About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Friday, January 31, 2014

Falling for Bentley- Shawnte Borris


Synopsis:

Just when Bentley Knight thought life was only about football and women, a Hail Mary pass comes at him, changing everything.

Forced to grow up faster than he wants, Bentley struggles with the responsibility of being a good example to his younger brother, on and off the football field, and pleasing his frustrated, demanding father. Just when he reaches his limit of complications, in walks a beautiful blond angel, endangering the delicate balance he’s finally found in his new life.  

When mistakes of his past threaten to derail his future, will Bentley be man enough to win the heart of the girl he once ridiculed in high school, who just happens to be the woman of his dreams?


Teaser:
Falling For Bentley
By: Shawnte Borris
Copyright@Borris2014
 
This has not been edited and may certainly change before publication. I hope that you all enjoy a little of Bentley!
 
One eye barely open, I glanced around the room, desperate for it to stop spinning. There’s a faint moan beside me, and when I carefully turned my head towards it, I saw brunette hair splayed across the pillow and down the back of a naked chick. My eyes slowly move down to the small of her back—my favorite part of a woman’s body.
 
I stopped when I recognized the Celtic tattoo and quickly lifted the sheet to see if I had my briefs on, I did. I slowly sat up to look for any evidence of last night’s shit show. No condom…no wrapper, thank God.  Lube and a vibrator? What the hell?
“What are you doing?” giggled Amanda as her cold claws rubbed my back. I tried to straighten out of her grip. “Baby relax, let’s finish what we started last night,” She whispered in my ear before kissing the side of my neck.
“Did we?”
“No, you passed out before the party really got started. I had to use my vibrator to finish the job.”
“Uh, sorry about that.” I pulled her hands off me.
“Why don’t you make it up to me, Bentley? Like the good ol’ days, back in high school. I miss this.” she growled, grabbing my dick.
 
I shot out of the bed and scrambled for my pants.
“Where are you going?” Amanda grabbed my shirt and threw it over herself.
“I...ah…I need to go.” I stuttered, trying to put my shoes on without falling flat on my face.
“Bentley.” Amanda whined, throwing my shirt at me.
Bang-Bang-Bang, “Bentley get your ass up. We gotta go.” Curtis yelled.
“Thank Christ.” I mumbled under my breath as I pulled my shirt over my head.
 
“That’s it? You’re going to leave me like this, wet and wanting you? Needing you to fill me?” moaned Amanda.
“Sorry, Amanda, but I gotta go. Curtis and I already made plans.”  I opened the door and looked at my best friend.
“Bentley Knight before you walk out that door, you better think long and hard. There will not be a third time.”
“There shouldn’t have been a second,” I toss over my shoulder and ducked just in time to miss a glass as it shattered on the wall in front of me. I closed the door and looked over to Curtis, laughing his ass off. “Let’s get the fuck out of here.”


Author Bio:

Shawnté lives in central Alberta, with her husband Ricky of 10 amazing years and together they have two beautiful children. Somehow her husband has managed to trick her into running a cow/calf operation. As much as she fusses about it, she loves it. 

When Shawnté is not sitting at her kitchen table hammering away on her laptop while watching the moose chase her cows across the yard, yes this really happens. Then she is busy attend school activities, community events and chauffeuring children here and there. She is big on playing softball and watching hockey.

When the time comes to relax, you will find her snuggled underneath her down comforter reading on her Ipad. Wait…who are we kidding, if the dishes, vacuuming, laundry or the bathrooms needs a hose down, you’ll always hear her say, “Just after this chapter.” She doesn’t have a favorite author or best story because everyday she falls in love with someone new. 

Shawnté is technology challenged so you won’t find her on twitter (heaven knows she tried) or instagram – whatever this stuff is called. But she can work one hell of a facebook page  thanks for her fictitious assistant Lacy. Please go like her page and leave a review/star rating on the books she’s wrote.

Author Links:



Thursday, January 30, 2014

Lynda Achier - bonds of Denial bk5 Wicked Play

Bonds of Denial (Wicked Play, #5)Bonds of Denial by Lynda Aicher
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Carina Press from NetGalley gave me a ARC in return for an honest review.
This is book 5 in the Wicked Play series and features Rock and Carter and the characters at the forefront of this story.

Rock works as security in the Den he's also part owner of the high end sex club. Very rarely will you find him on the floor of the club, he much prefers to stay hidden behind the camera's where he doesn't have to deal with people or his own insecurities. Having previously been in the army he's known how to cover them well, he's gay, gay doesn't work well in the army a lesson he learnt the hard way.
But when he sees Carter on the screen at his club he knows he has to spend time with this man.. even if it means paying for it.

Carter is a male escort and well as a great actor he knows each meeting with a john requires him to give the client exactly what they want. Feeling aren't involved getting payment and getting out is all that matters. Until on one call he meets Rock, Rock is different. The man is caring, gentle and strong it calls to Carter in a way that's dangerous your not meant to have feeling in this game. But something about this man Carter can not pass up and he has to get to know even if it means getting hurt in the process.

Lynda Aicher is doing wonderful, brave and bold things with this series. I was a little skeptical at first of the expansion of new characters. I felt I wouldn't be able to love them as much as the first 3 books, boy was I wrong!

Her writing is amazing yes these books are erotic and sexy but the underlining issues so very important. Their is always such a great lesson and level of trust in these stories that blow me away. This book deals with "don't ask, don't tell"

Rock in his 34 years has never admitted he's gay having dealt with being outcast from his own family he finds himself scared of others opinion's. While Carter on the surface seems to have it all together is in actual fact no different then his lover Rock. Both are lonely and looking to each other as a kindred spirit but scared to take that leap.

The emotion in this couple blew me away the caring companionship was amazing. Just like all the other stories this book also had a great sexual element.
I really enjoy revisiting old characters from previous books there interlocking lives are what has me hooked!

Very enjoyable read.


View all my reviews



Monday, January 27, 2014

One Week (HaleStorm #1) Elisabeth Staab

One Week (HaleStorm #1)One Week by Elisabeth Staab
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Michael Hale is now the CEO of the company his father built. The company is in a downward spiral after his fathers passing. Somebody is out to sabotage him and he has to figure out a way of fixing the hole he's in before there is no company left for him to run.

Elise Jackson swore she would never go back to Halestorm, the company she once interned at, Where she fell in love with her boss and had her heart broken at. But when her company she now works for sends her to Halestorm to fix a problem that is costing them millions of dollars what option does she have.

Fell in love!!!!! This book was everything I look for in an office romance. It was a page turner with a quick to the point plot. The characters where so developed I really felt them come to life.

It was great to read how many years later Michael decided to have the guts to go after the "one that got away"
Its refreshing change.. a romance with an intellectual element it made for more interesting reading and better depth to the relationship like these two where really a perfect match in all ways.

(Take away the added drama of psycho ex's, bitter wives and mentally ill family members..dynamite reading people!)

This was my first book from this author but I cant wait for more! I want to devour this series I hope for many more Halestorm books!

If your a Fan of Melody Anne you'll love this read..


View all my reviews




Saturday, January 25, 2014

Rachel Schurig - Escape In you

Escape In YouEscape In You by Rachel Schurig
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was given Escape in you as an ARC via Netgalley for a honest review.

Zoe is a party girl who drinks to hide her sadness, she has sex to forget her pain but never gets attached. She can't afford to get attached she has a mother with a mental illness sitting at home waiting for her return. She had big dreams of going away to school, leaving her town and living her own life..None of that can happen now and instead she just feels trapped. The roles are reversed everything she does has to be with her mother in mind.

Jet used to be the All star popular rich boy until his brother died and he has never forgiven himself, neither has his alcoholic mother who likes to remind himself daily of how much of a failure he is..He drinks, he fights and he has sex with countless women to forget the hurt until one night at yet another summer party he sets eyes on Zoe and he knows their is something about her he has to get to know.

This is definitely a New Adult read, sometimes I hate giving a star rating because people just look at that and form an opinion. Escape in you was a great read full of emotional angst. Jet and Zoe both deal with very sad dark issues and its touching to see them find solace in one another. You can't help but want the best for them! Rachel Schurig wrote a great plot with very likable characters.

The reason for the 3 stars is because I feel like at times I was reading about high school kids. These where grown adults in there 20's lord at 21 I was pregnant with my first born but these characters are still hanging out at the playground. As much as I enjoyed the story and the characters, the plot, the chemistry I felt it hard to over look this one element.

will I read more? You bet ya! I really hope there are more books I would love to read a book focused on Fred and Ellie maybe he could tame that wild chick lol.

View all my reviews

Thursday, January 23, 2014

Who are we to Judge others?



AMY GLASS ARTICLE

So I recently read an article by a blogger / writer who stated "she looks down on young married women and young women with small children"
She goes on to say how she feels many different things in a woman's life should be set as a "life event" or achievement not just getting married or making babies... which is true to an existent, many area's of a woman's life should be celebrated. What I have a hard time dealing with is the judgment of this woman I mean she goes on to say having a baby and getting married are not achievements anybody can do it.

I can not tolerate this woman and her judging ways, I've been on both sides of the fence. I went to school and studied sociology, I travelled and lived in other parts of the world.. I also had a awesome job that allowed me to do all those things. I made a choice to get married and have both my children young, both my kids where planned.
I have experienced the looks and comments of how SAHM's are lazy and the sort or how this young mom must of got "knocked up"
I made a choice to stay at home with my children and to raise them I could easy go back to work once they go to school..That will always be there, however my children's early years will not.

MANY women would love to stay at home with there kids given the chance, and chose not to for there own reasons.. that's fine who are we to discredit another? 
We should celebrate the corporate woman, the working mom, the single mom or the stay at home mom! We should celebrate what we do period of whether its a different path to yours.

Ms Amy while I agree, their are many accomplishments in a woman's life I disagree with your judgmental views... being a young mom does not make you uneducated or lacking. Furthermore not every woman can be a mother and raise her children if this was the case dyfs and foster systems would not exist and it is far from easy keeping a family going when you have to think of others from sun up to sun down.

All's I see you try to accomplish with this article which I do find truly offensive is to cause more of a divide between women, which I'm sick of honestly while in fact we should just support each other.
If you really feel the need to bash on a certain type of person maybe the first line in your twitter bio shouldn't state your a woman with  "commitment issues"

Monday, January 20, 2014

Five weeks of Dececember - Blue Kincaid

Five Weeks In DecemberFive Weeks In December by Blue Kincaid
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I got this book Via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Harry is a Dom who hasn't been a part of the scene in two years. Ever since the passing of his beloved Katie, what is crippling him from carrying on with life is not so much her passing but the fact that on the night of her death she was on her way to meet another Dom, a man she was going to leave him for. He has a hard time getting past this and belief in himself lacking.
His friends persuade him to buy time with a professional Sub, somebody who can help him find his way back to the life he once lived.

December is a girl who wants to fix what's broken it seems to be her calling in life and helps ease her own baggage and self doubt so when she takes a job in DC living as Harry's Sub for 5 weeks she can't help but be excited. But when she finds herself caring deeply for this man the lines get blurred and she gets confused about what's real and what is part of the job.

I liked these characters they where very enjoyable with well defined personalities. The author has a good back story and fills the pages with love, lust, sex, angst and comical banter.

I loved the romance and the need that showed between December and Harry. Although they have a Dom/ Sub relationship it came across and very deep, caring and emotional from the very start. He might of been the Dominant but she was the one that held the power.

I think Harry had a great set of friends that I hope the books to follow focus on because I can't wait to find out more about!
This story contains a mind blowing sex scene that wont be everybody's cup of tea... it was, well carnal to say the least.. male on male lip lock action!!! I blushed honest to goodness blushed LOL. PAGE TURNING!

Their are a few errors within the story but nothing major that takes away from the enjoyment of the book. This series definitely has room for growth and I'm really excited to read more of it.

The author won me over with Five Weeks in December!




View all my reviews




Monday, January 13, 2014

Breaching The Billionaire: Alethea's Redemption


Synopsis


New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author! 
Breaching the Billionaire: Alethea's Redemption (Book 6 of the Legacy Collection) 
Release Date: 13.01.2014 

Alethea is at a crossroad. For as long as she could remember, it was her and her best friend, Lil, against the world. Now that Lil has met Prince "I have my own helicopter" Charming and reconnected with her family, Alethea is on the outside looking in, justifying who she's always been to people who have never understood her. When she uncovers a looming threat to Lil's family, she's determined to save them, even after they tell her not to get involved and assign their best man to stop her. 

Marc Stone has been watching Alethea ever since she waltzed through his security system and right into his late night fantasies. As a decorated Marine, he's seen war, but nothing could prepare him for this wild redhead. Strong. Beautiful. Flawed, and fiercely protective. Hard to love, and impossible to deny. 

If she'll stop fighting him long enough, he'll show her just how perfect they are for each other. That is, if she doesn't get them both killed first.

Excerpt

Tame Excerpt:


There wasn’t a day that went by that Marc wasn’t grateful for the faith Dominic had shown him, and his loyalty had never wavered. He’d found his confidence again and enjoyed a lifestyle most envied. Money bred money. Although he wasn’t in the same financial league as his boss, he was wealthy beyond what he’d ever expected. He would have said that nothing was more important than his job.
Until now.
With a sigh, Marc looked back at Alethea. He should have squeezed out every bit of information he could while she was vulnerable. It would have been easy enough to manipulate her and she likely wouldn’t have even remembered it the next day.
But he couldn’t.
Not even for Dominic.
Beneath her tough talk and confident smile, Alethea was hurting, and he couldn’t ignore that any more than he could have left his men behind on the battlefield. In the past, they may have been adversaries, but they were more alike than different when it came to what he considered most important.
He wanted her.
Needed her.
Would find a way to have her.
He’d dated many women—even come close to loving a couple of them before things fell apart for one reason or another. But none had ever gotten under his skin the way Alethea had. None sent his blood pounding at the mere thought of touching her.
But it was more than that.
He respected her.
Wanted to hold her to him and comfort her.
Or shake some sense into her.
The temptation to crawl into bed beside her, hold her in his arms, and kiss away the pain he’d seen in her eyes was strong, but, however much he wanted to protect her, it was his job to outsmart her. He hoped to God she had nothing to do with the trouble at Corisi Enterprises.
Tomorrow. He’d figure out what to do tomorrow. For now, all he could do was watch over her.
A few hours later, she stirred in her sleep and moaned. Her eyes flew open and she asked into the darkness, “Marc?”
He fought and won against the urge to go to her. Instead he answered quietly, “Yes?”
“What are you still doing here?” she asked, sounding surprised and confused.
“Making sure you’re okay.”
She laid her head back on her pillow and closed her eyes, falling back asleep even as she spoke, “I told you I don’t need you.”
I know, he thought. But you’re wrong. 

Purchase Links

Author Bio: Ruth Cardello 


NY Times and USA TODAY Bestselling Author of the Legacy Collection and the Texan Nights Series

Ruth Cardello lives on a small farm in Northern Rhode Island with her husband, three kids, three dogs, two horses, and some assorted chickens. If there is a happier place on Earth, she hasn't found it.

If you'd like to email her directly, you may contact her at Minouri@aol.com


Other books in this series


FREE!!!
Book 1: Maid for the Billionaire (Legacy Collection)

Dominic Corisi knew instantly that Abigail Dartley was just the distraction he was looking for, especially since having her took a bit more persuading than he was used to. So when business forces him to fly to China, he decides to take her with him, but on his terms. No promises. No complications. Just sex.

Abby has always been the responsible one. She doesn't believe in taking risks; especially when it comes to men - until she meets Dominic. He's both infuriating and intoxicating, a heady combination. Their trip to China revives a long forgotten side of Abby, but also reveals a threat to bring down Dominic's company. With no time to explain her actions, Abby must either influence the outcome of his latest venture and save his company or accept her role as his mistress and leave his fate to chance. Does she love him enough to risk losing him for good?


Book 2: For Love or Legacy (Legacy Collection)

Nicole Corisi will lose her inheritance if she doesn't find a way around the terms of her father's will, but she will have to partner up with her estranged brother's rival to do it. As pretense becomes painfully real, Nicole will have to choose between Stephan and the family he is driven to destroy.

Stephan Andrade has been planning his revenge ever since Dominic Corisi unscrupulously took over his father's company. With Corisi Enterprises gambling its reputation on the success of a new software network for China, Stephan finally has his chance to take back his legacy. Dominic's younger sister, Nicole, asks Stephan for his help and provides him with an opportunity to exact his revenge on a personal level.

It all goes smoothly until he falls in love.

Book 3: Bedding The Billionaire (Legacy Collection)

Lil Dartley's life is upside down. Her previously steadfast and predictable sister is marrying an influential billionaire and needs help planning the wedding of the century in less than a month. Years of middle class rebellion have not prepared Lil for handling diplomats or paparazzi.

Jake Walton knows a train wreck when he sees one. Lil was trouble from the first day he met her, but since her sister is marrying his best friend, he has no choice but to help her or this wedding will be in the news for all the wrong reasons. Teaching Lil how to fit into high society would be a whole lot easier if she didn't drive him insane both in and out of the bedroom

Book 4: Saving The Sheikh (Legacy Collection)

Rachid bin Amir al Hantan is fighting for the sovereignty of his small country. He needs to find some powerful allies - and fast. Attending the wedding of Dominic Corisi is as much about reconnecting with old friends as it is about celebrating nuptials. The last thing he needs right now is the distraction of a woman.

Zhang Yajun is a self-made billionaire who can’t believe she accepted her friend’s dare to kiss Sheikh Rachid before the end of the wedding.

When impulsive words lead to even more impulsive actions, these two will discover that sometimes the last thing you were looking for is the one thing that can save you.

Book 5: Rise Of The Billionaire (Legacy Collection) 

Dreaming of Alethea gave Jeremy Kater the strength to survive a difficult childhood. Now that he has influential friends who owe him some big favors, he’s determined to become the kind of man Alethea would be interested in: rich and dangerous. Jeisa Borreto was hired to help Jeremy morph into that man. It’s a job she would enjoy, if it weren’t tearing her heart to pieces.

How can she help him change once she’s realized she’s fallen in love with the man he’s always been?

Hint: Sleeping with him doesn't help

Giveaway

Thursday, January 9, 2014

Tara Sue Me - The Submissive



About:

Abby King mid town librarian  has been curious about one of New York's wealthiest bachelor's for years, ever since his name appeared on the paper work that saved her mothers house from getting taken by the bank. She followed him in the papers and gossip magazines but after a while craved more, her fantasies about him more elaborate so when she finds out he's a Dom with out a Sub she finds herself applying for the position.

Nathanial West has everything going for him he's rich, successful and a well established Dom in the scene. However he finds himself restless, missing something and dealing with unresolved issues from his parents death. When he finds himself going through applications for a new Sub.. He never normally would take an interest in a Sub with no experience, he hasn't got the time to train a new submissive,  but this is Abby King.. The Co-ed he fell across years before and became enthralled with but never met.

This is a story of two people who have been chasing the same thing for so long and have never known.. They where each others 1% and we all need that 1 to become complete.

My Opinion:

 This was a trilogy I really enjoyed, it definitely does have a 50 shadesish feel to it but the author finds a great balance of sexy erotic Dom/Sub relations with romance. Abby and Nathanial have days on and off with there relationship and depending on what day it is you learn different things about them and how the communicate.
I was also impressed with the story layout - book one was from Abby's POV while book two was Nathanial and book three was back and fourth between the two characters. Some may not like a retelling of the same story I loved getting an in-depth view. It gave me a deeper understanding into both characters.

One part of the story which I will call the "turpentine" scene blew me away! I read it over and over from both POV and shed so many tears it was wow just wow!

I felt myself learning along with Abby and developing emotionally along with Nathanial. This was also some what of an intellectual relationship the characters would use poets and poems as a form of communication which I was a big fan of...

"A White Rose

THE red rose whispers of passion,
And the white rose breathes of love;
O, the red rose is a falcon,
And the white rose is a dove.

But I send you a cream-white rosebud
With a flush on its petal tips;
For the love that is purest and sweetest
Has a kiss of desire on the lips"

John Boyle O'Reilly


And so really and couple that quote poetry you have to fall in love with.. kudos Tara Sue Me a total Win!