About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Saturday, November 23, 2013

Holiday must read!



This Holiday Season grab the gift everyone wants. Eight BRAND NEW novellas by Eight Best Selling Authors that will light your fire and warm your heart. But be warned, unwrap this collection with caution! 

Hot, Sexy and Bad: A Holiday Collection features original novellas written by New York Times, USA Today and Bestselling Authors: 

New York Times Best Seller Judy Angelo’s Rome for the Holidays’ 

Sexy as sin… 

Arie Angelis is floored when she lays eyes on the handsome hunk seated at the head table at the holiday event she's catering. When she finds out who he is, she realizes he's way out of reach. But you can't stop a girl from dreaming...

Rome Milano is used to getting what he wants but when he meets the hot and heavenly Arie Angelis he learns that he can't always have his way. He's used to calling the shots, but not this time. 

New York Times Best Seller Melody Anne’s Holiday Treasure: An Anderson Series Novella

Tanner Storm — rich as sin, disgustingly handsome, and an unwilling slumlord — is sentenced to live in his run-down building for two weeks, and to top it off, he has to play Santa. He sees only one good thing about house arrest — his spirited neighbor, Kyla. If he gets her into his bed, maybe he’ll forget the leaking pipes, the defective heating, and the mice. Her tragic past makes her a bit vulnerable, but he’ll be out of her life after Christmas Day. No problem. 

New York Times Best Seller Kathleen Brooks's Dancing Beneath the Mistletoe 

This is an extended sneak peek into the first book of Kathleen Brooks' new Women of Power series. 

Elle Simpson's days revolve around expanding the family business into a global conglomerate. Work has left her no time to find Prince Charming. 

Drake Charles hosts a masquerade ball each year in hopes of finding true love. This year's event is unlike any other when a mysterious masked beauty steals his heart and ignites his passions. 

Will this night of romance lead to a happily ever after? 

New York times Best Seller Ruth Cardello’s Recipe for Love: An Andrade Christmas Novella 

A Novella based on The Legacy Collection. 

Before Abby met Dominic. Before Nicole and Stephan got back together. Confessed secrets drove Madison Andrade away from her family and into the arms of an arrogant, lusty Frenchman. All she wants for Christmas is a place to hide, but she cooks up much more than that in their short time together. 

Richard D’Argenson is gaining fame for his talent in the kitchen, but he’s missing the most important ingredient to any recipe—love.

Will he find it in the steamy night they spend together, and can what they share survive an Andrade Christmas invasion? 

USA Today Best Seller Lynn Raye Harris’s Hot Package: A Hostile 
Operations Team novella. 

When Olivia Reese stumbles onto evidence of a conspiracy, there’s only one man she can call for help. Billy “The Kid” Blake is a Hostile Operations Team soldier—and Olivia’s former lover. 

Billy never forgot the woman who walked out on him, and he’ll do anything he can to keep her safe. But as time runs out and the snow piles up, can Billy and Olivia work together without getting involved again? 

USA Today Best Seller Sandra Marton's The Gift 

Kazimir Savitch is a wildly successful investment fund manager, but there was a time he was a soldier in Special Ops. Sometimes, he misses that excitement. 

Ekaterina Rostov is the daughter of a scheming and ruthless billionaire who will do whatever it takes to win more power. 

That’s why he’s arranged Katie’s marriage to a dissolute prince—and why Kaz will do whatever it takes to prevent the marriage, especially after he and Katie spend a passionate weekend in his bed. 

Shadonna Richards’s The Belmont Christmas Bride: The Bride Series 

Olivia McAlister is getting married in the morning on Christmas Day. Her three hundred guests are booked into the hotel and family members from out of the country have arrived—too bad her groom just called off the wedding. 

In steps the hot, sexy and mysterious general manager of the hotel, Dane Romano. He’s not a marrying man but he sure as hell doesn’t want this pretty young thing’s day to be a total loss. Will he come to her rescue? 

'Tis the Season…for romantic miracles! 

Danielle Stewart’s Half My heart: A Clover Series Novella 

This is an introductory novella to Danielle Stewart's new Clover Series. 

At eighteen, Devin Sutton lost his first love, his freedom, and his hope. Years later, the only thing he has on his mind for this holiday season is finally settling the score back in Clover, North Carolina. 

That is, until he crosses paths with the girl he thought he’d lost forever. Rebecca Farrus was supposed to be off living the life of her dreams, not tending bar in some dive. 

When faced with the choice will Devin decide to celebrate what he’s finally found or keep seeking retribution for everything he lost? 


Judy Angelo:

New York Times and USA Today Best-Selling Author

- # 7 most popular contemporary romance author, April 2013
- #38 best-selling author in the overall store, April 2013
- 8 novels hit the top 50 in their categories
- Recent novel, Her Indecent Proposal, hit #23 on the top 100 best-seller list

I'm a lover of all things romance - novels, poetry, flowers and chocolate (Snickers and chocolate covered peanuts are my favorite). I also love visiting romantic destinations - the sunny beaches of the Caribbean and romantic European cities including London and Paris. My idea of heaven - a comfy lawn chair on the beach in the shade of a palm tree, with a sizzling romance novel and a pina colada. When I'm not writing I'm studying Psychology. I find the field of study fascinating. My book shelves are loaded with the stuff (right next to tons of romance novels). Reading is my life!


Melody Anne:


Melody Anne is the author of the popular series, Billionaire Bachelors, and Baby for the Billionaire. She also has a Young Adult Series out; Midnight Fire and Midnight Moon - Rise of the Dark Angel. She's been writing for years and published in 2011. She hold a bachelors degree in business, so she loves to write about strong, powerful, businessmen.

When Melody isn't writing, she enjoys spending time with her family, friends, and pets. She lives in a small town that she loves, and is involved in many community projects.

She makes it a point to respond to all her fans. She looks forward to hearing from you and hopes you enjoy her stories.


Kathleen Brooks: 
Kathleen Brooks is the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of the Bluegrass Series and Bluegrass Brothers Series. She has garnered attention as a new voice in romance with a warm Southern feel. Her books feature quirky small town characters you'll feel like you've known forever, romance, humor, and mystery all mixed into one perfect glass of sweet tea.


Kathleen is an animal lover who supports rescue organizations and other non-profit organizations, such as Friends and Vets Helping Pets, whose goals are to protect and save our four-legged family members.

Kathleen lives in Central Kentucky with her husband, daughter, two dogs, and a cat who thinks he's a dog. She loves to hear from readers and can be reached at Kathleen@Kathleen-Brooks.com.


Ruth Cardello: 
NY Times and USA TODAY Bestselling Author of the Legacy Collection and the Texan Nights Series

Ruth Cardello lives on a small farm in Northern Rhode Island with her husband, three kids, three dogs, two horses, and some assorted chickens. If there is a happier place on Earth, she hasn't found it.

If you'd like to email her directly, you may contact her at Minouri@aol.com


Lynn Raye Harris: 
USA Today bestselling author Lynn Raye Harris burst onto the scene when she won a writing contest held by Harlequin. A former finalist for the Romance Writers of America's Golden Heart Award and the National Readers Choice Award, Lynn lives in Alabama with her handsome former military husband and two crazy cats. Lynn writes about hot military heroes, sizzling international billionaires, and the women who dare to tame them. Her books have been called "exceptional and emotional," "intense," and "sizzling."


Sandra Marton: 


Sandra is the USA Today Bestselling Author of sexy, award-winning romances. Her heroes are Alphas and her stories will touch your heart.

I live in New England now but I was born in New York City and lived in or near the city most of my life. It's where I met my husband--I was fifteen and a senior in high school! He was at both my high school and college graduations. We have a lot of shared, wonderful history.

After we married, I taught elementary school for a while. Then I settled into being a wife and mother but the desire to write was always there. I'd written short stories when I was little--the first, which I illustrated myself, I wrote when I was seven! I never really stopped writing and one day I looked in the mirror and said, "Okay, Sandra, you've always wanted to be a published writer. Maybe it's time you did something about it."

I'd always been interested in the complex ways in which men and women relate to each so it seemed natural to start writing romance fiction. I wrote short stories and sold several of them. Finally, I took a deep breath, sat down and wrote my very first novel. To my amazement and joy, Harlequin Presents bought it.


Shadonna Richards:
#1 KINDLE BESTSELLING ROMANCE AUTHOR
AMAZON'S TOP 50 MOST POPULAR AUTHORS IN CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE

Shadonna Richards enjoys reading and writing about the magic of romance and the power of love. She has sold over 260,000 copies of her bestselling romance novels, the Bride Series and Whirlwind Romance Series, in the past eighteen months. Born in London, England, she has a B.A. Degree in Psychology and a Diploma in Nursing. Winner of Harlequin's So You Think You Can Write 2010 Day Two Challenge, she is also a member of Romance Writers of America. She's a proud mommy and wife and lives in Canada with her husband and son.
AUTHOR CONTACT: Email: shadonna@ymail.com


Danielle Stewart: 
Writing is a way to make a lot of different people do exactly what you want them to do. When I can’t get my toddler to listen to me, I turn to my characters. They always cooperate!

I currently live in Charlotte, North Carolina with my husband and three year old son. I have perfected the ability to write in a noisy house and create story lines while folding laundry.

Chasing Justice is book one in my Piper Anderson Series. It follows the evolution of a woman who feels unworthy of love and introduces a colorful and endearing cast of characters who are hellbent on proving her wrong. Due to be released in May 2013 with additional books to follow closely behind.

I love hearing from my readers and always answers all of my email personally. Join my mailing list for updates on contests and new book releases!



Purchase Links:

iTunes | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble

Island Lovelies Book Club will be having flash giveaway's throughout the day for a chance to win an ecopy of Hot, Bad & Sexy. Make sure to pop over for a chance to win.




Saturday, November 16, 2013

Twins where born, they didn't realize it..

I normally don't post things like this on the blog, but I watched this video online and it touched my heart. Sometimes we need a little reminder of the things that really matter in life... These twins where born but where resultant to be separated:

 

Friday, November 15, 2013

Melody Anne Scorched (Surrender bk4)

Scorched (Surrender, #4)Scorched by Melody Anne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a hard review to write, when you find a series you enjoy so much it becomes hard to find fault and honestly I don't want too! Lol.
We watch these characters grow and mature what they thought they once wanted is now something more meaningful. We move from lust to love and it's been a wonderful journey!

This story picks up at the postponed wedding of Rafe and Ari who have just learnt of Rachel's pregnancy and kidnapping, Rafe is ready to go after Ian guns blazing but Ari suggests giving it some time.

Rachel is livid having found she's been kidnapped by the father of her baby.. Ian who turns out to be a king! He's adamant they marry and she isn't impressed by his over baring ways... But she does want to salvage a friendship with this man for the sake of her child which is proving incredibly difficult.

Lia and Shane are having problems of their own, having just found out Shane is secret military and risks his life on missions, Lia starts to question if this is what she really wants. Can she risk her heart that way knowing one day she may just get that call?

Whereas in the other books Rafe and Ari played more of a lead role this book is slightly different, I want to say its split between the 3 couples, the writing skill and technique we see of Melody Anne is AMAZING. Getting to know all couples in depth without feeling rushed has got go be a hard task which was pulled off incredibly well.. I truly fell in love with all of the characters.

I love how entwined all the characters came with one another. I don't think I will ever be ready to say goodbye to them, but this final book contained it all... Weddings, romance, sex, babies, action, drama and enemies!

It really was a win for me! One of my most favorite series of 2013. Melody is a true talent who goes from strength to strength.


View all my reviews

Sunday, November 10, 2013

So Excited Melody Anne book 4 is here tomorrow!!!

It was the night before a great release and Mama Portillo was super excited!!!!!! 







(From goodreads)

The Surrender series has kept readers engaged since the first book hit the shelves. In this final installment to the series, you will finish the journey that Rafe and Ari started, as well as read the stories of Shane and Lia, and Rachel and Ian.

Love and desire run rampant throughout this series, but romance is about more than that. It’s about the small battles that lead to the greatest victories.

Is Ari and Rafe’s love powerful enough to withstand challenges beyond their control? Will Lia and Shane learn to compromise instead of careening between extremes of passion and loathing? Can Rachel give up her dream of living an ordinary life and learn to love King Adriane?

Read the conclusions of these three strong women’s stories, and learn what choices they make. Is love enough to conquer when the odds are stacked against them?




This has to be one of my most favorite book series in a looong time I am so invested in this series that alls I can say is if you haven't yet read these books .... Run Forrest run like the wind and pick these books up!!!! 

Read my reviews from previous books of the series:Here!

Find out more about the series on Melody's website

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

In the age of love and chocolate - Gabrielle Zevin

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos Thanks to Macmillan audio for sending me this copy of Gabrielle Zevin's.. In the age of love and chocolate.

I've been a fan of this trilogy from the start. This story has a dystopian feel with a twist in a world where gangsters deal in chocolate as its against the law. 
We have seen Anya grow and mature facing hard issues at every turn a person her age shouldn't deal with. She's done time, she's gone up against men double her age to fight for her family.. It's been darn right dark and gritty at times and I've loved every minute of it. It's so different to other books I've read, Zevin's writing is amazing and the world she creates is one of a great imagination.

In this installment we see Anya come of age and go into business with her enemy Wins father and the Russian mob is not happy with Anya's business plan. There is a lot happening and at times I felt a little rushed and wanted to just slow down. 

Win is definitely book boyfriend material I'm so invested in the romance of Win and Anya and wanted the happily ever after for these two. Although they spend a lot of time apart in this book there are certain scenes I lived for! 

Great end to this trilogy and if you enjoyed these books as much as me you have to get the audio books. Ilyana Kadushin is one of my most favorite audio readers, she really captures the characters personalities and essence of the story in her reading making everything that more real....