About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Thursday, January 31, 2013

NetGalley ARC The next Forever

The Next ForeverThe Next Forever by Lisa Burstein

My rating: 3 of 5 stars


I got The Next Forever as a ARC from Netgallley... Many thanks to them!

I did not know this was a Novella to another story when I started reading this book, which would of been helpful to know and I suggest reading the first book before this one. Although I didn't I feel a better connection would of been made to the characters if I had.

This Next forever is about two young people at the start of there college education who are in an intense relationship. Although there love for one another is deep and strong they both have lingering doubts about why they hold so tight to each other.. Is it for the right reasons or is it because there afraid of change?

Joe wants to join a frat house he's always had to struggle money wise and joining the house would help him while studying to be a lawyer. His girlfriend hates the idea of frat houses and he's scared about the affect it will have on there relationship.. So he sneaks off to the party alone and temptation is everywhere.

Amy was a bad girl but now she's the good girl, however she doesn't know if she's trying to be good because that's what others want of her or because that's what she wants for herself.
So when the college bad boy asks her to go to a party with him she uses it as a test to see what the out come will be.

I did enjoy this book I liked the style of writing very much and the different points of view between Amy and Joe.
This is a well written story of two people trying to find there own identity, I just wish I would of had a deeper understanding of the characters and Amy's history which I guess I would have if I would of read book 1 !! For me I just felt like something was missing



View all my reviews


Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Zeepad nightmare

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos


I'm not the type of person to just blast a company but I am so sad, frustrated and had my limit with the Android Zeepad 7.0 Tablet PC. My kids have had these tablets a week one of the chargers is broken (yes already) The tablet freezes if it works at all, the volume is bad I can't even explain to you... Nothing works!
So I go to the manual which is a joke to call it that... as only one of the Zee-pads came with the "manual" which is written in broken English to the point it's hard to even comprehend what there trying to say.
The tablet is a cheaply made Chinese product missing its correct accessories.. And so I contact the "seller" to finally get a reply after chasing butt for days. Oh they will take it back but I have to pay for shipping, I can't get a refund but an exchange after fees and only if they deem no damage was inflicted on the tablet...At this point I can't even cope with this, the tablets are horrible! My kids are in tears and I have no answers for them.

I refuse to waste any more money on these things after the $153 to buy them.. I try and refund with Amazon but see here is the catch they were opened ( yes well hello how was I meant to know they where broken) and Amazon only fulfilled shipment so of course I'm stuck with the seller who has no number for me to call. USA wholesale you suck what kind of company doesn't even have a contact number?

I can't tell you how bad I feel for my children.. Money does not grow on trees it's not like I can just replace these.

I advice anybody considering a tablet for your kids to stay clear of these... iPad, kindle, Nook etc is the way to go... You get what you pay for when it comes to technology :(

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

Post man calling!

In My Mail this week!

My husband was wanting Chanel which runs at $80 a bottle! So I cashed in my Credit card points and got a Macy's GC. I also got an awesome Coupon mailed to me because I'm a Macy's Card holder..  don't often use the card but I keep it for the better coupons and sales events! (great tip)
 I got free shipping because of the original price of the bottle...and they sent me all these FREEBIES which included Dior and Stila Mascara... I spent $20 or so out of pocket total


NetGalley Reads

 
From Amazon

Book Description

January 13, 2013
One night in college can change everything…

Away at college, Amy just wants one night alone without her high school sweetheart, Joe. So when he invites her to go to the library, she heads off on her own instead. How she ended up at a house party with the mysterious bad-boy Trevor is another story…

Joe so isn’t going to the library. He needs space from Amy, too, so he’s decided to rush a fraternity, to get back the swagger he had in high school. But it doesn’t take long for the brothers to invite him to the real rush—where the beer is flowing and one particular girl has set her eyes on Joe.

Over the course of one wild night, both Amy and Joe will have to decide if their futures belong with two new people, or whether the next forever will have their first loves in it.




From Amazon

Book Description

March 1, 2013
"So tell me, suit," she said, as lightly as she could. "What exactly is a virgin supposed to act like?"
Jacqueline's new boss is none other than her friend's older brother—hot-shot lawyer Blake Bennington. His control freakery and his need to always, always be right would normally send fiery, unconventional Jax running a mile—but even she has to admit he looks edible in his bespoke suit!
She's quickly realizing she's way out of her depth…but with this contained, experienced guy, trying to get him to lose his cool is just a little too tempting….
Harlequin KISS has 4 new fun, flirty, and sensual romance books available every month.

Friday, January 25, 2013

Want to warm up?

How cold has it been this week! I have wanted to hibernate all week and not get out of the comfy blankets on my bed.
Looking on Pinterest this morning I wanted to find a great recipe to warm us up for dinner tonight and found this:









 

Martha Stewart Living, January 2006
  • Yield Serves 8           
 
  • Ingredients
  • 4 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 2 dried bay leaves
  • 4 sprigs fresh flat-leaf parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon whole black peppercorns
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 3/4 pounds beef tenderloin, cut into 3/4-inch pieces
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 3/4 cups homemade or low-sodium store-bought beef stock (14 ounces)
  • 2 medium onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup dry rose or white wine
  • 6 canned whole plum tomatoes, crushed
  • 6 medium carrots (about 12 ounces), peeled and cut into 3/4-inch pieces
  • 2 medium parsnips (about 8 ounces), peeled and cut into 3/4-inch pieces
  • 1 medium turnip (about 10 ounces), peeled and cut into 3/4-inch pieces
 
Directions found on Martha's Website

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Amy Noelle Code Red ARC

Code RedCode Red by Amy Noelle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC


Nicole is a woman sworn off men for life after a bad romance in college. Her and her friends have a Code red system..What is code red? well after a drunken night code red was put in place. These girls could date any guy they wanted as long as the guy in question didn't offer risk to them (computer geeks, nerds, and men who live with there mom). After all who wants to suffer a broken heart again!

But Nicole is chose to work with the new suit from New York on a top secret project which involves them sharing an office.. Josh is the hottest guy shes ever seen he practically makes her blood boil and gives B.O.B a run for his money lol. (He's a code red!)

Josh is a sweet heart there was nothing I didn't love about him, he knew Nicole had her issues but he wants her anyway. Stunningly beautiful, Caring and a real gentlemen the chemistry between the two of them is intoxicating!

The whole dynamic of this book is awesome between the relationship Nicole has with her girlfriends and the relationship with Josh this story is a winner.. Seriously funny, witty and incredibly sexy. I was entertained so much I laughed out loud so many times it was refreshing.

View all my reviews

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday!

Waiting on Wednesday!

Ok so I haven't done one of these in a while but here is a book I'm waiting on...

Book 2



  • Paperback: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Gallery Books; Original edition (May 28, 2013)

  • Book 1 in this series would be:

    From Amazon

    Book Description


    February 12, 2013

    An ambitious intern. A perfectionist executive. And a whole lot of name calling. Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard. Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative—completely infuriating—creature he now has to see every day. Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules—or outright smash them—if it means he can have her. All over the office As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they’re willing to lose in order to win each other.

    Tuesday, January 22, 2013

    DIY Mom

    So lately I've wanted a change in my house.. nothing drastic just something nice and simple for 2013 on a budget. I mean really, just after Christmas who has the funds for big changes?

     The thing is I'm the least creative person ever! sigh. My 6 year old is honestly better with crafts then me..
    So I started hunting around and found Wall Decals! I am in love, you just peel them off and stick them on... They come in so many themes! While some can be pretty costly I found mine on Ebay really cheap.. in total I paid no more then $30 and I changed 2 rooms.


    Hows that for money saving design ideas!?



    Monday, January 21, 2013

    What to read next?

    I have noticed when a lot of people finish a book they love, they always try and find something similar to read. So I thought I'd help a little in the matter...

    If you liked: 


    Then try


    If you liked: 


    Then try





    Saturday, January 19, 2013

    Electronic coupons


    Coupons!!!

    Have you noticed the cost of living is just going to the extremes? I remember my weekly food shopping used to be about $120 a year ago and now its pushing $200 + its honestly getting out of control.

    People like to laugh at me because I cut coupons but hey in today's society needs must.
    This week alone I saved $73! That's Gas money!!
    So I wanted to bring to your attention supermarkets are now doing electronic coupons... Many of us don't like to take a handful of paper with us to the supermarket. With electronic coupons you don't need to!
    I like to shop at Shoprite, I logged onto there Website and Registered my Rewards card (for Free) I checked out the coupons they had available and clipped them to my rewards card!

    All I needed to do was hand my card in at the cash register for the coupons to be applied! How awesome is that.

    Thursday, January 17, 2013

    Letter Recognition Issues



    This is the second year my son has been attending school.. he went to Pre K half days which he seemed to excel at and now hes in Kindergarten full days. His teacher and I have noticed hes having problems with learning sounds and letter recognition.
    He is doing very well in other academic areas such as math, shapes, patterns etc. However this whole writing-language thing has really got me worried.

    His teacher assures me he will receive extra help and I have gotten him to do work books at home. It seems to go in one ear and out the other I don't know if its an  actual issue or if hes just not trying to apply himself to his work.

    Any ideas?? Has this happened with any of your children??



    Wednesday, January 16, 2013

    Free Kindle Reads!

    Head over to Amazon these great Kindle reads are FREE right now for a limited time!!

     




    Sunday, January 13, 2013

    Better late then never...

    Christmas 2012

    Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

    Christmas Day in NYC

    Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos


    Mama was extremely happy with her gift!!

    Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

    Wednesday, January 9, 2013

    Sad time for one of our favorite authors

    I woke up and read this about one of my favorite authors today, I was speechless sometimes life can be cruel. Please send Lynsay Sands your thoughts and prayers at this horrific time.

    Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

    Tuesday, January 8, 2013

    Kitty French - Knight & Play (adult)

    Knight and Play (Knight Series, #1)Knight and Play by Kitty French

    My rating: 4 of 5 stars


    I'm aware a lot of people don't like cheating spouses and this book has that, but it also has a lot more. Sophie has been married all of her married life to the one man, she knows he's cheating and its breaking her heart. She tries her hardest to cover the cracks and keep her husband's interest to no avail.

    she's losing herself, her life is boring she's lonely and needs a change. Applying as a PA to the owner of a sex entertainment company adds much needed colour.

    Lucien Knight doesn't do relationships he does sex, he loves sex. relationships hold no place in his life, he knows they don't work. His father cheated on his mother long enough it became the death of her.

    when Sophie falls in his office he sees the same look in her eyes his mother had, he vows to save her and show her she has options.

    This story won't be everybody's cup of tea, it's raw, gritty and highly erotic..toe curling in places. He's a high baller whisking her away to Norway for a week of sexual experiences. while unconventional I see what he's trying to do. Sophie really does need to see how special she is.

    He's an enigma a powerful being but he has secrets and honestly that's what kept me reading. As much as I enjoyed the chemistry between them and the endless sex, I got over it pretty quickly. I didn't need more sex I needed to learn about Mr Knight just as badly as Sophie did.

    This book ends on the mother of all cliff hangers!!!! I want so much for these characters and I want to learn more about them, maybe if they kept there clothes on for more then five minutes we will. The last page or so literally stole my breathe... I hold a lot of hope for book two.



    View all my reviews

    Friday, January 4, 2013

    Bronwen Evans - The Reluctant Wife

    The Reluctant WifeThe Reluctant Wife by Bronwen Evans

    My rating: 4 of 5 stars


    The reluctant wife is a great contemporary romance which I would recommend to fans of Jennifer Probst Marriage to a Billionaire series.

    This story jumps right to it which I liked - Abby got married real young with the perception of Prince Charming still fresh in her 19 year old mind. She was in love and starry eyed for her older handsome and incredibly rich Italian husband.
    Dante however married for the business, his family heritage and the means of creating a son.
    Shattered Abby runs from her marriage only to having to return 3 years later with a favor to ask... Money she needs it and fast to help with her grand mothers heart operation.
    Dante being the cunning business man he is uses this as a means of black mailing her to staying and give him the son he so desperately wants.

    I enjoyed every page of this book, from page one we are aware of the dynamic chemistry between these two estranged characters and it was very sexy!

    I liked Abby she is an independent woman who will do whatever needs to be done. She's brave and a romantic I could really relate to her. (Plus she was English and the author mentions my home city, Liverpool! Thumbs up)

    Although Dante comes across as cunning and cold in the beginning of the book we find he has his reasons. I loved him!! he learns a valuable lesson and in the end knows when to apologize..

    This couple goes through a lot but I feel it only helped them grow and mature. I laughed, I cried and cheered for them. I ate up there endless banter and steaming chemistry that at points had my toes curling!

    While the plot was easy to predict it didn't take away from the story, I wished it hadn't of took this couple 3 years to find there way. I hope we get to see these characters again..



    View all my reviews

    Wednesday, January 2, 2013

    Giveaway time - tell your friends!!! :)

    New year! New giveaway....Audio book style!

    Hidden (on the cd)
    PC Cast

    At last, Zoey has what she wanted: the truth is out. Neferet's evil has been exposed, and the High Council is no longer on her side -- but she's far from done wreaking havoc in the vampyre world. First, a mysterious fire ravages the stables. Then, Neferet makes a devastating move that will test them all.
    With the seeds of distrust sown and Darkness breeding chaos at the House of Night, everyone must band together -- but that's proving to be more difficult than ever before. The twins are barely speaking and the House of Night's former enemy, Kalona, has now become their warrior, pushing their trust to the limit. To top it off, Zoey is pretty darn sure she might be losing her mind. She saw something when she looked at Aurox through the Seer Stone that she can hardly explain to herself, let alone her friends. Is it possible that Heath has come back in a different form? Is that why Zoey's so intrigued by Aurox, when it's so obvious that he's dangerous? And who would believe her if she told them? Zoey knows that following her instinct about Aurox might be just what they need to defeat evil . . . but if she's wrong, it could cause the destruction of those closest to her.
    With the tension at a breaking point and friendships on the line, can the nerd herd come together to stop the spread of Darkness before it's too late?

    Outpost (on the cd)
    Ann Aguirre

    Deuce’s whole world has changed. Down below, she was considered an adult. Now, topside in a town called Salvation, she’s a brat in need of training in the eyes of the townsfolk. She doesn’t fit in with the other girls: Deuce only knows how to fight.

    To make matters worse, her Hunter partner, Fade, keeps Deuce at a distance. Her feelings for Fade haven’t changed, but he seems not to want her around anymore. Confused and lonely, she starts looking for a way out.

    Deuce signs up to serve in the summer patrols—those who make sure the planters can work the fields without danger. It should be routine, but things have been changing on the surface, just as they did below ground. The Freaks have grown smarter. They’re watching. Waiting. Planning. The monsters don’t intend to let Salvation survive, and it may take a girl like Deuce to turn back the tide.

    Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

    Rules:

    U.S & Canada residents only
    Must be a follower of the blog
    One winner will have the choice of ONE audio book title

    All you have to do is...

    Tell me what book your most excited to read in 2013!

    Winner will be picked by random 2/1/2013

    NetGalley - The Stranger - Kyra Davis

    The Stranger (Just One Night, #1)The Stranger by Kyra Davis

    My rating: 3 of 5 stars


    Kasie lives life on the straight and narrow she follows the rules. Not always because she wants to but because she has to, she can not be like her sister.. Never like her. She can't disappoint her family even if it means living a life that doesn't make her entirely happy.

    Her friend suggests Kasie lives a little on there trip to Vegas. Kasie is meant to marry Dave not that he's proposed or anything, it's a given after 6 years. He is as dull as dish water and no better then her parents for trying to mold her, talk about step ford wife!

    Simone knows her friend isn't happy in her relationship just honor bound to a guy who frankly comes across as cold. Why not have a one night stand?!?!

    In walks Robert Dade very happy to comply... Only problem is he doesn't stay in Vegas!! But turns out to be her new business client back home.

    I liked Kasie I understood her, she felt the pressure to be a certain way even though it wasn't who she wanted to be. I'm just uncertain of her actions clearly her relationship was very lacking and cold, would you really stay in something that made you unhappy?

    I could appreiacte the chase and work Mr Dade did in order to keep Kasie's attention. But why? Why does her want her. It would of been great to get more of his POV.
    We know he's handsome and rich but what makes him tick?

    Near the end is when everything gets interesting but then it ends!! I'm hopeful for part 2. The stage is set, the plot is there.. now I need these questions answered. I want more insight into these characters



    View all my reviews