About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Christmas Haul


The awesome gift books!


Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos



Beautiful Bombshell - Novella-

When Max, Henry, and Will steal Bennett away for a weekend of shenanigans and strippers in Vegas, the first stop of the night doesn’t go at all as planned. With their scheme for a Guys Weekend completely derailed anyway, Max and Bennett begin to play a wild game of stealth and secrecy in order to have their bombshells all over Sin City. 


 Beautiful Player - A bombshell bookworm. A chronic Casanova. And a lesson in chemistry too scandalous for school. When Hanna Bergstrom receives a lecture from her overprotective brother about neglecting her social life and burying herself in grad school, she's determined to tackle his implied assignment: get out, make friends, start dating. And who better to turn her into the sultry siren every man wants than her brother's gorgeous best friend, Will Sumner, venture capitalist and unapologetic playboy? Will takes risks for a living, but he's skeptical about this challenge of Hanna's¿until the wild night his innocently seductive pupil tempts him into bed - and teaches him a thing or two about being with a woman he can't forget. Now that Hanna's discovered the power of her own sex appeal, it's up to Will to prove he's the only man she'll ever need. 

©2013 Christina Lauren; (P)2013 Simon & Schuster 


 The Submissive - about from Amazon: 
 Book Description Publication
 Date: February 7, 2013 
Book One of the Submissive Trilogy More than 8 Million Reads Online The first in Tara Sue Me’s seductive and scandalous series that has enthralled millions…

 Abby King has a secret fantasy. New York knows Nathaniel West as the brilliant and handsome CEO of West Industries, but Abby knows he’s more: a sexy and skilled dominant who is looking for a new submissive. Yearning to experience a world of pleasure beyond her simple life as a librarian, Abby offers herself to Nathaniel, to fulfill her most hidden desires. After only one weekend with the Master, Abby knows she needs more, and fully submits to Nathaniel’s terms. But despite the pleasure he takes in Abby’s willing spirit, the Nathaniel hidden behind the rules remains cold and distant. As Abby falls deeper into his tantalizing world of power and passion, she fears that Nathaniel’s heart may be beyond her reach—and that her own might be beyond saving…

 Now comes The Dominant, the continuation of the tantalizing trilogy by Tara Sue Me, which has captivated millions and made its way onto the New York Times bestseller list…

 Nathaniel West doesn’t lose control. As the playboy CEO of West Industries, he governs the boardroom during the day; as a strict dominant with exacting rules, he commands the bedroom at night. He never takes on inexperienced submissives, but when Abigail King’s application comes across his desk, he breaks his own restrictions and decides to test her limits. Abby’s combination of innocence and willingness is intoxicating, and Nathaniel is soon determined to collar her as his own. As long as she follows his orders and surrenders herself fully to him, no one will get hurt. But when Nathaniel begins falling for Abby on a deeper level, he realizes that the trust must go both ways—and he has secrets which could bring the foundations of their entire relationship crashing down...

Monday, December 16, 2013

H.M Ward - The Arrangement

The Arrangement: The Ferro Family (The Arrangement, #1)The Arrangement: The Ferro Family by H.M. Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

H.M Ward -The Arrangement: this book is as far a 12 part serial story. I fell upon the Ferro family after reading Damaged which deals with another brother.

The Arrangement is about Sean Ferro a jaded business man who's dealt with a lot of heartache and darkness and now carries those ghosts with him.
That is until he meets Avery one night who is chasing after her car which was just car jacked and he stops to offers help.
He can't help but be drawn to her charismatic personality it brings light to his soul.

Little does he know that Avery is dealing with her own grief which Is eating her alive slowly, and there paths will soon cross with her new job as a call girl.

This is a couple that is dealing with heart breaking dark issues, who are trying to take solace in each other. The relationship they have is not conventional but you can't help but want a happy ending for them. When they are together it's mind blowing good!

Quote:

"People that are only there during the good times suck. I’ve had enough leeches in my life, and I’m grateful for the friends I have now. It hasn’t escaped my notice that the people that I like the most are the kind that have been beaten by this life and didn’t lie down, face first, in the dust. We gravitate toward one another. Maybe no one has an ordinary life, but since that’s what I’m striving for, I’d rather not think about it. Chasing something that doesn’t exist would completely suck." - Avery

"Fear is like love. It has the same depths, the same intensity.” He’s watching me, running his finger along my cheek. He’s concerned that he pushed me too far too fast. Sean continues, “So does pain. You use pain the way I use fear—to forget.” -Sean


I was wary of these books so many people complained about the price of each installment $2.99 for a 100 or so pages which does seem expensive but once you start you can't stop, this became an addiction for me.

H.M Ward is amazingly talented and I don't feel that way often. The characters are so developed and complex you feel like you know them.
You deal with double crossing, manipulation, death and other troubling issues but at the same time will laugh so much it brings tears. Her story telling literally holds its all I'm in awe of her writing skill.

View all my reviews

Sunday, December 8, 2013

Jodi Ellen Malpas This Man

This Man (This Man, #1)This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thanks to netgalley for letting me review this title!

I always love books that are set in my home country and this book had me enthralled from page one with its country manner setting, which hid some mighty erotic secrets.

Ava is interior designer who's very up and coming, young ambitious and very driven. So when she's called upon to design at a rich manor she finds it hard to say no...when she finally meets Jesse sparks fly and the sexual reaction to him is uncontrollable. There are a million reasons why this shouldn't happen but when she's around him she loses all rational thought.

Jesse is a millionaire hot shot with serious control issues and many secrets. He's a man who's never been in a relationship and never slept with the same woman twice until Ava walks into his office and he knew he had to do anything to keep her.

This is intense reading and very fast I devoured every word. I mean Jesse makes Christen Grey seem normal, he's an utter train wreck but you can't help but feel compelled to get to know him...I wanted to know his story as much as Ava!

The sex is amazingly hot and powerful and I was totally in love with Sam and Kate I hope to see more of the blossoming romance between the two friends.

I even liked evil bitch Sarah every story needs a good villain! This isn't a hearts and flowers romance it's dark, dirty and gritty.. you don't have to understand the connection but it's addictive and makes for great reading

View all my reviews
Beneath This Man (This Man, #2)Beneath This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Beneath this man is book 2 in the This man trilogy and picks up where book 1 left off.

Ava has become to need her lord even though he's a neurotic control freak. In the short time she's known him her life has been turned upside down. The manor, the women and now the drinking..what does she really know about this man who's captured her heart, and will he ever trust her enough to truly let her in?

Jesse is in over his head he's never felt this way about a woman..ever! And there has been plenty of them it's making him crazy literally. He's a man with history, with baggage and a dark past that grips his soul. He's terrified Ava will find out his secrets and run.

Their relationship is defiantly not what I consider normal and crazy frustrating at times..the author has you screaming at the pages. But it is definitely a page turner I promise you that

The sexual Chemistry between these two characters Is truly amazing and then there is the drama of getting past all these woman who Want claim to Jesse and all the jilted men who want revenge.

Jesse is a character you want to get to know, you Want to know his secrets and how he thinks, this is what keeps you reading..

Ava has claws when needed and I loved that by far my favorite part of the book was the Ava - Sarah show down I honestly lost my breathe!!

A nice little element was a scene at the end of the book retold from Jesse's P.O.V

So much drama in one book!!!! I loved it!

View all my reviews



Saturday, November 23, 2013

Holiday must read!



This Holiday Season grab the gift everyone wants. Eight BRAND NEW novellas by Eight Best Selling Authors that will light your fire and warm your heart. But be warned, unwrap this collection with caution! 

Hot, Sexy and Bad: A Holiday Collection features original novellas written by New York Times, USA Today and Bestselling Authors: 

New York Times Best Seller Judy Angelo’s Rome for the Holidays’ 

Sexy as sin… 

Arie Angelis is floored when she lays eyes on the handsome hunk seated at the head table at the holiday event she's catering. When she finds out who he is, she realizes he's way out of reach. But you can't stop a girl from dreaming...

Rome Milano is used to getting what he wants but when he meets the hot and heavenly Arie Angelis he learns that he can't always have his way. He's used to calling the shots, but not this time. 

New York Times Best Seller Melody Anne’s Holiday Treasure: An Anderson Series Novella

Tanner Storm — rich as sin, disgustingly handsome, and an unwilling slumlord — is sentenced to live in his run-down building for two weeks, and to top it off, he has to play Santa. He sees only one good thing about house arrest — his spirited neighbor, Kyla. If he gets her into his bed, maybe he’ll forget the leaking pipes, the defective heating, and the mice. Her tragic past makes her a bit vulnerable, but he’ll be out of her life after Christmas Day. No problem. 

New York Times Best Seller Kathleen Brooks's Dancing Beneath the Mistletoe 

This is an extended sneak peek into the first book of Kathleen Brooks' new Women of Power series. 

Elle Simpson's days revolve around expanding the family business into a global conglomerate. Work has left her no time to find Prince Charming. 

Drake Charles hosts a masquerade ball each year in hopes of finding true love. This year's event is unlike any other when a mysterious masked beauty steals his heart and ignites his passions. 

Will this night of romance lead to a happily ever after? 

New York times Best Seller Ruth Cardello’s Recipe for Love: An Andrade Christmas Novella 

A Novella based on The Legacy Collection. 

Before Abby met Dominic. Before Nicole and Stephan got back together. Confessed secrets drove Madison Andrade away from her family and into the arms of an arrogant, lusty Frenchman. All she wants for Christmas is a place to hide, but she cooks up much more than that in their short time together. 

Richard D’Argenson is gaining fame for his talent in the kitchen, but he’s missing the most important ingredient to any recipe—love.

Will he find it in the steamy night they spend together, and can what they share survive an Andrade Christmas invasion? 

USA Today Best Seller Lynn Raye Harris’s Hot Package: A Hostile 
Operations Team novella. 

When Olivia Reese stumbles onto evidence of a conspiracy, there’s only one man she can call for help. Billy “The Kid” Blake is a Hostile Operations Team soldier—and Olivia’s former lover. 

Billy never forgot the woman who walked out on him, and he’ll do anything he can to keep her safe. But as time runs out and the snow piles up, can Billy and Olivia work together without getting involved again? 

USA Today Best Seller Sandra Marton's The Gift 

Kazimir Savitch is a wildly successful investment fund manager, but there was a time he was a soldier in Special Ops. Sometimes, he misses that excitement. 

Ekaterina Rostov is the daughter of a scheming and ruthless billionaire who will do whatever it takes to win more power. 

That’s why he’s arranged Katie’s marriage to a dissolute prince—and why Kaz will do whatever it takes to prevent the marriage, especially after he and Katie spend a passionate weekend in his bed. 

Shadonna Richards’s The Belmont Christmas Bride: The Bride Series 

Olivia McAlister is getting married in the morning on Christmas Day. Her three hundred guests are booked into the hotel and family members from out of the country have arrived—too bad her groom just called off the wedding. 

In steps the hot, sexy and mysterious general manager of the hotel, Dane Romano. He’s not a marrying man but he sure as hell doesn’t want this pretty young thing’s day to be a total loss. Will he come to her rescue? 

'Tis the Season…for romantic miracles! 

Danielle Stewart’s Half My heart: A Clover Series Novella 

This is an introductory novella to Danielle Stewart's new Clover Series. 

At eighteen, Devin Sutton lost his first love, his freedom, and his hope. Years later, the only thing he has on his mind for this holiday season is finally settling the score back in Clover, North Carolina. 

That is, until he crosses paths with the girl he thought he’d lost forever. Rebecca Farrus was supposed to be off living the life of her dreams, not tending bar in some dive. 

When faced with the choice will Devin decide to celebrate what he’s finally found or keep seeking retribution for everything he lost? 


Judy Angelo:

New York Times and USA Today Best-Selling Author

- # 7 most popular contemporary romance author, April 2013
- #38 best-selling author in the overall store, April 2013
- 8 novels hit the top 50 in their categories
- Recent novel, Her Indecent Proposal, hit #23 on the top 100 best-seller list

I'm a lover of all things romance - novels, poetry, flowers and chocolate (Snickers and chocolate covered peanuts are my favorite). I also love visiting romantic destinations - the sunny beaches of the Caribbean and romantic European cities including London and Paris. My idea of heaven - a comfy lawn chair on the beach in the shade of a palm tree, with a sizzling romance novel and a pina colada. When I'm not writing I'm studying Psychology. I find the field of study fascinating. My book shelves are loaded with the stuff (right next to tons of romance novels). Reading is my life!


Melody Anne:


Melody Anne is the author of the popular series, Billionaire Bachelors, and Baby for the Billionaire. She also has a Young Adult Series out; Midnight Fire and Midnight Moon - Rise of the Dark Angel. She's been writing for years and published in 2011. She hold a bachelors degree in business, so she loves to write about strong, powerful, businessmen.

When Melody isn't writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, friends, and pets. She lives in a small town that she loves, and is involved in many community projects.

She makes it a point to respond to all her fans. She looks forward to hearing from you and hopes you enjoy her stories.


Kathleen Brooks: 
Kathleen Brooks is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of the Bluegrass Series and Bluegrass Brothers Series. She has garnered attention as a new voice in romance with a warm Southern feel. Her books feature quirky small town characters you'll feel like you've known forever, romance, humor, and mystery all mixed into one perfect glass of sweet tea.


Kathleen is an animal lover who supports rescue organizations and other non-profit organizations, such as Friends and Vets Helping Pets, whose goals are to protect and save our four-legged family members.

Kathleen lives in Central Kentucky with her husband, daughter, two dogs, and a cat who thinks he's a dog. She loves to hear from readers and can be reached at Kathleen@Kathleen-Brooks.com.


Ruth Cardello: 
NY Times and USA TODAY Bestselling Author of the Legacy Collection and the Texan Nights Series

Ruth Cardello lives on a small farm in Northern Rhode Island with her husband, three kids, three dogs, two horses, and some assorted chickens. If there is a happier place on Earth, she hasn't found it.

If you'd like to email her directly, you may contact her at Minouri@aol.com


Lynn Raye Harris: 
USA Today bestselling author Lynn Raye Harris burst onto the scene when she won a writing contest held by Harlequin. A former finalist for the Romance Writers of America's Golden Heart Award and the National Readers Choice Award, Lynn lives in Alabama with her handsome former military husband and two crazy cats. Lynn writes about hot military heroes, sizzling international billionaires, and the women who dare to tame them. Her books have been called "exceptional and emotional," "intense," and "sizzling."


Sandra Marton: 


Sandra is the USA Today Bestselling Author of sexy, award-winning romances. Her heroes are Alphas and her stories will touch your heart.

I live in New England now but I was born in New York City and lived in or near the city most of my life. It's where I met my husband--I was fifteen and a senior in high school! He was at both my high school and college graduations. We have a lot of shared, wonderful history.

After we married, I taught elementary school for a while. Then I settled into being a wife and mother but the desire to write was always there. I'd written short stories when I was little--the first, which I illustrated myself, I wrote when I was seven! I never really stopped writing and one day I looked in the mirror and said, "Okay, Sandra, you've always wanted to be a published writer. Maybe it's time you did something about it."

I'd always been interested in the complex ways in which men and women relate to each so it seemed natural to start writing romance fiction. I wrote short stories and sold several of them. Finally, I took a deep breath, sat down and wrote my very first novel. To my amazement and joy, Harlequin Presents bought it.


Shadonna Richards:
#1 KINDLE BESTSELLING ROMANCE AUTHOR
AMAZON'S TOP 50 MOST POPULAR AUTHORS IN CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE

Shadonna Richards enjoys reading and writing about the magic of romance and the power of love. She has sold over 260,000 copies of her bestselling romance novels, the Bride Series and Whirlwind Romance Series, in the past eighteen months. Born in London, England, she has a B.A. Degree in Psychology and a Diploma in Nursing. Winner of Harlequin's So You Think You Can Write 2010 Day Two Challenge, she is also a member of Romance Writers of America. She's a proud mommy and wife and lives in Canada with her husband and son.
AUTHOR CONTACT: Email: shadonna@ymail.com


Danielle Stewart: 
Writing is a way to make a lot of different people do exactly what you want them to do. When I can’t get my toddler to listen to me, I turn to my characters. They always cooperate!

I currently live in Charlotte, North Carolina with my husband and three year old son. I have perfected the ability to write in a noisy house and create story lines while folding laundry.

Chasing Justice is book one in my Piper Anderson Series. It follows the evolution of a woman who feels unworthy of love and introduces a colorful and endearing cast of characters who are hellbent on proving her wrong. Due to be released in May 2013 with additional books to follow closely behind.

I love hearing from my readers and always answers all of my email personally. Join my mailing list for updates on contests and new book releases!



Purchase Links:

iTunes | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble

Island Lovelies Book Club will be having flash giveaway's throughout the day for a chance to win an ecopy of Hot, Bad & Sexy. Make sure to pop over for a chance to win.




Saturday, November 16, 2013

Twins where born, they didn't realize it..

I normally don't post things like this on the blog, but I watched this video online and it touched my heart. Sometimes we need a little reminder of the things that really matter in life... These twins where born but where resultant to be separated:

 

Friday, November 15, 2013

Melody Anne Scorched (Surrender bk4)

Scorched (Surrender, #4)Scorched by Melody Anne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a hard review to write, when you find a series you enjoy so much it becomes hard to find fault and honestly I don't want too! Lol.
We watch these characters grow and mature what they thought they once wanted is now something more meaningful. We move from lust to love and it's been a wonderful journey!

This story picks up at the postponed wedding of Rafe and Ari who have just learnt of Rachel's pregnancy and kidnapping, Rafe is ready to go after Ian guns blazing but Ari suggests giving it some time.

Rachel is livid having found she's been kidnapped by the father of her baby.. Ian who turns out to be a king! He's adamant they marry and she isn't impressed by his over baring ways... But she does want to salvage a friendship with this man for the sake of her child which is proving incredibly difficult.

Lia and Shane are having problems of their own, having just found out Shane is secret military and risks his life on missions, Lia starts to question if this is what she really wants. Can she risk her heart that way knowing one day she may just get that call?

Whereas in the other books Rafe and Ari played more of a lead role this book is slightly different, I want to say its split between the 3 couples, the writing skill and technique we see of Melody Anne is AMAZING. Getting to know all couples in depth without feeling rushed has got go be a hard task which was pulled off incredibly well.. I truly fell in love with all of the characters.

I love how entwined all the characters came with one another. I don't think I will ever be ready to say goodbye to them, but this final book contained it all... Weddings, romance, sex, babies, action, drama and enemies!

It really was a win for me! One of my most favorite series of 2013. Melody is a true talent who goes from strength to strength.


View all my reviews

Sunday, November 10, 2013

So Excited Melody Anne book 4 is here tomorrow!!!

It was the night before a great release and Mama Portillo was super excited!!!!!! 







(From goodreads)

The Surrender series has kept readers engaged since the first book hit the shelves. In this final installment to the series, you will finish the journey that Rafe and Ari started, as well as read the stories of Shane and Lia, and Rachel and Ian.

Love and desire run rampant throughout this series, but romance is about more than that. It’s about the small battles that lead to the greatest victories.

Is Ari and Rafe’s love powerful enough to withstand challenges beyond their control? Will Lia and Shane learn to compromise instead of careening between extremes of passion and loathing? Can Rachel give up her dream of living an ordinary life and learn to love King Adriane?

Read the conclusions of these three strong women’s stories, and learn what choices they make. Is love enough to conquer when the odds are stacked against them?




This has to be one of my most favorite book series in a looong time I am so invested in this series that alls I can say is if you haven't yet read these books .... Run Forrest run like the wind and pick these books up!!!! 

Read my reviews from previous books of the series:Here!

Find out more about the series on Melody's website

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

In the age of love and chocolate - Gabrielle Zevin

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos Thanks to Macmillan audio for sending me this copy of Gabrielle Zevin's.. In the age of love and chocolate.

I've been a fan of this trilogy from the start. This story has a dystopian feel with a twist in a world where gangsters deal in chocolate as its against the law. 
We have seen Anya grow and mature facing hard issues at every turn a person her age shouldn't deal with. She's done time, she's gone up against men double her age to fight for her family.. It's been darn right dark and gritty at times and I've loved every minute of it. It's so different to other books I've read, Zevin's writing is amazing and the world she creates is one of a great imagination.

In this installment we see Anya come of age and go into business with her enemy Wins father and the Russian mob is not happy with Anya's business plan. There is a lot happening and at times I felt a little rushed and wanted to just slow down. 

Win is definitely book boyfriend material I'm so invested in the romance of Win and Anya and wanted the happily ever after for these two. Although they spend a lot of time apart in this book there are certain scenes I lived for! 

Great end to this trilogy and if you enjoyed these books as much as me you have to get the audio books. Ilyana Kadushin is one of my most favorite audio readers, she really captures the characters personalities and essence of the story in her reading making everything that more real....  

Friday, October 25, 2013

Want a fast read on a cold day?

Snowbound with the CEOSnowbound wit by Shannon Stacey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thanks to NetGalley for letting me review this sweet and festive romance. Sometimes we need a little straight forward romance in our life and this is what the author gives us.
Adrian is the CEO of a restorations company, he takes old buildings and brings them to their full charm. He's very good at his job and worked hard for the things he has, he's very appreaciative having grown up poor. He knows how important it is to have a capable assistant at his side and this is why he can't follow his attraction with Rachel.

Until they become snow bound at a romantic lodge just before Christmas. With all the roads closed and no clients to entertain there attraction heightens and becomes hard to deny.
Rachel knows this is a bad idea she loves her job and doesn't want to lose it but Adrian is stunningly beautiful, attentive, charming and assures her there time at the lodge won't affect her job... So what's a girl to do?!

Back in the real world is where the fear sets in of a new relationship but will this couple be brave enough to go after what they want this Christmas ?

If you like office romances this book is for you it's a straight forward holiday romance you can pass a few hours with on a cold day. Really enjoyable characters and a great setting.... So sweet so romantic it really appealed to me.

View all my reviews



Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Don't know what to eat?




Healthy eating can be hard going when you first start a new lifestyle. You've made the commitment but now what? Well that's the great thing about this day and age we have the Internet which is packed full of great information, we just have to be willing to do the research.

Healthy foods doesn't mean boring or tasteless you just need to know where to start in order to know how to add and build onto that knowledge. 

Here is a list of some of healthier foods:

Meats always make sure to get the lean option - turkey and chicken are a great source of protein. 

Beans are a must in my house they keep you feeling fuller longer, have fiber and protein as well as other key nutrients. It was said a few years ago that such foods as beans contained high levels of 
Leptin. Chick peas, black beans, kidney beans, Lima beans, pinto and soy

Nuts Almonds, cashews, peanuts, walnuts, great as a snack! Always try to go for the unsalted kind.

Seeds such as pumpkin, sunflower and flax - you can toast them or bake them... You can even add them to things such as yogurt to give it a boost.

Fish - cod, salmon, sardines, tilapia, shrimp and tuna are all great foods and good on calories that also is a great brain food! It reduces the risk of heart disease and said to boost the immune system.

Drinks - Cranberry, orange, almond milk (protein source) fat free milk and green tea.

Green tea although not great tasting helps your insides clean out, it speeds up motablisim and is said to help against cancer... I sweeten mines with my favorite sweetener.

Water water water - it really helps you in your health journey I can't stress how it important it is!


Fruits - apples (fiber try with a spoon of peanut butter) blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, cranberries are all lower in calories and good antioxidants also awesome for women's health ( uti's etc)
Oranges,plums,watermelon (high water content)

Grains - brown rice, rye, whole wheat, corn, oats are a great energy boost that digest easier.. I'm so tired of hearing about how carbs are bad! Our body needs a certain amount of carbs we need our energy. 



Friday, October 18, 2013

Health & fitness video

I made this video after getting so many tweets about my health and fitness journey, I hope to answer some of your questions...



Thursday, October 17, 2013

NetGalley: Safe in his arms - Renee Rose

Safe in His ArmsSafe in His Arms by Renee Rose
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thank you to netgalley for giving me the chance to review `safe in his arms`
This is a romance story with a twist after meeting Zac at her sisters wedding Becca embarks on a weekend long affair with this steamy hot marine, who in such a short time makes his way deep into her soul.
A few months later she's finds out she's pregnant and Zac has been killed in action.

So the last person she expects to see in her living room 7 years later in the middle of a brutal fight with her `supposed` Nanny is her son's father.

Zac Is a spy for his government, never really had a connection to anybody until he met Becca and learnt of his son. He vowed to stay away for there own protection. However when there lives become in danger her knows he will fight to the death for them.

I loved the connection between these two characters and I adored Zac`s special connection with Parker. Becca and Zac seem to continue they're relationship very fast and well who doesn't love a spy who gives into his woman's sexy spanking kink. It made for hot reading... I just can't help but wish it would of happened a little slower.. I would of liked more back story!!

A lot of other readers mentioned the sub/Dom nature of there relationship. In truth they both seemed new to the idea but I liked that, that they where both learning and enjoying together.

Good way to pass a few free hours

View all my reviews




Friday, October 11, 2013

Walking workout

Finding a workout program that works for you can be annoying, I'm the type of person that has to mix it up or I get bored fast.. I feel like I've tried them all.. Crunch fitness, 10 minute soloutions, P90x, Pilates.. The list is endless. But that's the great thing about fitness you can do what makes you happy and what makes you feel good.

I don't know if you guys recall but a few months back I broke my arm in my apartment complex while out walking with my kids. I also have cerebral palsy while mild when falls etc like this happen my body goes into spasm. I'm kind of embarrassed to admit this but since that fall I've been reluctant to go out walking alone again.

Everybody know walking is a great workout source and an awesome calorie burn. I've missed it! So I took to the Internet to find a work out that would incorporate walking... 

This is what I found:



 Get fit with Leslie Sansone! Walk away the pounds

Why walking Is important 


  • Reduce the risk of coronary heart disease.
  • Lower blood pressure.
  • Reduce high cholesterol.
  • Reduce body fat.
  • Enhance mental well being.
  • Help to control body weight



    I've heard so many programs claim a lot but I kind of liked this old school no frills approach. I've been doing this for a week now and really enjoy it. It's simple to follow no crazy complicated moves and while you sweat and feel like your getting a good work out you don't drain yourself.
    They have this little nifty counter on the screen that lets you know how many miles you've walked which is really motivating. Plus you do really burn calories I've been wearing my polar watch throughout these work outs and average 100 cals a mile. 

    Leslie also has a website where you can join her walking challenge for FREE! 
Check it out here: http://www.walkathome.com/walk-social/
** I was not told to write about this program it's my own personal opinion, yours may differ.. Please check with a doctor before starting a work out program**

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Searching for Someday- Jennifer Probst

Searching for Someday (Love Spells, #1)Searching for Someday by Jennifer Probst
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Totally in love with Jennifer Probst she brings out the fairy tale romance in all of us `searching for someday` being another hit. I was so thrilled and excited to hear of this spin off story.. The other `Marriage` books being a firm favorite of mine I wasn't ready to say goodbye just yet.

Slade is a jaded divorce lawyer having seen his share of failed relationships he believes love simply can't exist.. He is angered when his socially awkward sister decides to sign up to a dating agency believing she's been taken advantage of he decides to check this place out.. he meets Kate..

Kate has a gift of being able to match couples perfectly she gets an electric currant that runs through her whenever a person has met there soul mate. But she's never had it in regards to herself until she meets Slade..
A man who is emotionally unavailable and believes love is a chemical imbalance, who is a divorce lawyer to boot, she's doomed.
They seem so wrong for each other but the universe has other plans that neither of them can control.

I loved the banter between these two characters, their views on most subjects couldn't be more polar opposite. It makes for interesting reading..watching the attraction between them grow, AMAZING.
The chemistry is sizzling and I'm in love with the creative magical element. I read this book in one sitting it was such a page turner! Even the side characters where so well developed.. you know there has to be more books to follow!!!!!

For those who missed the Conte family as much as me, they do make a come back! It was confusing at first trying to figure out how everybody was related but I think I got it down :)

All I can say is:
Robert oh Robert.. sigh.. I loved the end!

View all my reviews



Halloween treats for young readers...

From Candlewick Publishing

Ghost in the House
author: Ammi-Joan Paquette
illustrator: Adam Record
When a little ghost goes slip-sliding down the hallway, he suddenly hears...a groan! Turns out it’s only a friendly mummy, who shuffles along with the ghost, until they encounter...a monster! As the cautious explorers continue, they find a surprise at every turn -- and add another adorably ghoulish friend to the count. But you’ll never guess who is the scariest creature in the house!
Boo! Watch out for this rollicking, cumulative counting book for a Halloween treat that’s more playful than scary.


My Opinion:

Candlewick always come out with the most amazing picture books for the holidays and this book was no different. This book is aimed at an audience of pre k - 2nd grade, I took 'Ghost in the house' to my sons school for his birthday reading. 
The children really enjoyed the story and became very animated and involved, we all have our favorite Halloween characters be it mummies, witches or ghosts and this story included most if not all of our favorites.
The art work is vivid and beautiful the writing style very entertaining that kept the young listeners attention until the end...

Win!

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Alessandra Torre - Innocence

The Diary of Brad De Luca (Innocence, #1.5)The Diary of Brad De Luca by Alessandra Torre
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received this title from netgalley and was excited to find out more about Brad Dr Luca.
I've said it before and I will say it again Brad is no Christen Grey he doesn't make excuses for the things he wants, he's not a tortured soul. He's a man who knows what he wants and goes and gets it. I honestly like that about him he isn't status quo but he's truthful about his wants and needs.

You can't really read this book without reading Blindfolded innocence this book is entirely from Brad 's POV so skims over the events of book one.

I loved getting to see and hear his thoughts on his reaction to Julia and what was going through his head during there sexual experiences.
However I wanted to learn more, we glimpse at his vulnerability regarding Julia in book one but this book doesn't really give you any more insight.

This is a very short Novella I read it within an hour it contains enough to refresh your memory and keep you waiting for book two.

View all my reviews Read my review for Blindfolded Innocence: Blindfolded Innocence (Innocence, #1)Blindfolded Innocence by Alessandra Torre
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First of all do not pick up this book thinking this is another Christian Grey. Brad is no Christian Grey he doesn't needed to be fixed and as far as I can tell from this story he has no demons. He's a man who knows what he wants and as a hot shot lawyer it normally means he gets what he wants. There is no apology for his life style or kinky preferences. This book is a shocking and riveting read that I couldn't of put down even if I wanted too, I can see why Julia was attracted to this man he's an enigma, a power source you can't help be drawn too.

He comes across as a pig at times but he's an honest pig which I liked what you see is what you got. Why should he offer apologies just because his needs are not seen as the social norm? This is no Betty Crocker romance it's gritty and dirty and while Julia and Brad seem so different in certain ways I found them compatible.
Julia seemed to want more from her sexual life which always fell short. Brad opened her up to experiences she ever thought were possible for her.

What I didn't expect was the vulnerability we seen within him later in the story. He viewed Julia differently, she wasn't just another girl. He needed her in his life maybe not in the conventional way but it was more then what he thought himself capable of.... Maybe it's the romantic in me but I hold onto the hope she becomes all he needs...I need more of this couple it can't end like this!!

It was $2.50 well spent for my new kindle.

Want to buy it on paperback?

Product Details

Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: Harlequin HQN; Original edition (June 18, 2013)

View all my reviews




Friday, September 27, 2013

Marata Eros - A terrible Love

A Terrible Love (A Terrible Love, #1)A Terrible Love by Marata Eros
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thanks to NetGalley for giving me the chance to review this title.

Jess on the surface seems like a regular college girl but she is hiding a big secret from a haunted past. She's running - as the supposed missing daughter for the presidential candidate she knows she can never be found. Memories of torment and even murder at the hands of her step brother keep her laying awake in fear at night. She must stay undetected for her own safety but when she meets not one but two young stunning men that intrigue her those walls and lies she's built start to crumble.

You know a book is something special when from the very start you can't help but turn the page. A terrible love throws you into a scene of one woman fighting for her life and another hiding in fear - it has you hooked!

Jess is a strong young woman who has had to grow up fast and learn to depend only on herself she's mature beyond her years and if not a little lonely and closed off.
If I'm honest I did groan when I figured there would be a love triangle, I'm not really one for a woman torn between two guys.. However who can blame Jess for losing her head a little and wanting protection if not for a short time.

Mitch seems the all American young man, sporty, well mannered, attractive and attentive.
And then there's Cass equally good looking but as a tattooed bike riding club brawling kind of guy it should be an easy choice... But it isn't..

This is a story of so many twists and turns just when you think you have everything figured out a curve ball is thrown. While some events are predictable others kept me guessing until the very end.

I don't want to give to much away but I will say its hard for Jess to know who to trust. A great suspenseful romance - I was team Cas from the start!!

View all my reviews



Wednesday, September 25, 2013

NetGalley - Entry level Mistress -Sabrina Darby

Entry-Level MistressEntry-Level Mistress by Sabrina Darby
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Daniel Hartmann is a billionaire in the marketing world and Emily Anderseon has taken a low position in the design department in order to get her revenge.
They have good reason to hate each other, there fathers where both business partners in the past.. his died and hers landed in jail at the hands of Daniel the man she should hate but has a deep attraction to..

I like these two characters while they know little about each other in person. In theory they know a lot Daniel has had Emily and her family investigated for years, while she's always had a fascination about this older beautiful wealthy man who was the down fall of her family.
On there first meeting the mutual attraction is obvious, the banter between them always sexually charged. The sex scenes are great and I love "two lovers torn" aspect it's very Romeo and Juliet.

However while I enjoyed the idea of the story and thought the authors writing was good, I would of preferred to know a little more about there past history that nobody wanted to talk about! It was the elephant in the room I wanted to know the details of why certain characters acted the way they did. Adding this I feel would of made a good story great.

View all my reviews




Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Happy Birthday

My daughter and I have a birthday 3 days apart! And while mommy doesn't want to remember getting older little Miss Sophia had a blast..


Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

The Step 2 kitchen was a big hit and it was super simple to put together no major time lost or a million different pieces (which parents hate)
Last year I spent four hours putting together the Disney princess kitchen it was a nightmare. Kudos to the toy designers at Step 2

She went to Chuck e Cheese and received free tickets as a member of the membership club ( sign up online it's free)

Her cake toppers where bought from EBay at $7 she was thrilled her cake was a "kitty cake"


Win all around... Now I got 2 weeks before my son has his 7th birthday lol then it's time to do it all again

Tuesday, September 17, 2013

C.C Gibbs All or nothing book 1

This book now goes by the title `All he wants` Knight's Mistress (All Or Nothing, #1)Knight's Mistress by C.C. Gibbs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thanks to NetGalley for the ARC


Katherine Hart is an intelligent woman, a computer whizz and MIT graduate. She goes for an interview at Knight Enterprises. Money is going missing and Dominic Knight needs Kate's skills in cyber forensics. She maybe a small town girl but goes into this interview with eyes wide open, she's done her research on the self made millionaire down to his sexy bedroom kinks.

Dominic is used to getting what he wants, he's a man in control and everything and everybody comes at a price. But Kate is different money doesn't phase her and if he pushes then she pushes right back. He knows he shouldn't want her she's everything vanilla but he's drawn to her in a way he can't understand.

So the offer is made Kate will see out the remainder of her contract in the CEO's bed. But what starts out as a sexual journey develops into something much more.

I loved the characters they where memorable, colorful and well developed. Together they are sexy and I was a huge fan of the banter between them. This book is a page turner for sure that has your blood boiling. There are times you'll love to hate Dominic Knight with his control issues, and there are times you'll wonder where the level headed Kate disappeared to! Sexually charged and out of control is a good description for these two.

This story had its token resentful bitch - Antonia
WTF moment - how about we play Russian roulette with your birth control

Gibbs really does add many factors and elements for the reader. It was lines like this that hooked me:

“I think I love you or everything about you which may or may not be love but close enough to be scary. You’ll forget me an hour after I’m gone and I’ll remember you for the rest of my life.”

I can't say I completely understand the characters or their thinking but that's what book 2 Is for and yes I will be reading!!!

View all my reviews



Friday, September 13, 2013

Petsmart ordeal



We wanted a pet for my two young children and thought parakeets would be awesome since we live in an apartment. 

We went to the store and picked out two Parakeets a blue and a green. The store staff had me purchase all this stuff that the birds "had to have" and I did so happily. 

I asked the staff so many times these are healthy birds right? Because I don't want to have to explain to my young children if one of the should pass in a week or so... No no these birds are checked you will be fine! I was assured. 

Even though they had me sign paperwork stating in rare cases this may happen... No no it's just a formality it never happens.

Low and behold 9 days after I bought the birds on my birthday no less the green parakeet is lying on the bottom of the cage dead. I was horrified my children just lost there grandfather they didn't need this kind of upset. I tell my kids the bird is sick and mommy is taking him the doctor.

I head to pet smart and explain the situation.. So what do you want? well as my bird has a 14 day warranty I want a twin replacement because I don't want to have to explain this to my children!

 Ok I got the new bird but I'm all about questions... Do you know why the bird died?  Will my family get sick? Is it likely the other bird will get sick? The staff couldn't answer any of my questions.. I mean shouldn't they have some knowledge being they care and tend to these animals?

My faith in Petsmart right now is rocky at best this was not what I was excepting at all from them.


Friday, September 6, 2013

Eliza Gayle - Levi's Ultimatum

Levi's Ultimatum (Purgatory Masters, #2)Levi's Ultimatum by Eliza Gayle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thank you to netgalley for giving me the chance to review Levi 's ultimatum. This is the second book in the purgatory masters series which I wasn't aware of until after I started reading but it didn't take away from the enjoyment of the story.

Levi wants to return home after traveling for the past decade. Forced out of his home by a night that destroyed his life as he once known it. He hasn't been able to lay down roots or ties any place else and feels his childhood home can do this.

Upon returning to town he meets Hannah a beautiful 5 year old girl who is very talkative and pleasant he also meets Hannah's incredibly beautiful mom Tori.
The Dom in him must have her she has something about her that his soul craves, and after finding out she works at a club he and his brothers own he knows he must pursue her even if he's warned against the very idea by numerous people.

Tori is a single mom, strong and independent while she works in a sex club..that's not who she is. She wants to make enough money to open her own pie shop and make a stable home for her daughter.

But when Levi rides into town he makes her want things she hasn't wanted in a long time. Her body hums from words alone but can she afford to go after him and put her heart on the line?

When these two characters get together they are HOT. The chemistry is AMAZING and the sex is steamy but what really touched my heart was Levi 's love for Hannah.

Everybody in this story has a secret and the religious element is intriguing. Everybody seems to have ties in some way due to a corrupt sect leader! Two topics I never thought I'd see in the same book come together beautifully.

I can't wait to find out more about Levi 's siblings, loves and more of the secrets that surround this series because just when you think you figured it out there is another twist or turn!

View all my reviews

Thursday, September 5, 2013

Melody Anne Seduced book 3

Seduced (Surrender, #3)Seduced by Melody Anne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Melody Anne - Seduced

I've awaited this title for the longest! It's been pre ordered for what feels like forever and when it hit my kindle at midnight I stayed awake to read it and wasn't disappointed.

This book starts 3 years after Ari and Rafe's breakup, she's teaching community college and Rafe decides to become a history student in order to win her back. Which is no easy task because he as we know is used to getting what he wants..Now he has to woo the woman of his affection and learn to flirt ( which has its comical moments) but when he gets it right boy oh boy does he get it right! He's breathtaking.

Unlike the other books this story is split between three couples Ari and Rafe, Lia and Shane, and finally Rachel and Ian. I've always liked Rafe's sisters they where great side characters and its awesome to get a deeper look into there worlds and romances.
These women are able to bring these hot shot billionaire playboys to there knees! Girl power in full force.

The writing style is different: we get to see experiences and thoughts through all of the characters.. the different p.o.v element really deepened my love for these characters.

This book hit the ground running and didn't stop until The End! It has everything you could possibly want

A troubled tortured past - Shane
A man seeing the error of his ways - Rafe
Forever love - Lia
A love affair - Rachel

If that wasn't enough there is also a ship wreck, an island, a wedding, a baby, a kidnapping and a king....YES I SAID A KING I can hardly catch my breathe.
It was absolutely amazing reading and well worth the wait. I'm a devoted fan of Ms Melody Anne and she really stepped up her game with this series.

View all my reviews



Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Fitness: Weslo Cross Cycle





Weslo cross cycle

As everybody is aware I do try to work out and stay reasonably healthy. I've been wanting some sort of in home equipment for a while. Have you ever researched this? It can be pretty overwhelming and prices can be crazy. In the past I have had steppers and elliptical machines but they have always been big and bulky, living in an apartment this was a huge no no.

When I came across the Weslo Cross Cycle I liked it for several reasons:

It's small and it really is! Being only 5ft2 there was no issue with me using this machine and it takes up the smallest amount of space in my room.
It was only $90 at Walmart I really couldn't justify spending $300 on a machine that might become a clothes rack in a week. I wanted something simple that could give me a work out and that's what I got.
There is also a dial you can turn to adjust the intensity.
When I jumped on this bike you can feel yourself get a work out!

The down side

The resistance strap is made of nylon when I contacted the company about a replacement they said they didn't service this part..how can you not offer a replacement for a bike you make? I really wasn't impressed with the customer service.

I'm pretty sure the calorie counter isn't accurate I mean I'm pretty sure I can't burn 80 calories in 3 minutes as much as I'd love that to be the case.

All in all:

Don't buy this machine excepting $300 quality because it's just not there.
What I will advise is if you do buy this machine from the likes of walmart get the extended warranty it's only $9 for two years and in that time you can return your machine if something should go wrong. That way you will still get value for money... you do get a work out that's simple and straight forward, I'm able to work up a sweat. But don't use the calorie counter as gospel because personally I think it's way off.

Friday, August 30, 2013

Summer run down

They say Labor Day Weekend is the unofficial end to summer! It seems to have gone by so quickly, did you guys do anything fun? It wasn't until I sat down and thought about it that I realized my kids did a crazy amount of fun stuff..

So here was a run down of our summer:

My parents came for 2 weeks from England we where thrilled to see them after a year apart;


  • Trip to N. Falls NYC
  • 9/11 Memorial
  • Liberty Bell P.A
  • Weekend in AC to see the sand castle contest
  • Jump Zone inflatable indoor jump fun (castles etc)
  • Sandy Hook Beach
  • pool fun
  • Turtle Back Zoo
  • Crayola Factory Experience


Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Although I'm sad to say farewell to the sunshine I do look forward to fall.. Pumpkin picking Treat or treat I get to wear my uggs!! And pumpkin spice coffee ... It's the little things in life that make me :)

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Bonds of Hope Lynda Aicher bk4

Bonds of Hope (Wicked Play, #4)Bonds of Hope by Lynda Aicher
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Bonds of hope - Lynda Aicher
I've been a fan of this series since book one I eagerly await each book and bonds of hope did not disappoint.

Quinn Andrews shot to fame as a child actor now at the age of 25 she wants to leave that image behind for more grown up roles. She visits the Den as a means of research for an upcoming tv series. Marcus is the Dom that is volunteered to teach her the life style. Quinn finds him so stunningly attractive its hard for her to remember that this is just for TV.

Marcus isn't thrilled about being volunteered to teach a Hollywood diva how to be the perfect sub. That's until he meets Quinn Andrews she's so perfect for him and speaks to his soul he wants to protect her, brand her, make her his. Marcus makes it his mission to find out who the woman behind the actress truly is and how he can keep her in his life.

This was epic reading!! As much as I loved book 3 I thought it lacked intimacy...bonds of hope had it by the bucket load. The intensity of these two characters was amazing it blew me away, Aichers writing really painted a vivid picture. I fell in love with Quinn and Marcus they where just so sexy together it made my toes curl nd heart melt.

I also really enjoy the recurring characters and catching little glimpses into there lives and how their relationships are developing. I'm also excited about the new characters... I was on the fence about adding new people but it's really paid off and I'm super happy the series can continue.

I look forward to reading more.. I'm totally in love and invested in these characters it's one of my most favorite series of 2013. Lynda Aicher is one great talent.

View all my reviews

Sunday, August 25, 2013

ARC Charlotte Stein Run to you

Run To YouRun To You by Charlotte Stein
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Alissa is a woman who plays it safe be it friends or job she knows her place it doesn't particularly make her happy but she's comfortable. Her only real friend up and left her for an adventure travelling and feeling abandoned Alissa takes a closer look at her friends life in the form of a diary.

Why would her friend have a standing appointment at a hotel every Friday? Taking over her friends identity she finds herself at the hotel. Out of her element surrounded by rich people in rich clothes she trips and falls off her too high heels into him.. The most beautiful man she has ever seen.

Janos is rich and powerful but closed off seemingly bored with "perfect" there isn't an explanation as to why he's closed off from friendships or relationships but he is. His curiosity is at its highest when he goes to an arrangement hotel meeting only to find the room empty so he leaves his card.

"Girl in the wardrobe call me"

This book is from Alissa's POV and this girl thinks and thinks and over thinks resulting in a lot of dialogue. To really enjoy the story you have to get over this because her mind is constantly in over drive from the start. Having said that I really did enjoy this book, these two characters both have something to offer one another.

Alissa is a nieve character who needs a little excitement. She has a poor view of herself and needs somebody to help her broaden her horizons. I've honestly never met a character with worse self esteem.
Janos has experience but needs somebody to awaken his closed off heart. Together this couple was hot I really liked how different they where but how great they came together.

It feels like the first half of the book Alissa is chasing Janos but then the tables turn. I love that Janos can point out to Alissa all the things that he likes about her.
Money and social standing seems to be an issue with this couple and what really made this story for me was when Janos and Alissa opened themselves up and was able to talk to each other about there wants and needs as well as what was important to them.

Run to you throws you in the deep end from the beginning and is all go. This was my first book by this author and I would gladly read more. The only down for me was the lack of back ground on both characters.

View all my reviews