About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday 2.29.12

Waiting on Wednesday is a Feature brought to you by Breaking the spine Where we talk about upcoming books we are excited to read.




Book Description

From Amazon

May 22, 2012 Soul Seekers
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Immortals comes a breathtaking new saga brimming with magic, mystery, and an intoxicating love story that will steal your heart away. Meet The Soul Seekers.

Strange things are happening to Daire Santos. Crows mock her, glowing people stalk her, time stops without warning, and a beautiful boy with unearthly blue eyes haunts all her dreams. Fearing for her daughter’s sanity, Daire’s mother sends her to live with the grandmother she’s never met. A woman who recognizes the visions for what they truly are—the call to her destiny as a Soul Seeker—one who can navigate the worlds between the living and dead.

There on the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico, Daire sets out to harness her mystical powers. But it’s when she meets Dace, the boy from her dreams, that her whole world is shaken to its core. Now Daire is forced to discover if Dace is the one guy she's meant to be with...or if he’s allied with the enemy she's destined to destroy.

I wasn't a huge fan of The Immortals I became frustrated with the characters a lot so I am excited Alyson Noel is making a new series it sounds very intriguing and I hope to love it!

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Review - C.A Kunz The Childe


Book Description

From Amazon

February 18, 2011

Cat Colvin
Average teenager?
Or something else entirely?


Cat Colvin is pretty much your typical run-of-the-mill teenager. Sure, she's taller than most girls, has a mane of fiery red hair that's impossible to tame, is left-handed, and her eyes are two different colors, but that's where the differences end . . . unless you include the minor detail of her slow transformation into a Childe.

High school can definitely be challenging, and for Cat it's no different. This is especially true when she's faced with the daunting task of trying to hide her budding Childe traits as they begin to reveal themselves at the most inopportune times. To make matters worse, her family is oddly dead set against Ryan, the boy she grows to like. But everyone has their secrets: is Ryan really what he seems to be, and what is Cat's family not telling her?

My Opinion

There are very few books I read were I adore the main character but this is what happened when I met Cat Colvin. She is strong, yet caring and very quirky with an awesome set of friends.
Straight away we find out that there is a secret when it comes to Cat that must be protected.

We also learn of  another group that's not to be messed with, Isaac and his friends have there own secret which is some how tied to Cat and there instant dislike to her.
Isaac is the perfect villain with the bad attitude and huge ego he was written perfectly and very wicked, You loved to hate him. .

This book is the mystery of Cat discovering herself and we the reader are along for the ride, The authors definitely kept you guessing. The Childe has everything! Mystery, Fantasy, Vampires, Teenage angst and love...Did I mention Ryan, Dreamy Ryan who goes against his friends and all he knows because of his love for Cat!

I was also very impressed with the parents in this book, YES we have parental units! Y/A books tend to have parents who disappear in the 1st chapter and are never seen again..Well not Rachel and Sam who bring so much humor to the mix with there forever young at heart mentalities

The Childe is extremely well written and a perfectly balanced Young adult book. I was left wanting so much more and was very sad when the book ended. I could go on but I feel I would ramble Can you gush about a book? I am gushing with positivity about this unique book! I need more!!!!

 buy the book HERE

Bree Despain - Book Alert!



Fellow Book Lovers its nearly that time!

The final book in Bree Despain's Dark Divine series, The Savage Grace, will be landing in stores on March 13th!! how exciting, but it gets better...

Egmont Publishing is running a promotion offering the e-book of the first two books in the series, The Dark Divine and The Lost Saint for just $1.99 during the next two weeks leading up to the on-sale day of the series finale. This should be on ALL online book stores

You can find out more about the books and the author HERE!



Check out the blog next week for my thoughts on the final installment!

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday 2/22/12

Waiting on Wednesday is a feature brought to you by http://breakingthespine.blogspot.com/ were we talk about books we can't wait to read!

I picked this book by indie author Laura Deluca - her first book Destiny  I thought had wonderful potential. It reminded me a lot of the Sweep Series and so I am excited for book 2.

This series follows Gabriella, a witch who has just found her powers again after her mothers death so long ago. Gabby finds with this power there are enemies who want her to use it for there own cruel purpose.






Tuesday, February 21, 2012

LitWorld - Help somebody learn to read

Words Change World's

Guys I want to bring to your attention LitWorld It is a foundation dedicated to helping people read all across the world! It is so sad that in today's world so many people are still unable to learn to read. I can't imagine how it would be to live without my books. They have brought so much joy into my life. March 7th LitWorld ask that we help spread the word of there cause.
Want to get involved and find out more information click HERE!






Friday, February 17, 2012

Huge Swag Giveaway

Just because....

One person has the chance to win all the following swag!  I think you'll have to agree its pretty neat. All you have to do is comment on ONE other blog post.. Then come back here and let me know which one it was! That's it..

  • USA only
  • Ends 3/14
The Childe - C.A kunz, postcard, book mark and pendant like the one Kat wore in the book

Jennifer Laurens cards / book marks from multiply books

Jessica Brody - signed book mark and Signed teaser booklet


The Secret Year signed book mark
The Demon Trappers Stickers
A cool mini window Decal


Good luck!!!



I am not responsible for items after shipping




Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Lenobia's Vow - P.C Cast

 

Book Description

From Amazon


January 31, 2012 House of Night

A great journey…
A new love….
A dark secret revealed.

Evreux, France, 1788: Before she is Zoey’s favorite professor and the House of Night’s powerful horse mistress… Lenobia is just a normal 16-year-old girl – with enough problems to last a lifetime. As the illegitimate daughter of a powerful baron, she has never quite belonged, and instead has to watch her spoiled half-sister, Cecile, get anything she wants. As if that’s not enough, her remarkable beauty draws unwanted attention wherever she goes. For once, she would like to just fit in.

But when fate intervenes, Lenobia suddenly finds herself surrounded by other girls, on a ship bound for New Orleans, where they will be married off to the city’s richest Frenchmen. And they’re not alone…. An evil bishop who is skilled in Dark magic makes the same journey. His appetite for lovely young women makes him dangerous – most of all to Lenobia, who caught his eye back in France. So she remains hidden, making secret visits to the ship’s stables, where a handsome young man and his beautiful Percheron horses soon capture her attention.

Will they make it to land before the bishop discovers her true identity and a powerful evil breaks loose? And will Lenobia follow her heart, even if it puts lives at risk? Find out more about one of your favorite professors in the next heart-thumping House of Night Novella.

My Opinion:


Buy this awesome audio book here and check out there site here: Macmillan Audio

Friday, February 10, 2012

In my Mail Box 2/10.

In My Mail Box is a feature brought to you by www.thestorysiren.com were we talk about all the awesome book related stuff we got in the mail this week!


Thanks too:

Marie  http://sweetmarie-83.blogspot.com/ Guys please check out her awesome new book OUT NOW!

Jennifer Laurens: http://www.jenniferlaurens.com/

Egmont: http://www.egmontusa.com/





Revew - Jeaniene Frost One Grave at a Time.


Cat and Bones are back fighting the evil of the undead world. This time in the form of ghosts - Heinrich Kramer was a Witch hunter while alive which resulted in many young women who were innocent losing there lives. Every Halloween his ghostly form becomes solid and his killing continues -
The only problem being is how do you possibly kill a ghost? Cat can no longer rely on her power she got from the Voodoo Queen of New Orleans as that has run its course.  Its up to Cat and Bones to come up with the solution to this problem.

My Opinion


I have got to be honest I was so unsure about this book when I heard the plot.. Ghosts? I wanted kick ass Vamps that we have always gotten and loved. I am very glad to say I was wrong and I loved the direction in which the author took.
We see a lot of favorite characters - Denise, Spade, Ian, Tate as well as some new characters such as Tyler who I loved and thought brought a lot of humor to the book with his witty and quirky personality.  I love that the gang came back together because it makes it more fun getting to know them all over again and learning something new each time.

I thought Cat and Bones seemed more solid this time around which was awesome and they are still as sexy as ever as a couple.
Just when you thought you had the plot figured out the author throws a twist in the story by adding Cat to the list of victims.... Awesome!!! She always manages to write the greatest build ups and fight scenes in her books.

I enjoyed reading this book and can not wait for the next book in the series... Jeaniene Frost continues to be an author that's adventurous, solid and thorough in her writing and characters.

Thursday, February 9, 2012

Valentines Book Boyfriend #6

Goodness I am loving all these hot men on the blog!! My Valentines book boyfriend today is:

Our boy V from J.R Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series http://www.jrward.com/bdb/



Don't forget to check out past Boyfriends on the blog!



Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Tuesday, February 7, 2012

Valentines Book boyfriend #5


Today's Valentines Book Boyfriend is:

Bones - Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress Series



Check out more about the series and author over on her website http://jeanienefrost.com/books/

Monday, February 6, 2012

Valentines Book Boyfriend #4


I am very excited for today's book boyfriend... I'm sure you'll love him as much as I do!!

Who doesn't love Eric!

Eric can be found in the Charlaine Harris Sookie Stackhouse books






Saturday, February 4, 2012

Valentines Book Boyfriend #3

Valentines Book Boyfriend of the day has to be:

Our Favorite Fallen Angel Patch!

Patch can be found in the Hush Hush Series by Becca Fitzpatrick







Friday, February 3, 2012

Valentines Book Boyfriend


And so the Valentines day Book Boyfriend hotness continues... I know I am loving looking over a lot of eye candy! Feel free to take part and play along.

Today as my BBF I picked:


The Lovely Jace Wayland from Cassie Clare's 'The Mortal Instruments' Series!





Spread love, Not hate!



Spread <3, Not Hate...
When I heard about this blog hop today I just had to take part!
In society today we hear about so many people who feel they are so alone that they go as far as taking there own lives just because they fear nobody will understand.

I urge everybody to reach out and help those people! Everybody has a story and can help in some little way..I will share with you mine:

I was born at 6months it is hard to imagine giving birth to a child so soon but thats what happened with my mom. I was left with Cerebral Palsy which can effect a person in a number of ways, with me it was more balance, walking etc.
As a child I wore leg braces, and a helmet for seizures as you can imagine young children can be cruel and now as an adult I see that it was because many just didn't understand.
And so I was an easy target for bullies..  would get pushed down and made fun of.. I can remember going home to my mom most days and crying with cuts and bruises.

It would break her heart because she herself had been through many of the same situations with her own health issues. She was my rock who stood by me and made me strong, who gave me the will power to want to prove all these negative people wrong.

And so I worked extra hard at therapy and now at the age of 27 although I still have some what poor balance and  dread the snow! (Bambi alert) I walk perfectly fine in fact you wouldn't know I had CP at all unless I was to tell you.

I also have two beautiful children and a husband who loves me very much. Back then I could never see myself getting through that time. I thought it was the worst thing in the world... But over coming the negative people is ONE OF THE BEST FEELINGS.

And its funny some of these people now see me and want to be my friend, try add me to Face book etc. They forget how they were, which is sad. In a way I should really thank them because they made me who I am today... a strong determined woman who can see that people who bully others its generally because they feel themselves lacking in some way.

I made it through it and so can you.

Please visit http://kcneal.blogspot.com/ to visit other blogs with more stories, or to add your own!



Thursday, February 2, 2012

Valentines Book Boyfriends

So it's finally the month of love (even though we should love all year round!) I've decided to give my readers a month of eye candy! Each day I am going to pick a stud muffin from some of our favorite books... doesn't that sound like fun!!

Mr Jericho Barrons!

Jericho is a character out of Karen Marie Monings Fever series






Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Cover Alert - Jeaniene Frost, Once Burned





Guys!!!!! Once burned finally has a cover! V'lad has his own book which means he will get his own love interest. I couldn't be more excited I feel like we have waited forever for this book to finally get here. Only down side.. is that I will have to admit hes not mine LOL.