About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Thursday, March 22, 2012

Only the strongest survive - Ian Fox

Follow the Author on twitter- @IanFox2
Follow on Blogger - Ianfoxwriter.blogspot.com

About - Description from Goodreads


The novel opens with a hair-tingling scene, as two men kidnap Emely Donnovan, one of the wealthiest women in America.She finds herself locked in the basement of a remote house in the middle of a forest, watched over by one of her captors who makes her buy and sell stocks for him so he can get rich. Her challenge to survive becomes even more complicated when Emely’s captor falls in love with her.

My Opinion:

So let me start by saying this is not usually the type of book I read and after reading mixed reviews I didn't know how to approach a story like this.
In the beginning we meet Emely who seems to be a hard nosed CEO of a company who doesn't have much time for others and so when she is kidnapped by the brothers although gruesome and horrible things happen its hard to feel bad for her.

Ronald and John set out with the same motive in the beginning but later differ when John starts having nightmares about Emely, without his brother knowing he goes to get Emely who Ronald believes is dead and holds her captive while using her skills in the stock market to make money.

This is were the story gets interesting... I read a number of reviews that said this book was not realistic, but in actual fact Stockholm syndrome is very common with kidnap victims. The Sociologist in me adored getting to know John and Emely who where both a victim of there social settings as children and living with the repercussions of that.

Emely was raised in a Catholic children's home alone and poor all her life since the death of her parents. She worked very hard in order to make it and was terrified she would lose it all, while not a greedy person by nature this is what she became through fear. It took Emely getting kidnapped to realize he own issues and reevaluate her life.

John having a mother who was too busy cheating on his father, and a father who was always living for his work he was left with Ronald as a role model. Ronald was the protector but left John feeling dumb and not good enough with his constant put downs.

Emely and John were similar in many ways and I was sad with the way it ended for them, I did hope for more.

My Final thought:

This book is for those who love to read dark and gritty stories, Ronald I think is one of the most disturbing characters I've ever read about. While parts of the story did not appeal to me (the rape scene) I did appreciate the in-depth writing style of the characters and did enjoy getting to know Emely and John - who maybe in another world would of made it! (the romantic in me lol)

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Winner!

congratulations Pictures, Images and Photos

I just wanted to let everybody know the winner of the swag giveaway was:

Lauren! Congrats lauren your swag will be on its way to you very soon.

Thank you to all who entered I appreciate you following the blog!

Another giveaway will be happening very soon.

Friday, March 16, 2012

Hilary DUff - Devoted


About - from Amazon

Since Sage was kidnapped, Clea has no way of knowing if he is alive or dead. And even though she has only just discovered they were soul mates, she feels like a part of her is lost forever. What’s worse, she can’t even turn to her best friend Ben—because every time she looks at him, all she sees is his betrayal. But waiting for something to happen is not an option, so Clea is ready for action. Suffering through dreams of seeing Sage with another woman, she makes an uneasy alliance with Sage’s enemies and sets out to be reunited with Sage...in this life or the next.

My Opinion

Let's start with the cover which I am not a fan of, book one had a beautiful iris flower on it that just made me want to read the story. I thought this book would follow the pattern and it didn't, the whole time I am thinking it could of been Hilary herself on front of the book and not Clea.

Ok so let's get to the actual story, Sage has been kidnapped by one of the two groups who want him dead. One group want to use his blood for eternal life, the other group want to kill him and break the curse they are suffering. I really enjoyed getting to know the people in each of these groups we find each of them have very different motivations - Nico just wants to live and protect what's left of his family, while Amelia's family want to live forever and are driven by basic greed.

This book is definitely a lot darker then the first one that's for sure, and while Sage is a main character who the story is focused around he and Clea don't actually spend that much time together. We see Clea trying all things possible to try and save her soul mate, while her faith in there relationship is truly but to the test.
She puts her trust in Ben reluctantly to help her with her quest - I am glad Ben man up in this book he was less of a push over and although Clea had her reasons sometimes her actions did suck toward him and I am glad he had the chance to I give back what he got in return.

While I enjoyed the read and getting to know the characters a little better I preferred book 1 better. I see where the author was trying to go with the story and for the most part did but there were certain things I felt fell flat. Amelia's dialogue in parts was so long I lost interest and would skim...

I loved the change in Ben
I liked the relationship between Amelia and her mother, although dark and disturbing
I liked the history behind the Saviors and CV's
I love Reyna and Nico together

I didn't like Clea's actions toward Ben she was a total user
I didn't like the cover And the long dialogues
I didn't like the lack of Sage and Clea together

I really enjoyed the action packed fight scene at the end.. Although the ending had me shocked as can be! Its very much like the first one and I can't help but think Reyna and Nico won't get the happy ending I wanted... We were talking about a love triangle before this book.... After reading it can anybody say square lol. Frustrating just a little!

Overall 3 and a half out of 5

Monday, March 12, 2012

In My Mail Box 3.12.12


In My Mail Box is a Feature brought to you by Thestorysiren.com Where we get to share and talk about the Epic things we got in the mail this week!

Thanks too!

CandleWick Press - http://www.candlewick.com/
Megan McCafferty http://www.meganmccafferty.com

Thursday, March 8, 2012

ARC - Bree Despain- The Savage Grace

Reading level: Ages 12 and up
Hardcover: 496 pages
Publisher: EgmontUSA (March 13, 2012)

About - From Goodreads

A troubled soul. An impossible choice. A final battle.

Wrestling with the werewolf curse pulsing deep inside of her, Grace Divine was finally able to find her brother, but it nearly cost her everything.

With her boyfriend, Daniel, stuck in wolf form and Sirhan's death approaching, time is running out for Grace to stop Caleb Kalbi and his gang of demons. If she fails, her family and hometown will perish. Everything rests on Grace's shoulders.

The final installment in The Dark Divine trilogy brings Daniel and Grace's love story to a breathtaking conclusion.

My Opinion:

I really like this trio of books the author has a wonderful style of writing with attention to detail. I loved that each character felt 'needed' and had a personality of there own.  She dealt with issues that sometimes can be difficult to write about, such as the faith of a person which was done in a beautifully balanced manner.
Savage Grace was a turning point for Grace she finally became a Woman so many times in the past I've found her way of thinking and actions child like. In the Savage Grace she really became a stronger person, a leader, a protector... and I was happy her family finally recognised her for what she had become.

While the Teenage love element in this story was strong, I found it wonderful that Daniel and Grace had a head on there shoulders... the author didn't feel the need to throw sex into the mix in order to vamp up the story. I found it very respectable!!! As a reader I felt it wasn't needed, you where able to tell the love Grace and Daniel had for one another with out it.

I was hoping for more when it came to Jude what happened to him saddened me after so much action concerning him I wanted something better.
I loved the new characters, Ryan, Slade and Brent especially with there Peter Pan mentalities they were a pleasure to get to know.

I have mixed feeling when it comes to Talbot... he was the wild card and we always knew he wasn't trust worthy...but what now? I am still left with so many unanswered questions.
While I enjoyed the read and loved meeting new characters as well as old, not to mention the action packed fight scenes! There was definitely a lot more going on in this book action wise.

 I just felt a little empty at the end... How can there be a happy ever after in the end with Talbot still out there?


Face book the new Fake book


Facebook or as I like to call it Fakebook is somewhat bother some as of late..If it wasn't for my family it would of been deleted. Fakebook has now become myspace.
Lets call it like we see it shall we:

It's not cool to put all your personal issues on the Internet its the Internet!

Why is it that grown people have reverted to high school with there catty remarks and status changes,
are we not meant to know what your talking about?

If you have to conduct fights through FB status then whats that say about you really?
here is a thought add only your REAL FRIENDS and there wouldn't be a privacy issue.
Why do people feel the need to add people they don't know anyways!

If you didn't speak to me in high school your only 9yrs too late now!

Sending friend requests to peoples page acting like there bff only to talk about them and spy
on them is lame! get an existence. If your not on a persons page there is a reason!

We don't LIKE everything somebody says many of us hope there is a dislike button.
If you cant say it out loud don't feel justified writing about it on FB.

I don't need to see your pouty lips in every picture, your boobs or your ass remember
your mother, father, sister, bother and babies can see these pics have some self respect.
And that's not be being a hater that's me thinking at least a stripper has the sense to get her dollar bills.

And in conclusion this is why Facebook is Fake book as it has the side effects of grown adults acting like teenagers

Rant over LOL

Wednesday, March 7, 2012

World read aloud day 2012 - LitWorld


Today is World Read Aloud day - LitWorld is a foundation which is trying to help those who can not read. We can change our world one word at a time. Can you believe millions of adults and children can not read! They have not been given the skill that many of us cherish - Think about how many books we have read, how many worlds we have escaped too, how many colorful characters we have met because of books.

Now imagine what it would be like to not be able to read.. my heart hurts for those people. BUT we can all help whether its reading to your child's class or just making a donation on the LitWorld website. We have the power to make change happen!


Join Pam Allyn on Scholastic’s Facebook page from 4pm ET to 4:45pm on March 7th, 2012 as she hosts a live chat — live from The Scholastic Store! She’ll be answering your questions, offering prompts and ideas of my own, and talking about her tips and experiences reading aloud to kids.
And, join the conversation on Twitter with #readaloud and by following us on @litworldsays.

Friday, March 2, 2012

Jacob Celebrating Dr. Seuss Birthday


Happy Birthday Dr Seuss! This is one of my most favorite children's authors and my son's to! He has done wonderful things to get kids interested in reading, and I feel his books will last a life time. His quotes and saying not only teach our children but us adults valuable life lessons.

Jacob was so excited today to celebrate with his school friends, there having a Pj party at school.

I think he took every 'Cat in the Hat book' he owned since he couldn't decide on a title. His bag was so heavy this morning LOL.





Thursday, March 1, 2012

Beyond the book - COOL GEAR


I wanted to take the time to say a big thank you to Cool Gear I won a wonderful giveaway on Facebook and they sent me 7! yes 7 of there different cups. We were so excited when a big box arrived at the house.

So how did I win? Well I answered a question about how and were I use Cool Gear products... That's easy everywhere!!!

I save so much money since my husband takes his own coffee to work in the morning using a travel mug. Cool Gear also make travel lotion bottles which are totally awesome since your only allowed so much lotion on a plane now and my husband often travels for work.

My son takes the water bottle with the filter to school and because the bottles are in cool colors, there actually encouraging him to drink more water and less soda! Not to mention we buy less bottled water because like I said they have a filter! and a freeze tube inside to keep your water cold.

My next purchase is more of these!

My son has a bad habit of spilling snacks all over the place in his book bag so I totally love this idea! As you can probably tell I am a mom who gets excited over cups! LOL


My kids also had hours of fun with the box and bubble wrap! They said they were shipping themselves to nanny in England LOL..



I did not get paid for this post, I am expressing my personal opinion of Cool Gear products.