICED: A Dani O'Malley Novel October 30, 2012
    Book 1
    Begins the morning after SHADOWFEVER ends
    This book doesn't have a cover yet but everybody knows I am a BIG Fever series fan! I simply can not wait to read this spin off series... Who else is wishing for lots of Barrons and Mac?
    Fever covers!