About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Saturday, December 29, 2012

In My Mail Box - last of 2012

It's been a while since I've done one of these!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Thank you to NetGalley for the chance to read and review these awesome titles. I'm very excited :)

Adult read: beautiful Bastard Christina Lauren - NetGalley

Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful Bastard, #1)Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I don't understand or want to honestly, why this was classed as a Twilight type book. I read this book not hearing the comparison until after.. This book is nothing at all like twilight. No vampires, no teenagers, this is not a YA book I can't stress that enough. Beautiful Bastard is an adult story of an office romance.


Bennett Ryan has come home to work for the family media company. He has worked hard and achieved to the highest standard in every area of his career. His family constantly rave about there employee Miss Mills who he just has to work with. He doesn't understand what his family sees, having clashed the 1st day he is not a big fan of this woman who has the mouth of a shrew. But he can't deny she is something special to look at and does her job better then any other assistant he's ever had.


Chloe is not a hostile person but her boss Mr Ryan brings out the worst in her, he's a slave driver, cranky and well a dick. She has worked for the MBA internship program at Ryan Media Group for the last six years.
After a late night at work Chloe can no longer deny that fact that she's attracted to this god of a man and his wicked mouth.
The lines between them become blurred and neither one of them knows how to react to there currant situation.

The angst between these characters in the beginning was some what comical, I enjoyed watching there views of each other change and develop. The sexual chemistry was HOT! And I have to say I really liked the office dynamic.
I enjoyed the feisty attitudes and the witty sarcastic banter between Chloe and Bennett.

If there is more books to come I will read them as I really liked these characters a lot. I read this book in one sitting!! I hope more readers give this story a chance it deserves it.



View all my reviews

Friday, December 28, 2012

Blindfolded innocence - Alessandra Torre

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About: from Amazon

FIRST TIME IN PRINT UNABRIDGED EDITION
"I'm not sure what you have been told about me, but I'm not nearly as bad as they make me out to be." His deliciously deep voice carried a little bit of ego.

I'm sure you are exactly as bad as they make you out to be....

Brad De Luca is used to getting whatever, and whomever, he wants. The premier divorce attorney in town, he is a forty-year-old playboy who's bedded half the city-including his own clients. And when the newest intern at his firm poses a challenge, his seductive prowess goes into overdrive.

Pre-law student Julia Campbell is fresh off a failed engagement and happy with her new independence. Even if she weren't warned away from Brad at every turn, she'd know he was bad news. The last thing she needs is an older man who could destroy her job prospects, not to mention her innocence. But before she knows it, the incorrigible charmer has her under his spell. His deviant tastes plunge her deep into a forbidden world of sexual exploration...but her heart may not survive the fall.

Contains Graphic Content


My opinion:

First of all do not pick up this book thinking this is another Christian Grey. Brad is no Christian Grey he doesn't needed to be fixed and as far as I can tell from this story he has no demons. He's a man who knows what he wants and as a hot shot lawyer it normally means he gets what he wants. There is no apology for his life style or kinky preferences. This book is a shocking and riveting read that I couldn't of put down even if I wanted too, I can see why Julia was attracted to this man he's an enigma, a power source you can't help be drawn too.

He comes across as a pig at times but he's an honest pig which I liked what you see is what you got. Why should he offer apologies just because his needs are not seen as the social norm? This is no Betty Crocker romance it's gritty and dirty and while Julia and Brad seem so different in certain ways I found them compatible.
Julia seemed to want more from her sexual life which always fell short. Brad opened her up to experiences she ever thought were possible for her.

What I didn't expect was the vulnerability we seen within him later in the story. He viewed Julia differently, she wasn't just another girl. He needed her in his life maybe not in the conventional way but it was more then what he thought himself capable of.... Maybe it's the romantic in me but I hold onto the hope she becomes all he needs...I need more of this couple it can't end like this!!

It was $2.50 well spent for my new kindle.

Want to buy it on paperback?

Product Details

Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: Harlequin HQN; Original edition (June 18, 2013)


Friday, December 21, 2012

NetGalley read: Highlander most wanted -Maya Banks

ARC from NetGalley thanks to Random House
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About (from Goodreads)

In Highlander Most Wanted, a reclusive woman content to live in the shadows shows a Highland warrior the true meaning of love.

Genevieve McInnes is locked behind the fortified walls of McHugh Keep, captive of a cruel laird who takes great pleasure in ruining her for any other man. Yet when Bowen Montgomery storms the gates on a mission of clan warfare, Genevieve finds that her spirit is bent but not broken. Still, her path toward freedom remains uncertain. Unable to bear the shame of returning to a family that believes her dead or to abandon others at the keep to an imposing new laird, Genevieve opts for the peaceful life of an abbess. But Bowen’s rugged sensuality stirs something deep inside her that longs to be awakened by his patient, gentle caress—something warm, wicked, and tempting.

Bowen seizes his enemy’s keep, unprepared for the brooding and reclusive woman who captures his heart. He’s enchanted by her fierce determination, her unusual beauty, and her quiet, unfailing strength. But wooing her will take more than a seasoned seducer’s skill. For loving Genevieve, he discovers, means giving her back the freedom that was stolen from her—even if it means losing her forever.


My Opinion:

Maya Banks has done it again with Book #2 in the Montgomery and Armstrong series! I am just enthralled with these warrior brothers. They are tough and skilled on the battle field but loyal sweet and caring to there hearts desires. This book picks up where 'Never seduce a Scott' left off
This story was about Genevieve and her torturous year at the hands of Ian McHugh and being an outcast of the McHugh clan.

I'm in awe of Ms Banks and her writing about this difficult subject. Dealing with rape, bullying, abuse it was a fine line which was done beautifully. It brought out so much emotion in me and although Genevieve looked to Bowen to help her in her quest for freedom, we never doubt how strong of a person she is she was beyond inspiring in my eyes.

Bowen was an amazing male lead character and a sincere soul. In his time Many a man would of looked at Genevieve and her situation in a different way. But he took care of her, protected her and made a promise to show her happiness. He fought for what he loved even if it was a hard path to take.

I enjoyed catching up with the older characters from book one again, as well as learning more about the newer characters introduced. I am excited to see who she writes about in the next book this series is a WINNER for me.

Thursday, December 20, 2012

Book Samples!

Thought I'd share this with you guys!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Check out free book offers and book samples here: http://www.harlequin.com/

Tuesday, December 18, 2012

Candlewick Ebooks!

Exciting news Candlewick publishing is now on the Apple IBook store!

Candlewick titles available on the iBookstore include:

Best-sellers and award-winners such as:
From Kate DiCamillo:
Because of Winn-Dixie
The Magician’s Elephant
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane
The Tale of Despereaux
The Tiger Rising
From Patrick Ness:
The Chaos Walking trilogy (The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and the Answer, and Monsters of Men)
A Monster Calls
Wildly popular series like:
The Judy Moody and Stink books by Megan McDonald, illustrated by Peter H. Reynolds
Liz Kessler’s Emily Windsnap series
Select picture books launched for the first time today on the iBookstore – some with integrated audio read by the authors, including:
Squeak, Rumble, Whomp! Whomp! Whomp! by Wynton Marsalis, illustrated by Paul Rogers
Charley’s First Night by Amy Hest, illustrated by Helen Oxenbury
Starting today, readers also have the ability to pre-order select books, including Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephan Pastis

And more!

Monday, December 17, 2012

Karen Marie Moning - Iced

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About (From Goodreads)

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Karen Marie Moning comes the first book in her hotly anticipated new urban paranormal trilogy, set in the world of her blockbuster Fever series.

The year is 1 AWC—After the Wall Crash. The Fae are free and hunting us. It’s a war zone out there, and no two days are alike. I’m Dani O’Malley, the chaos-filled streets of Dublin are my home, and there’s no place I’d rather be.

Dani “Mega” O’Malley plays by her own set of rules—and in a world overrun by Dark Fae, her biggest rule is: Do what it takes to survive. Possessing rare talents and the all-powerful Sword of Light, Dani is more than equipped for the task. In fact, she’s one of the rare humans who can defend themselves against the Unseelie. But now, amid the pandemonium, her greatest gifts have turned into serious liabilities.

Dani’s ex–best friend, MacKayla Lane, wants her dead, the terrifying Unseelie princes have put a price on her head, and Inspector Jayne, the head of the police force, is after her sword and will stop at nothing to get it. What’s more, people are being mysteriously frozen to death all over the city, encased on the spot in sub-zero, icy tableaux.

When Dublin’s most seductive nightclub gets blanketed in hoarfrost, Dani finds herself at the mercy of Ryodan, the club’s ruthless, immortal owner. He needs her quick wit and exceptional skill to figure out what’s freezing Fae and humans dead in their tracks—and Ryodan will do anything to ensure her compliance.

Dodging bullets, fangs, and fists, Dani must strike treacherous bargains and make desperate alliances to save her beloved Dublin—before everything and everyone in it gets iced.

My Opinion:

I have been waiting for what feels like forever for this book. I am a big fan of the Fever series and was not ready to let go of these characters yet.

I've heard a lot of mixed reviews about this book due to the main characters age. But if there is one thing Karen Marie Moning is great at is walking a line and doing it well. Her writing is first class as well as the world she creates.

I don't want to do a review which is full of spoilers this is just one book you have to read and get to know for yourself.

I have to admit Dani was not a favorite of mine in the other books. I was surprised at how much I had grown to love her by the end of Iced, she's hot headed, loud mouthed and her actions often get her into trouble. Her humor is outstanding! The world is over as we know it, monsters are roaming the streets and yet Dani can make you laugh out loud.

She has a special and if not complicated relationship which each of the men in her life.. Dancer, Ryodan and Christian.

I enjoyed each of these characters in there own way and I can't wait to learn more about them as well as the rest of the men in Chester's.

While Dani is only 14 and has grown men around her we need to remember she's never been allowed to be a child, she's always been in an adult world where age doesn't really play a factor, and in UK the age of sexual consent is actually 16. Furthermore all these men are constantly reminded of her age through out the story.

I thought the writing, the plot and the story was paced incredibly well it was so dynamic I could actually picture everything in my mind.

I was left wanting more... I need to know more which I think was the intent! I am in awe of Ms Moning, I will be the first to admit I picked up this book desperate for tid bits of Mac and Barron's and ended up getting a lot more!

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Christmas reading: Katie Lane

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Hunk for the holidays
Forever
Grand Central publishing
NetGalley


Cassie McPherson works for her father's construction company. She really wants to be out in the field but since her fathers bypass surgery she's keen not to upset him. She works long hours so to keep her family from pestering her about dating she hires male escorts.

Her friend and assistant Amy puts her in heels too high and a dress to short for the annual Christmas party. When James shows up she mistakes him for the male escort, and is to busy firing off instructions for him to follow she doesnt realize hes not. James is actually the McPhersons' competitor in the construction business.
But James finds himself so enthralled with this wild cat of a woman he becomes hesitant to tell her the truth.

I loved this quirky story it was rather straight forward reading and you knew it's going to be a happy ending from page 1, but it didn't make it any less enjoyable. The plot moved at the perfect pace.
Although the story was mainly about Cassie I had great pleasure in reading about the meddling great aunt who in old age had nothing better to do then match make for her nieces and nephews. What a dynamic character I found her to be she had humor in the bucket loads!

Even though the Mcpherson's seemed a crazy and hectic bunch you can tell they were loyal to the end. Each character was a special personality that made me keep reading, especially Rory and Amy.
I hope the author expands on some of these characters so we can learn more about them.
Great holiday reading!

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Want to win a ARC?

by Shiloh Walker

From the national bestselling author of The Departed comes an all new novel of danger, intrigue, and a love stronger than death...

AN ETERNAL DESIRE


With his strong psychic ability, FBI Agent Joss Crawford longs for the woman he loved in a past life. But after years of searching, a new case is drawing him into the last place he'd ever want to find her: an underground slave ring. Going undercover to infiltrate the network, he meets Drucella Chapman--the mastermind's fiancee. Joss has every reason to believe she's evil. So why is he irresistibly drawn to her?

A DANGEROUS GAME


Drucella has made it her personal mission to bring the slave ring down. But the sadistic ring leader is even more careful than he is cruel. In order to gain information, Dru has had to get close to the very man she wishes to kill, psychically reading his memories bit by bit. she'd do anything to finish the job, but agreeing to marry him may have been a step too far--even for her.

A FATEFUL ENCOUNTER


Though Joss and Dru are both undercover, nothing can disguise the sense of deja vu they experience when they meet. Neither can afford to be distracted from the mission at hand, but perhaps their reunion is exactly what this mission needs...

Head over to Shiloh Walker website and enter!

http://www.shilohwalker.com/

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Gift giving book idea

Wondering what books to give the little ones this Christmas?

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I have been a fan of the Howard B books for a while and I love this story especially. Our friend Howard has a problem with sharing, but it's Christmas!
This book takes us on a Journey of learning right from wrong in a wonderfully cute and understandable way.
The pictures are just beautiful and to compliment the books there is a Howard B website with coloring and topic pages to help us as parents enforce each lesson learnt in a fun way. Check them out here: http://wedolisten.org/




Monday, December 10, 2012

Shadow's Claim - Kresley Cole


Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

About (from the book)

#1 New York Times bestseller Kresley Cole introduces The Dacians: Realm of Blood and Mist, a new paranormal series following the royal bloodline of Dacia, a vampire kingdom hidden within the Lore of the Immortals After Dark.
Shadow’s Claim features Prince Trehan, a ruthless master assassin who will do anything to possess Bettina, his beautiful sorceress mate, even compete for her hand in a blood-sport tournament— to the death.

HE WON’T BE DENIED

Trehan Daciano, known as the Prince of Shadows, has spent his life serving his people—striking in the night, quietly executing any threat to their realm. The coldly disciplined swordsman has never desired anything for himself—until he beholds Bettina, the sheltered ward of two of the Lore’s most fearsome villains.

SHE’S BOUND TO ANOTHER

Desperate to earn her guardians’ approval after a life-shattering mistake, young Bettina has no choice but to marry whichever suitor prevails—even though she’s lost her heart to another. Yet one lethal competitor, a mysterious cloaked swordsman, invades her dreams, tempting her with forbidden pleasure.

A BATTLE FOR HER BODY AND SOUL

Even if Trehan can survive the punishing contests to claim her as his wife, the true battle for Bettina’s heart is yet to come. And unleashing a millennium’s worth of savage need will either frighten his Bride away—or stoke Bettina’s own desires to a fever pitch. .

My Opinion:

This is one of my most favorite series. I've been invested in the world Kresley Cole has created for some time. Action packed and vivid you can't help but love these characters and Shadows Claim did not disappoint.

Trehan is an older Vampire who has lived for his kingdom for as long as he can remember. He's on a mission to find a tracker who broke a law, that last thing he expects to find is a 20 something sorceress who makes his heart beat again!

Bettina although may appear weak and dependent on others is actually far from it. She's loyal even when it lands her in trouble and fights for what she wants. She is the complete opposite to Trehan but compliments him well. She is able to teach this much older Vampire things and view the world differently, she gives him meaning.

I enjoyed the plot and getting to learn about new characters in he Lore as well as catch up with some old friends - Lothaire, Elizabeth, Sabine and many more. This is just one series that has huge potential and keeps getting better and better!

Kudos Ms Cole A+ as ever I really can't fault.... Sabine's sister needs her own story ASAP!! After being kidnapped by her life enemy I hope her book is coming next.. I simply can't wait!

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Free Ebook Alert!

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

“Her first thought: “Who are you?”

It’s the morning after her cousin’s bachelorette party in Vegas and Megan Scott wakes up with the mother of all hangovers. Even worse, she’s in a stranger’s penthouse having woken up with something else as well - a funny, arrogant, sexy…husband!

Up until now, finding even a boyfriend had seemed impossible - been there, got the broken heart, sworn off men for good. Then a few martinis with Carter…no, Conner Reed and she’s gone from first meet to marriage in one night!

Megan wants a lawyer. But Connor’s shocking bombshell?

“I don’t want a divorce”

Excerpt From: Mira Lyn Kelly. “Waking Up Married.” Harlequin, 2012. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

Check out this book on the iBookstore

I did read this book and found it a witty, fast and enjoyable. The characters were fun and colorful but dealing with difficult relationship issues from there past. Throw Vegas, Chocolate Martini's and a chapel into the mix and it makes for some great reading! I read it in one sitting and was rooting for this shot gun marriage from page 1.