About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Friday, August 31, 2012

Hostile Take over -Joey W. Hill

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About - from Net Galley:

Hostile Takeover
Part of the Knights of the Board Room series
Joey W Hill
Smith Publicity -- Ellora’s Cave

Pub Date: January 02, 2012
ISBN: 9781419936449
Genre: Erotica, Literature & Fiction, Romance

Ben is the last unattached member of the five-man executive team of K&A Associates. The other four, all Masters, have found the submissives of their dreams. That's fine. The sharp-edged lawyer knows he's the most hardcore of them all, with extreme tastes as a Master he satisfies physically through experienced...

My Opinion:

Hostile take over is book 5 in knights of the board room series. You don't have to read the others to enjoy this book but it adds to the experience if you know each of the men and there women from the other books.

This book is about Ben O'Callahan the 5th knight and the only one which is still single. His life takes a spin when Marcie comes back into town (Little sister to Cass who is married to Lucas)

From the age of 16 Marcie has had a crush on Ben her confident, her friend..never able to act on her fantasies because of her age Marcie had to bide her time to be able to come back and claim the man she has no doubt is hers.
She has her work cut out for her, Ben has serious issues having been abandoned by his mother and raised on the streets he's never let anybody get close to him.

I learnt a lot too I really thought subs where weak. What a surprise I got Marcie was a determined, strong and smart young woman. I really did like her a lot!

This book is steamy! And not for the weak of heart, it's erotica at its finest.. The sex is vivid and an education! Ben made my heart leap ;)

The characters are unique and different the relationship these men and there wives have together was extremely intriguing... Wow it's actually mind blowing, and while this story isn't for everybody the author did an awesome job creating this world, the characters, the story.. It was sensory over load. I enjoyed it very much... Now I have to read books 1 through 4 ASAP! I can't believe I've missed this series.

If you love 50 shades you'll love these men!

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Free book alert!!!

Free book alert in the Apple iBook store - last checked 8/27/12. Check it out! I don't know how long this hot find will last.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Young Adult/ teen

Fallen Star - Jessica Sorensen

For eighteen year-old Gemma, life has never been normal. Up until recently, she has been incapable of feeling emotion. And when she’s around Alex, the gorgeous new guy at school, she can feel electricity that makes her skin buzz. Not to mention the monsters that haunt her nightmares have crossed over into real-life. But with Alex seeming to hate her and secrets popping up everywhere, Gemma’s life is turning into a chaotic mess. Things that shouldn’t be real suddenly seem to exist. And as her world falls apart, figuring out the secrets of her past becomes a matter of life and death.

Friday, August 24, 2012

Bared to You book review

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Book Description from Amazon

Publication Date: June 12, 2012 | Series: A Crossfire Novel
"If I were to recommend any book today to readers who enjoyed 50 Shades...this would be the first one I would offer....scorching love scenes."--Dear Author

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness...

He was beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I'd never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily...

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other's most private worlds...and desires.

The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn't tear us apart...

My Opinion:

I've heard so many people compare this book to 50 Shades of Grey. It's true if your having 50 withdrawal you'll love Gideon Cross. I know I did...

Gideon on the surface has it all drop dead gorgeous and a billionaire who has women falling at his feet. Nobody sees the broken mess he is underneath the Prada suit until Eva.

Eva has her own issues being a victim of sexual abuse as a child. Even so I find her intelligent, witty and strong. I enjoyed getting to know her as well as the people in her life.

Her BFF Cary adds much needed humor and relief to the book in his own crazy way. He is a colorful character that's for sure... One of my favorites.

Everybody in this story is fighting some sort of issue or demon it makes for interesting reading I read the whole story in a day I just couldn't stop those pages from turning.

While Eva and Gideon's relationship is volatile, hot, heavy and at times damn right erotic I didn't find it too much, often I get a feeling of over kill with books like this. Not this time...this was there way of communicating, having had there rights violated as children in a sexual nature I felt they had a hard time expressing themselves in other ways.

I applaud the author for dealing with difficult subjects such as child abuse and rape. In my opinion it was well written and while this story might not be for everybody I enjoyed it a lot!

I can not wait for book 2 out in October and as Cary said " I live in hope for the happy endings for the F*d up club"

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Thank you Crocs!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and PhotosSo I wrote about how my son got a new pair of Disney crocs while on vacation but the strap broke within 2-3 weeks of wearing them! He was so upset over it too.

I have to admit I'm not a mom who keeps receipts and so when it came to contacting the company I feared nothing could be done.

I aired my complaint on twitter only to my amazement the lovely person who runs the Crocs twitter account contacted me and helped me with my replacement!

They arrived today and I am so pleased. Crocs really came to my aid there staff where nothing but helpful and I am really thankful. I find it harder in today's society to find a great customer service! I honestly dread having to deal with them. Dealing with the People at Crocs was a pleasant experience and recommend them highly!

Thank you Crocs

The Portillo Family

Thursday, August 16, 2012

McCabe trilogy - Maya Banks

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Book Descriptions from Amazon
Publication Date: August 30, 2011 | Series: McCabe Trilogy (Book 1)
Bestselling author Maya Banks’s beguiling new trilogy features three unforgettable brothers risking everything to save their clan and their legacy—and to surrender their hearts to love.

Ewan McCabe, the eldest, is a warrior determined to vanquish his enemy. Now, with the time ripe for battle, his men are ready and Ewan is poised to take back what is his—until a blue-eyed, raven-haired temptress is thrust upon him. Mairin may be the salvation of Ewan’s clan, but for a man who dreams only of revenge, matters of the heart are strange territory to conquer.

The illegitimate daughter of the king, Mairin possesses prized property that has made her a pawn—and wary of love. Her worst fears are realized when she is rescued from peril only to be forced into marriage by her charismatic and commanding savior, Ewan McCabe. But her attraction to her ruggedly powerful new husband makes her crave his surprisingly tender touch; her body comes alive under his sensual mastery. And as war draws near, Mairin’s strength, spirit, and passion challenge Ewan to conquer his demons—and embrace a love that means more than revenge and land.

Book Description
Publication Date: September 27, 2011 | Series: McCabe Trilogy (Book 2)
A warrior is caught between family loyalty and forbidden love in book two of bestselling author Maya Banks’s sensual new trilogy featuring three indomitable Highlanders.

Fiercely loyal to his elder brother, Alaric McCabe leads his clan in the fight for their birthright. Now he is prepared to wed for duty, as well. But on his way to claim the hand of Rionna McDonald, daughter of a neighboring chieftain, he is ambushed and left for dead. Miraculously, his life is saved by the soft touch of a Highland angel, a courageous beauty who will put to the test his fealty to his clan, his honor, and his deepest desires.

An outcast from her own clan, Keeley McDonald was betrayed by those she loved and trusted. When the wounded warrior falls from his horse, she is drawn to his strong, lean body. The wicked glint in his green eyes ignites a passion that will follow them back to Alaric’s keep, where their forbidden love draws them deeper into the pleasures of the flesh. But as conspiracy and danger circle closer, Alaric must make an impossible choice: Will he betray his blood ties for the woman he loves?

Book Description
Publication Date: October 25, 2011 | Series: McCabe Trilogy (Book 3)
In a tale of strong ties and true love, Maya Banks’s trilogy comes to its stunning conclusion, as the youngest McCabe brother uses sword and seduction to save his clan—and seal his heart.

Caelen McCabe’s young, reckless heart nearly destroyed his clan. Now, putting family loyalty above all else, he steps up to marry his older brother’s jilted bride and salvage the uneasy alliance between two clans. While beautiful Rionna McDonald is a fit wife for any man, Caelen trusts no woman, especially not this sweet temptress who torments him with white-hot longing.

As the sacrificial lamb in her father’s power game, Rionna will do her duty but vows to protect her heart and her pride from humiliation. Despite everything, though, the heat in Caelen’s touch melts her defenses, and she craves the sensual delights of a husband who guards his emotions as fiercely as his clan. But when the ultimate battle for the McCabe legacy is upon them, Rionna’s true warrior spirit emerges. She will risk the wrath of her father, the fury of her enemies, and her life to prove to Caelen that his wife’s love is too precious to lose.

My Opinion:

A woman needs to fan herself after reading these books! The brothers are some fine men! The author did an amazing job at creating a whole world her characters have such personalities. The women where just as fiesty as the men, determined and strong in there own right.
I loved everything about these books I enjoyed learning of the characters pasts and watching there future develop.
I can not fault these books the story and plot were truly well thought out, I read all 3 books in 4 days I couldn't put them down.
I recommend this trilogy to any fan of Karen Marie Monings - Highlander series.

I finished these books yesterday and I'm still thinking about them. I laughed, I cried, I blushed, Great read bravo Ms Banks!

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Stacey Joy Netzel - Lost in Italy


Book Description from Amazon
Publication Date: October 25, 2011
The best laid plans...

Halli Sanders spent two years planning the trip of a lifetime to Italy. Her itinerary did not include being stranded by her siblings, kidnapped by a sexy American movie star, dodging bullets, or fleeing criminals in a car chase around Lake Como. And that's just in the first three hours.

...often go awry.

Trent Tomlin put his movie career on hold to investigate his brother's murder-ruled-suicide at his Italian villa. He's closing in on the suspects when an American tourist unwittingly films the murder of the retired cop helping him. The killers will stop at nothing to get the evidence--including holding Halli's family as collateral.

Life's a little different unscripted.

Thrust into the role of real-life hero, Trent finds himself falling for the Plain Jane whose beauty blossoms with every challenge they face. But how can he keep the evidence from falling into the wrong hands and get justice for his brother and friend without betraying Halli and her family?

My Opinion:

Ok ok a movie star saving the girl next door from the bad guy, it's every woman's dream! I get it!
Didn't mean I didn't love this book any less it was awesome the characters were full of life and while the movie star plot was cliche getting to the end of the story was far from dull... Car chases, murders, corruption, cons and most important romance. This book truly had it all twists and turns on every page, I read this book in 2 days!

Halli while very set in her OCD ways for normal learns to spread her wings and even though she is always doubting herself she is far from weak. Her sarcastic nature adds humor between her and Trent when needed in a tense situation.

Trent was everything a woman wants, investigating his brothers death he swears he will help Halli and save her siblings.. A noble quality. After having Hollywood scrutinize his every move and never living up to his fathers expectations his ego has taken a hit. He is very defensive living behind his movie star characters until Halli who calls him out on his defensive technique and wants to see the real Trent.
We surly learn you can not believe everything you read in celebrity magazines.

Great summer read! The author did a wonderful job I can't wait to read more!!

Monday, August 6, 2012

50 Shades of grey trilogy

Fifty Shades books Pictures, Images and Photos
Description from Amazon:

Now available as a three-volume paperback boxed set, E L James’s New York Times #1 bestselling trilogy has been hailed by Entertainment Weekly as being “in a class by itself.” Beginning with the GoodReads Choice Award Romance Finalist Fifty Shades of Grey, the Fifty Shades Trilogy will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

This boxed set includes the following novels:

FIFTY SHADES OF GREY: When college student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly Ana realizes she wants this man, and Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian’s secrets and explores her own desires.

FIFTY SHADES DARKER: Daunted by Christian’s dark secrets and singular tastes, Ana has broken off their relationship to start a new career. But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and while Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Ana is forced to make the most important decision of her life.

FIFTY SHADES FREED: Now, Ana and Christian have it all—love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her Fifty Shades will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to turn Ana’s deepest fears into reality.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

My personal Opinion:

Oh my where to begin! Yes I will admit I folded and bought these books. Like every other hot blooded woman I wanted to find out what it was about Christian Grey that had everybody swooning since Edward Cullen.

I will be honest at the beginning I did not like Mr. Grey at all! I asked the question many times as to why my friends liked him! He was bossy and degrading and frankly well a sadist lol.

I wasn't impressed with Ana either, many a time I shouted for her to get a grip of herself and Mr charming. Slowly though the tables turned... I couldn't put down these books that where my guilty pleasure - I read a book a day.

Maybe Ana was seeing something in 50shades that I couldn't?

Then we learn of his struggle with his past, his demons and how he uses sex as a coping aid.
Don't get me wrong reading about the sex was frankly a learning experience lol. But Christian and his past kept me reading I wanted to know why he was the way he was... Ana being the key.

Although Ana was at times wishy washy she had her moments, when she stood her ground and made herself known - a cocktail throwing badass to the good ole Mrs Robinson!
My inner goddess had her pompoms out cheering on Miss Steele. I wanted Ana to get her man, she was the girl next door who was going to win the millionaire tycoon! Go team Ana!!!!

I love Elliot, Ethan, Jose and co...not forgetting Kate who was a hoot!

These books are a page turner, they are an experience- you'll laugh, cry, cringe and yell... The author wants to shock you and will. While there not everybody's cup of tea I enjoyed them enough they made a lasting impression.

I am converted I do want to fix 50shades!!! lol lol. He just has something and I want more of him. I was so pleased with the ending and I adored the extra tidbit the author included at the end of the book- insight into Christen's mind.

As Christen Grey would say "don't over think things" and that the advice I give to those wanting to read these books.

Laters, baby

Saturday, August 4, 2012

J Frost - Once Burned.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Once burned - J Frost book apart of The Night Huntress World.

Book Description - from Amazon
Publication Date: June 26, 2012

After a tragic accident scarred her body and destroyed her dreams, Leila never imagined that the worst was still to come: terrifying powers that let her channel electricity and learn a person's darkest secrets through a single touch. Leila is doomed to a life of solitude...until creatures of the night kidnap her, forcing her to reach out with a telepathic distress call to the world's most infamous vampire...

Vlad Tepesh inspired the greatest vampire legend of all--but whatever you do, don't call him Dracula. Vlad's ability to control fire makes him one of the most feared vampires in existence, but his enemies have found a new weapon against him - a beautiful mortal with powers to match his own. When Vlad and Leila meet, however, passion ignites between them, threatening to consume them both. It will take everything that they are to stop an enemy intent on bringing them down in flames.


My opinion

I've always liked Vlad and his role in the other books as Cat's friend he's always intrigued me and I've always wanted to get to know him better.

I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book and the story did not disappoint. The most famous vamp falls in love with a 20 something young woman with similar special gifts to him. Learning some valuable lessons himself, from his new found relationship. All while chasing down the bad guys and kicking butt.

Lelia is Smart and strong she's a good Match for our headstrong vamp. I loved her right away. It was also awesome to get to know Vlad better and on a more personal level, if not a little disturbing to find he still thinks of impaling as the 'go to' form of torture! Lol.

I enjoyed the new characters this book had to offer as well as new location we actually go to his home! I also was thrilled with the cross overs of the old characters - Bones whitty as ever! And I never get tired of Mencheres

Frost's writing is always first class her characters are always In-depth and hard to forget. She has a way of dragging you into the world she creates and your not satisfied until the last page is turned.

I want more, I need more!