About Me

My Photo
Mommy and Wife of two children and one husband. We are a family who love meeting new people, going new places and trying new things as long as its fun!

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Beautiful bloggers

A huge THANK YOU to the amazing ren from Ren's Rambles for nominating me for this award.

So, when you are nominated you:~ Write 7 facts about yourself~ Link up the blog of the person who nominated you~ Link 7 bloggers you think deserve the award & let them know they were nominated

About me!
1. I am a huge soccer addict.

2. I was born and raised in Liverpool England.

3. I went to an all girl catholic school until I was 18.

4. I have 2 children my eldest is a miracle baby as doctors told me he wasn't going to make it.

5. I look forward to fall just for a pumpkin spice latte.

6. My daughter is named Sophia after Sophie Mercer from the hex hall books.

7.My favorite animal is an elephant as its the only animal to stay true to its family.

Bloggers

1. Andra - http://unabridgedandralyn.blogspot.com/

2. The vixen- http://obscuredvixen.wordpress.com/

3.Courtney - http://www.fuzzycoffeebooks.com/

4. Joy - http://joyousreads.blogpsot.com/

5. Lin - http://www.linnysvault.com/

6. Ladybug story time - http://ladybugstorytime.blogspot.com

7. The nerds wife - http://thenerdswife.com/

Monday, May 28, 2012

Fitness journey update

So I've lost 10lbs total !!!!!! It hasn't been easy but I am honestly enjoying it! I eat well I'm far from hungry which is a drag with most diet and exercise changes. I have started drinking protein shakes which also help with keeping you fuller longer. Chocolate has been by far my favorite shake, but really who doesn't love chocolate and at only 50 calories its a win for me.
As far as exercise goes my new Polar watch has been amazing, yes a little pricey at $90 but well worth the money! I get to see how many calories I burn and most importantly what my heart rate is doing.

I have found that Cardio is my most favorite type of exercise but as in everything if you don't mix it up you get bored. So I came across this work out DVD by Starz Global ...


Girls this is amazing! Cardio in 5 different styles including kickboxing and weights it has everything! and its broken down into 10 minute sections so some days when you are low on time you can still have an awesome work out! Great for us busy moms with kids at our ankles.

Its the little things that make me happy lol. I will keep you updated on my journey to the summer Bikini body.



Everything in this post is my personal opinion and experience, yours may differ its always wise to consult a doctor when starting a new fitness program



Saturday, May 26, 2012

IMM 5/16




 Description from Smashwords
Gabriella and Darron thought their magickal battle was over when they defeated the evil warlock, Richard. When her Aunt Donna seeks Gabriella's help in rescuing her catatonic daughter from the Dark Coven, Gabriella discovers that her cousin holds a power within her that would be catastrophic in the hands of the evil witches. Gabriella's coven sets out on a journey that may be their last. Along the way, they meet new allies, face devastating treachery, and battle not only the Dark Coven, but the darkness within themselves. When Gabriella finally comes face to face with the cousin she never knew existed, her true destiny is unveiled, and the fate of the mortal world is in her hands.

Check out book one!



Thanks to Ms Deluca for sending me the book... Find more about Laura on Twitter

Friday, May 18, 2012

Rachel Hawkins - Spell Bound



Book Description (from Amazon)

March 13, 2012 Hex Hall (Book 3)

Hailed as “impossible to put down,” the Hex Hall series has both critics and teens cheering. With a winning combination of romance, action, magic and humor, this third volume will leave readers enchanted.

Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.
Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?


My Opinion

I was so excited for this book it became ridiculous how much I loved these characters. Rachel Hawkins Witty personality and humor shines threw in her characters, and this book did not let me down. The story picks up with Sophie having escaped with her life. But not knowing whether any of her friends or studly boyfriend Archer are alive.
Sophie lands in the compound of the Brannicks where she finds herself discovering a few huge family secrets! We meet a number of new characters - Finley, Izzy and Torin... more angst, drama and humor a deadly funny combination, Who all play a role in helping our girl save the world.

Smooches, Drama, underworld visits, hunky boys, ghosts, tears and kick ass fights! This book had it all and I am all for happy endings... even the parental love. This book is definitely a WIN and I am sad to say good bye to these wonderful characters.

Rachel Hawkins is a Class A writer and story teller.

IMM- Mothers day Edition


In My Mail Box - Mothers day



Spell Bound - Rachel Hawkins
City Of Lost Souls - Cassie Clare

Crunch Boot camp work out - The Crunch Fitness DVD Series
Heart Rate/ Calorie watch - Polar



Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Lover Reborn - JR Ward


Description
From Amazon

Ever since the death of his shellan, Tohrment has been unrecognizable from the vampire leader he once was. Physically emaciated and heartbroken beyond despair, he has been brought back to the Brotherhood by a self-serving fallen angel. Now, fighting once again with ruthless vengeance, he is unprepared to face a new kind of tragedy.

When Tohr begins to see his beloved in his dreams—trapped in a cold, isolated netherworld far from the peace and tranquillity of the Fade—he turns to the angel in hopes of saving the one he has lost. But because Lassiter tells him he must learn to love another to free his former mate, Tohr knows they are all doomed....

Except then a female with a shadowed history begins to get through to him. Against the backdrop of the raging war with the lessers, and with a new clan of vampires vying for the Blind King’s throne, Tohr struggles between the buried past and a very hot, passion-filled future…but can his heart let go and set all of them free?

My Opinion



Saturday, May 5, 2012

Free book Alert - Laura Deluca

Check out Laura Deluca and her book Destiny! Free!

Coupon Code: DY64R
Expires: May 7, 2012

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/80745

Friday, May 4, 2012

Beyond the book - Fitness


Lately Mama Portillo has been working out. It hasn't been easy that's for sure! I hear so many people tell me oh your skinny you don't need to work out, but here is the thing since having my second child who's now 18months I've gained 15lbs!

This might not seem a lot but for me it felt so much. I didn't feel healthy and that's what I've learnt skinny does not equal healthy. Getting the motivation has been hard. Being a SAHM with two kids hanging off your ankles all day, finding the time was no easy task.

But I figured if I was going to do this then home would be the place I would do it. With my CP it takes me a little longer to learn routines and co-ordination so there was no way I was going to the gym! Many women are self conscious too, whether it's how they look or what people may say.

So I wanted to share with you some tips and tricks I've learnt:

1. Find a fitness home series you love and that offers variation so you don't get bored. I found the Crunch fitness DVD series works for me. I love it because if I find a particular exercise hard then there is always a modified version I can do instead. (some Crunch dvds can be found on Amazon)


2. Don't starve! If you starve yourself when you do eat your body is going to latch on to those calories and it slows down your metabolism.

3. Try to use weights in your cardio routine, weight loss is helped if you also build a little muscle.

4. Don't get upset If the scale tells you that you haven't lost any pounds this week! Remember it's not about pounds but how your body looks. The first 3 weeks I lost 6lbs but on the fourth I gained 2 back. I worked my hardest that 4th week and although I didn't lose any pounds I did gain arm muscle!

5. Time is hard to find! Do your work out when the kids nap or go to school. In your lunch hour take a walk, at the park? While there monkeying around get active!

6. It doesn't have to be expensive I found my wrist weights at 5below for $5 as well as my ankle weights. Walmart is awesome for mats and dumbbells! You have all you need for your work out and it costs less then a gym membership!
I didn't even pay for my routine DVDs there all on Netflix which I was already a member.

7. Get the facts, research and motivational advice - Instagram believe it or not is awesome for this! Also there are a lot of new apps such as "Nike training center" FREE! Also awesome plans and tips HERE:  http://www.bodybuilding.com/

8. Drink water sometimes we mistake our hunger, drink a glass of water before you eat.

9. Pills don't work for a healthy lifestyle but you can find natural supplements to help boost our metabolism just as green tea.

10. Have fun! If you don't like it you won't do it.

So that's it!! I will let you know how am doing, if you are exercising let me know how you are doing also.
Please guys be sensible when exercising these are my personal opinions it maybe be different for you, also its wise to get your doctors advice before altering your lifestyle.