About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Friday, October 25, 2013

Want a fast read on a cold day?

Snowbound with the CEOSnowbound wit by Shannon Stacey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thanks to NetGalley for letting me review this sweet and festive romance. Sometimes we need a little straight forward romance in our life and this is what the author gives us.
Adrian is the CEO of a restorations company, he takes old buildings and brings them to their full charm. He's very good at his job and worked hard for the things he has, he's very appreaciative having grown up poor. He knows how important it is to have a capable assistant at his side and this is why he can't follow his attraction with Rachel.

Until they become snow bound at a romantic lodge just before Christmas. With all the roads closed and no clients to entertain there attraction heightens and becomes hard to deny.
Rachel knows this is a bad idea she loves her job and doesn't want to lose it but Adrian is stunningly beautiful, attentive, charming and assures her there time at the lodge won't affect her job... So what's a girl to do?!

Back in the real world is where the fear sets in of a new relationship but will this couple be brave enough to go after what they want this Christmas ?

If you like office romances this book is for you it's a straight forward holiday romance you can pass a few hours with on a cold day. Really enjoyable characters and a great setting.... So sweet so romantic it really appealed to me.

View all my reviews



Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Don't know what to eat?




Healthy eating can be hard going when you first start a new lifestyle. You've made the commitment but now what? Well that's the great thing about this day and age we have the Internet which is packed full of great information, we just have to be willing to do the research.

Healthy foods doesn't mean boring or tasteless you just need to know where to start in order to know how to add and build onto that knowledge. 

Here is a list of some of healthier foods:

Meats always make sure to get the lean option - turkey and chicken are a great source of protein. 

Beans are a must in my house they keep you feeling fuller longer, have fiber and protein as well as other key nutrients. It was said a few years ago that such foods as beans contained high levels of 
Leptin. Chick peas, black beans, kidney beans, Lima beans, pinto and soy

Nuts Almonds, cashews, peanuts, walnuts, great as a snack! Always try to go for the unsalted kind.

Seeds such as pumpkin, sunflower and flax - you can toast them or bake them... You can even add them to things such as yogurt to give it a boost.

Fish - cod, salmon, sardines, tilapia, shrimp and tuna are all great foods and good on calories that also is a great brain food! It reduces the risk of heart disease and said to boost the immune system.

Drinks - Cranberry, orange, almond milk (protein source) fat free milk and green tea.

Green tea although not great tasting helps your insides clean out, it speeds up motablisim and is said to help against cancer... I sweeten mines with my favorite sweetener.

Water water water - it really helps you in your health journey I can't stress how it important it is!


Fruits - apples (fiber try with a spoon of peanut butter) blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, cranberries are all lower in calories and good antioxidants also awesome for women's health ( uti's etc)
Oranges,plums,watermelon (high water content)

Grains - brown rice, rye, whole wheat, corn, oats are a great energy boost that digest easier.. I'm so tired of hearing about how carbs are bad! Our body needs a certain amount of carbs we need our energy. 



Friday, October 18, 2013

Health & fitness video

I made this video after getting so many tweets about my health and fitness journey, I hope to answer some of your questions...



Thursday, October 17, 2013

NetGalley: Safe in his arms - Renee Rose

Safe in His ArmsSafe in His Arms by Renee Rose
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Thank you to netgalley for giving me the chance to review `safe in his arms`
This is a romance story with a twist after meeting Zac at her sisters wedding Becca embarks on a weekend long affair with this steamy hot marine, who in such a short time makes his way deep into her soul.
A few months later she's finds out she's pregnant and Zac has been killed in action.

So the last person she expects to see in her living room 7 years later in the middle of a brutal fight with her `supposed` Nanny is her son's father.

Zac Is a spy for his government, never really had a connection to anybody until he met Becca and learnt of his son. He vowed to stay away for there own protection. However when there lives become in danger her knows he will fight to the death for them.

I loved the connection between these two characters and I adored Zac`s special connection with Parker. Becca and Zac seem to continue they're relationship very fast and well who doesn't love a spy who gives into his woman's sexy spanking kink. It made for hot reading... I just can't help but wish it would of happened a little slower.. I would of liked more back story!!

A lot of other readers mentioned the sub/Dom nature of there relationship. In truth they both seemed new to the idea but I liked that, that they where both learning and enjoying together.

Good way to pass a few free hours

View all my reviews




Friday, October 11, 2013

Walking workout

Finding a workout program that works for you can be annoying, I'm the type of person that has to mix it up or I get bored fast.. I feel like I've tried them all.. Crunch fitness, 10 minute soloutions, P90x, Pilates.. The list is endless. But that's the great thing about fitness you can do what makes you happy and what makes you feel good.

I don't know if you guys recall but a few months back I broke my arm in my apartment complex while out walking with my kids. I also have cerebral palsy while mild when falls etc like this happen my body goes into spasm. I'm kind of embarrassed to admit this but since that fall I've been reluctant to go out walking alone again.

Everybody know walking is a great workout source and an awesome calorie burn. I've missed it! So I took to the Internet to find a work out that would incorporate walking... 

This is what I found:



 Get fit with Leslie Sansone! Walk away the pounds

Why walking Is important 


  • Reduce the risk of coronary heart disease.
  • Lower blood pressure.
  • Reduce high cholesterol.
  • Reduce body fat.
  • Enhance mental well being.
  • Help to control body weight



    I've heard so many programs claim a lot but I kind of liked this old school no frills approach. I've been doing this for a week now and really enjoy it. It's simple to follow no crazy complicated moves and while you sweat and feel like your getting a good work out you don't drain yourself.
    They have this little nifty counter on the screen that lets you know how many miles you've walked which is really motivating. Plus you do really burn calories I've been wearing my polar watch throughout these work outs and average 100 cals a mile. 

    Leslie also has a website where you can join her walking challenge for FREE! 
Check it out here: http://www.walkathome.com/walk-social/
** I was not told to write about this program it's my own personal opinion, yours may differ.. Please check with a doctor before starting a work out program**

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Searching for Someday- Jennifer Probst

Searching for Someday (Love Spells, #1)Searching for Someday by Jennifer Probst
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Totally in love with Jennifer Probst she brings out the fairy tale romance in all of us `searching for someday` being another hit. I was so thrilled and excited to hear of this spin off story.. The other `Marriage` books being a firm favorite of mine I wasn't ready to say goodbye just yet.

Slade is a jaded divorce lawyer having seen his share of failed relationships he believes love simply can't exist.. He is angered when his socially awkward sister decides to sign up to a dating agency believing she's been taken advantage of he decides to check this place out.. he meets Kate..

Kate has a gift of being able to match couples perfectly she gets an electric currant that runs through her whenever a person has met there soul mate. But she's never had it in regards to herself until she meets Slade..
A man who is emotionally unavailable and believes love is a chemical imbalance, who is a divorce lawyer to boot, she's doomed.
They seem so wrong for each other but the universe has other plans that neither of them can control.

I loved the banter between these two characters, their views on most subjects couldn't be more polar opposite. It makes for interesting reading..watching the attraction between them grow, AMAZING.
The chemistry is sizzling and I'm in love with the creative magical element. I read this book in one sitting it was such a page turner! Even the side characters where so well developed.. you know there has to be more books to follow!!!!!

For those who missed the Conte family as much as me, they do make a come back! It was confusing at first trying to figure out how everybody was related but I think I got it down :)

All I can say is:
Robert oh Robert.. sigh.. I loved the end!

View all my reviews



Halloween treats for young readers...

From Candlewick Publishing

Ghost in the House
author: Ammi-Joan Paquette
illustrator: Adam Record
When a little ghost goes slip-sliding down the hallway, he suddenly hears...a groan! Turns out it’s only a friendly mummy, who shuffles along with the ghost, until they encounter...a monster! As the cautious explorers continue, they find a surprise at every turn -- and add another adorably ghoulish friend to the count. But you’ll never guess who is the scariest creature in the house!
Boo! Watch out for this rollicking, cumulative counting book for a Halloween treat that’s more playful than scary.


My Opinion:

Candlewick always come out with the most amazing picture books for the holidays and this book was no different. This book is aimed at an audience of pre k - 2nd grade, I took 'Ghost in the house' to my sons school for his birthday reading. 
The children really enjoyed the story and became very animated and involved, we all have our favorite Halloween characters be it mummies, witches or ghosts and this story included most if not all of our favorites.
The art work is vivid and beautiful the writing style very entertaining that kept the young listeners attention until the end...

Win!

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Alessandra Torre - Innocence

The Diary of Brad De Luca (Innocence, #1.5)The Diary of Brad De Luca by Alessandra Torre
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I received this title from netgalley and was excited to find out more about Brad Dr Luca.
I've said it before and I will say it again Brad is no Christen Grey he doesn't make excuses for the things he wants, he's not a tortured soul. He's a man who knows what he wants and goes and gets it. I honestly like that about him he isn't status quo but he's truthful about his wants and needs.

You can't really read this book without reading Blindfolded innocence this book is entirely from Brad 's POV so skims over the events of book one.

I loved getting to see and hear his thoughts on his reaction to Julia and what was going through his head during there sexual experiences.
However I wanted to learn more, we glimpse at his vulnerability regarding Julia in book one but this book doesn't really give you any more insight.

This is a very short Novella I read it within an hour it contains enough to refresh your memory and keep you waiting for book two.

View all my reviews Read my review for Blindfolded Innocence: Blindfolded Innocence (Innocence, #1)Blindfolded Innocence by Alessandra Torre
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First of all do not pick up this book thinking this is another Christian Grey. Brad is no Christian Grey he doesn't needed to be fixed and as far as I can tell from this story he has no demons. He's a man who knows what he wants and as a hot shot lawyer it normally means he gets what he wants. There is no apology for his life style or kinky preferences. This book is a shocking and riveting read that I couldn't of put down even if I wanted too, I can see why Julia was attracted to this man he's an enigma, a power source you can't help be drawn too.

He comes across as a pig at times but he's an honest pig which I liked what you see is what you got. Why should he offer apologies just because his needs are not seen as the social norm? This is no Betty Crocker romance it's gritty and dirty and while Julia and Brad seem so different in certain ways I found them compatible.
Julia seemed to want more from her sexual life which always fell short. Brad opened her up to experiences she ever thought were possible for her.

What I didn't expect was the vulnerability we seen within him later in the story. He viewed Julia differently, she wasn't just another girl. He needed her in his life maybe not in the conventional way but it was more then what he thought himself capable of.... Maybe it's the romantic in me but I hold onto the hope she becomes all he needs...I need more of this couple it can't end like this!!

It was $2.50 well spent for my new kindle.

Want to buy it on paperback?

Product Details

Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: Harlequin HQN; Original edition (June 18, 2013)

View all my reviews