About Me

My photo

I'm a mother of two and a wife of 1 lol. Originally from England,  Right now I am a stay at home mama although I've worked in numerous childcare positions in the past. My passion is books I can read for hours given the chance. In my free time I product test and write reviews for fun, I also write a blog. 
We are big soccer fans at my house, We love outdoor advantages such as hiking, biking and attending sporting events. My daughter is a mini me we share a love for all things country!

My husband and I recently joined the gym so fitness is a big part of our day..

Find me on Instagram

Instagram

Monday, November 28, 2016

Vegas heat - Bend - Molly McLain

BEND (Vegas Heat - Book One)BEND by Molly McLain
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Molly is one of my most favorite authors, she won me with River Bend and so I happily jumped into Vegas Heat book 1 - Bend.

Trent is a hard ass cop who is really good at his job, but sometimes gets over looked because of his love em and leave em attitude. He doesn't feel the need to kiss ass because he thinks his work speaks for its self.
This is the reason Kinsey gets him riled up, he pulls her over every chance he gets! No special treatment for the captains daughter here!

Kinsey's can't help but this Trent is hot as sin good lucking, but he drives her insane with his personal assumptions of who he believes she is as a person.

When merchandise starts getting stolen in large amounts from Kinsey's store, Trent has to find a way to work with her in order to close his case.

LOVED this story, the characters where so memorable I enjoyed the sexy banter between Trent and Kinsey as well as the friendship dynamic between Trent, his brothers and friends. I can not wait for this series to continue!


View all my reviews




Monday, November 21, 2016

Flawed - Tracy Wolff

Flawed (Ethan Frost, #4)Flawed by Tracy Wolff
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ethan Frost series has been one of my favorite romance series ever!! I'm so happy that Miles and Tori got a book and who would of thought that book would be with them together.

Tori has always been a fire cracker of a character, vibrant and fun. She is a loyal friend to Chloe and stood by her throughout her problems. But we knew deep down Tori had her own issues, family related issues that we get to find out more in this book.

Miles too is fighting with his own family issues and guilt over what his sister went through. Tori believes Miles is just as much to blame for what happened to Chloe as his parents are and that has made their "friendship" super strained.

After Tori is screwed over in a very public way she finds that Miles is the only person around she can turn to for help.
I loved watching the relationship between these two grow, change and develop. I really enjoyed getting an in depth view of them.

I would of loved to find out how Miles and his parents are getting along... (maybe for another book)
We did revisit Ethan and Chloe which was AMAZING

This book was a great addition to the series

View all my reviews



Monday, October 24, 2016

Thursday, September 8, 2016

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Cover Reveal

Post written by Cora Brent Shared via FB today!!!
Who else is excited to read Conway's story? Look at this beautiful Art work!


**SPONTANEOUS COVER REVEAL**
EDGE (A Gentry Boys Story)
ROSLYN
It was him.
Conway Gentry.
The boy I’d known years ago – the one who’d loved my best friend and was left shattered by her death – was now a macho adrenaline junkie, an arrogant womanizing hustler.
There was not a single good reason on this earth to fall for him.
But no one told my heart that.
CONWAY
She didn’t seem like my type.
Snobby, boringly mainstream and above all, tied to a part of my past I’d kill to forget, I should have just had my fun with her and moved on.
Instead I kept coming back. I couldn’t help it.
I’ve known for a long time that if you live fast you crash hard.
But I also know that’s nothing compared to what love can do to you.
To be released: August 26 (or sooner)
Add to your Goodreads TBR: http://bit.ly/2akG98z
Cover Photo: Shauna Kruse
Cover Models: Lance Jones and Aurora O’Brien
Cover Design: Mayhem Cover Creations

Thursday, June 23, 2016

Jade Chandler: Enough

Enough: A Dark, Erotic Motorcycle Club RomanceEnough: A Dark, Erotic Motorcycle Club Romance by Jade Chandler
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is not your run of the mill MC romance!

Lila aka Red is trying to out run her past, another dead end relationship when she turns up at Marked man tattoo shop. As soon as she meets Dare sparks fly and the chemistry is off the charts. Red is skeptical she has it in her to navigate MC politics while trying not to rely on a man to once again save her from herself.
At first glance we assume Lila is the character that is damaged, yet we see her strength over and over as this book plays out.
I love how she plays an important role for the club, she becomes needed and loved.

Dare comes across as a hard as nails biker, not somebody to be messed with. Yet I love that deep down Lila and he are so similar, the perfect pair... They have heart breaking histories yet together burn bright.

I can not wait to read more of this series. I enjoyed this book so much!

View all my reviews



Thursday, April 28, 2016

JB Salsbury Fighting Fate

Fighting Fate (Fighting, #6)Fighting Fate by J.B. Salsbury
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I got a copy from the author in return for an honest review!

This is one of my most favorite series of all time! JB has turned me into a total book boyfriend whore, just when I think I have a favorite fighter bam another book comes out.

I feel like I've waited forever for Axelle and Kill to get together, with all of Axe's issues we knew it wouldn't be easy and it wasn't!
Kill has to be the most understanding guy in the world with the patience of a saint! Although you can't help but feel bad for both characters, Axelle is by far a very broken character with Daddy issues for days and understandably so!

It was awesome to see these two characters, grow, learn and develop into adulthood. The chemistry they have is so intense and a love like no other. Their was times I wanted to smack them both in the back of the head lol.

I loved visiting all our old friends as well as meeting new characters, this series will never get old and I can't wait for more!




View all my reviews




Tuesday, April 5, 2016

Stripped 2 HM WARD

Stripped 2: A Ferro Family Novel (Stripped, #2)Stripped 2: A Ferro Family Novel by H.M. Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book was well worth the wait! Jon lives up to his full potential in this book!
He has always been the clown, the fun time guy.. What we now know is that Jon is more Ferro then we thought with his smartness and business savvy ways. What we have seen previously is a mask used to guard himself. Now he has everything he ever wanted within his grasp, Cassie, and hes going to fight to keep her.

Cassie is a fighter, she fights to survive, to live and for the people she loves. She brings out the best in Jon, they offer each other a special type of comfort that only they understand given their history.
The abuse both characters suffer is heartbreaking which makes their romance for me all the more special. I looooooove that Sean was in this book and he has Jon's back!

Amazing! Holly has done it again

View all my reviews




Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Dirty - Kylie Scott

Dirty (Dive Bar, #1)Dirty by Kylie Scott
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was a big stage dive fan! I was thrilled to hear their would be a spin off series with a character we met in Ben's book. Vaughan oh how I love you so..

When Vaughan's music career comes to a halt he reluctantly heads home to a town hes spent years running from, this forces him to deal with personal issues he hasn't wanted to look at in a long time.

He finds Lydia Green a runaway bride hiding out and seeking shelter in his bath tub. True to Vaughan's nature he offers to help Lydia for the short time hes back, what he wasn't expecting was to like this girl as much as he does....

But is it enough to make him stay?

Lydia almost married a man that is gay, her plans and life is in ruins and what she needs more then anything right now is a friend. Vaughan gives her that and a lot more, however she reluctantly knows their is a time limit on the friendship they share. If only her heart would get the memo...

Kylie Scott did it again! She is amazing with writing memorable kick ass characters. I just want to climb into this book and into the world she creates! The chemistry and banter her characters share is always HOT page turning material. I am totally smitten with the new characters and can't wait for each of their stories to commence.

We also still get snippets of our Stage Dive characters!!!! I mean whats not to love!

View all my reviews



Thursday, February 25, 2016

He hits you because he likes you... Is not OK

It is never OK to tell a little girl "I think he hits you because he likes you"!!!


Teach our children regardless of gender how to grow into the respectable well mannered individual we know they can be. BULLYING in any form is not OK

We need to sit down with our kids and have that talk.

Monday, February 15, 2016

JC Reed!!! Bad Boy



Bad Boy by J.C. Reed and Jackie Steele
Release Date: February 23rd, 2016
Full length, 350pp
Synopsis:
I should have seen it coming.
Sexy? Handsome? Trouble? Check, check, and check.
Is he messing up my life? Hell yes.
All the signs are there: he is a bad boy.
Even his name is a lie. Too bad I married him. I can't wait to get divorced. Does this make me sound crazy?
I know I should avoid him, run as fast as I can. However, when a harmless misunderstanding lands me in a foreign prison cell, my dear, lying husband is the only one who can get me out. Crap. I shouldn't accept.

But how to say no to trouble when said trouble is the one who makes me fantasize all the dirty things he could do to me?




BUY LINKS:


455d6-goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Author J.C. REED
Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter

Author JACKIE STEELE
Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter


(open worldwide)
a Rafflecopter giveaway


BAD BOY by J.C. Reed and Jackie Steele is now available worldwide
on Amazon, iBooks, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo.





Thursday, January 28, 2016

Snow Storm 2016




Did Y'all make it through the storm ok??

While my kids loved the extra snow day off of school the amount of snow we got was crazy! I can not remember that much snow before! We kept our power, although we where snowed in for a day or so we made out ok.. My thoughts and prayers go out to those at the Jersey Shore who flooded out again! It's just devastating to see the same people who are trying to recover from Sandy be hit again.


A video posted by Melissa Portillo (@mel91284) on


So what does one do with 28" of snow? We went snow sledding!! We found a local hill and we "hit the slopes" It was a totally inexpensive activity since we got our sleds at the local 5Below store! 

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Winter is here!


If you live in a state that gets cold then listen up... I can not believe I am writing a post addressing this issue but I felt I had too!
I was visiting my child's school for a meeting with the teacher, I was sitting in the reception area when a young pre k student came through the doors. This child was wearing a zip up hoodie and was crying because his face and body hurt so much. The secretary then rush this child to the school nurse to be warmed up.
I was so angry that a parent would send a small child to school in just a hoodie! The temp is only 19 and with wild chill factor -4 I was seriously outraged.

Now I know that we don't know every child's circumstance, maybe the family is struggling..but in regards to my child's school and community the school links up with the local food bank and we have a clothes drive HELP IS AT HAND!

So I thought of tips to help parents get their child to school during winter:


  1. Bundle up - Layers !! Personally I always do a long sleeve T shirt, hoodie and then coat.
  2. Scarfs, hats, gloves - This doesn't have to be an expensive buy.. places like Walmart and the Dollar store sell such things at an awesome price
  3. Pack extra clothing in your child's back pack - I know in the smaller classes especially they have cubbies in which they can store an extra outfit if needed.
  4. Everybody is getting sick this time of year - Ask your child's teacher if the class needs any hand sanitizer or tissues that way we can limit germs in class.
  5. If you have extra scarfs, gloves etc have your child carry extra maybe his/her classmate is without and would appreciate it.   


If parents need help please speak to your child's school they are there to help you! Please don't bring your child to school in just a hoodie its dangerous for them!